RSS

“Do Not Forget to Entertain Strangers”

05 Apr

Do not forget to entertain strangers, for by so doing some have unwittingly entertained angels” 

Hebrews 13:1-2

Entertaining strangers…for most of us, that could be a tough one. Most of us are constantly on the run barely taking the time to look up to see who is in front of us…let alone entertaining them.

I love to entertain in my home.  I have a complete coffee station in my kitchen.  Yes, I said “coffee station”.  Two coffee pots filled at any given time, biscottis, homemade cookies each day, chocolate covered peppermint stirrers, and a kitchen table that seats 9!!  I love to entertain.  Friends stop by on any given evening for coffee, a laugh, and a word of prayer.  There is a small cafe table sitting in front of my sliding glass doors for more intimate entertaining.  Did I mention, I love entertaining.

Our house is commonly known as the “Kool Aide” house.  You can find a number of kids here in the afternoons.  My daughter enjoys baking as much as I do, so she in found preparing brownies and hot chocolate on many days.  We are an entertaining family.

But entertaining strangers is a whole new story.  Do you ever wonder why God threw that verse in there?  In Biblical days, this probably didn’t raise an eyebrow. Life wasn’t as hectic as it is now..or at least I like to think not.

I took my children to a “river walk” to take pictures of them.  It was cold that morning and they noticed an elderly man sitting on the bench.  He was wrapped up in his torn coat with his head down to avoid the wind.  It was so cold, in fact, that we chose to leave and come back later in the morning when it had time to warm up a bit.  Perhaps 3 hours later we returned to finish our pictures.  The same man was there.  It didn’t appear that he had even moved and believe me, my children noticed.

I could see the look of fear on their faces for this stranger.  Being the mature adult that I am, I dismissed the man and wanted to get the pictures done.  My kids wouldn’t hear of it.  We left for a trip to Burger King.  Each of them used their own money to purchase an entire meal for the elderly man.  We returned back to the park bench where they each carried their gifts to the man.

My oldest son (who was about 6 at the time), touched the man on his arm to get his attention.  “Are you hungry, Mister?” Jathe asked.  The man’s eyes told a story of pain and loneliness.  With a simple nod, he accepted the bag of warm food.  Mikayla and Colby offered their bags as well.  One by one, each of them told the stranger of God’s love. As I watched, both I and the stranger wiped tears from our eyes.

It amazes me how children have such an ability to teach God’s love in a way we would never imagine.  Not only did they speak God’s love, but they ministered to this man’s needs and therefore opened the door to show it. I felt ashamed that day that I would have simply walked away.

As adults, I think we tend to get lost in our own lives. We forget the simple rules God gives us. Entertaining strangers is probably one of the simplest things we can muster.  Still, it took a child to point that out to me.

 
10 Comments

Posted by on April 5, 2007 in Uncategorized

 

Tags:

10 responses to ““Do Not Forget to Entertain Strangers”

  1. leila

    April 5, 2007 at 11:48 pm

    I really enjoyed your posts. the only thing that threw me off a little was when you mentioned you had a table that seated 9, plus all kinds of desserts to serve company at any given moment. Not everyone can have all that stuff on hand at any given time. Sometimes just coffee or tea would suffice. Otherwise I loved every post!

     
  2. katrinawampler

    April 5, 2007 at 11:53 pm

    Thank you so much leila for your comment. I know, not everyone has a table that seats 9. I had to buy one simply because I love to entertain so much. Also, I love to bake and do so almost every day. (thankfull I don’t eat it!!)

     
  3. katrinazgang

    April 6, 2007 at 3:03 pm

    I had tears in my eyes by the end. Very sweet and tender-hearted children.

    I wish I lived close enough to enjoy a conversation in your kitchen. I am not an entertainer but love social time. The place we rent doesn’t have a place for our table in the kitchen. We have a fold up table that is kept in the living room.

     
  4. Angelia

    April 6, 2007 at 3:56 pm

    I am honored that you wanted me to come and read your writings. What can I say? Just awesome. You are surely, a child of God. Your writing is such an inspiration and I am so thankful that you shared this with me. God Bless

    Angelia

     
  5. Rose

    April 7, 2007 at 1:01 am

    Tears in my eyes by the end of it too – even though I’m the type to pick up hitchhikers and bring them home for a meal.

     
  6. Darla

    April 7, 2007 at 2:13 pm

    AWESOME!

     
  7. EmilyZ

    April 12, 2007 at 2:14 am

    Katrina,

    Come on by – my 4 kids and your 3 kids – we can do lots of entertaining! 🙂

    Children truly are gifts from God – I know that my job as a mother is to teach them …”the way they should go”….but many times they teach me the right ways! Their hearts are still so pure and untainted by the world around them. I want to see the world from their eyes again!

    Em

     
  8. Lillie Hobson

    April 18, 2007 at 6:41 am

    I have been visiting your site everyday, reading different posts, but for some reason, I hadn’t read all of this, which I did now. I’m crying just thinking about this.

    I lost my dad almost 4 years ago. He died from complications of parkinson’s disease and dementia. My dad and I were never very close, as I could never really live up to his expectations. My husband and I seperated and I asked my dad if I, with my two children who were 2 and 6, could move back home. We did and after two years here, I was caring for my dad. He had lost his eyesight, so I was his eyes and he was the driving force behind whatever we were doing. We replaced waterpumps in cars, we fixed the plumbing, worked on lawnmowers and edgers, it was amazing what he taught me, him being blind and with parkinsons and me just being his eyes. We became very close.

    2 years later my dad had to go in a convalescent home where he lived for 7 months before he passed away. While he was in the convalescent home, he gave his heart to the Lord, accepted Jesus Christ as his savior, and became a man to me, who was no longer a stranger. I was with my dad every single day for the 7 months he was there. He became my best friend. Even with the dementia, I know that he knew it was me.

    Its been almost three years since he died and everyday when I go in the backyard where my dad and I bonded, I meet the man who taught me about being kind, about giving to others, and about entertaining strangers.

    In his younger years, he helped people fix their cars, he stopped on the side of the road to help people with broken down cars, he bought food for people panhandling at restaurants and grocery stores.

    My dad loved people and he loved having friends and family around him. He loved entertaining, fixing food that would feed an army. My dad planned camping trips which consisted of more than 30 family members and friends sometimes.

    This post of yours made me think of my Daddy, whom I loved with all my heart and soul and who I miss everyday.

    Lillie

     
  9. katrinawampler

    April 18, 2007 at 10:02 am

    Thank you so much Lillie. What an amazing story. How incredible it is when the Lord uses a storm in our life (your divorce) to work miracles in the lives of others. He is always in control.

    I am so thankful that this story makes you think of your father. I am even more thankful that you chose to share this with me and all of our readers.

    Blessings,

    Katrina

     
  10. waseem yousaf

    August 10, 2009 at 4:06 am

    Dear Brother in Christ

    Greetings from Pakistan.

    I am from Pakistan. I have studied your web site, and I found it the most wonderful site to get right to the True Word of God. I found that all your material is full of knowledge concerning development of religious faith. Living in Pakistan we Christians is to face many obstacles to get the access to the word of God. Most of the people in Pakistan are not capable to understand the English language and they are hungry of the God’s words. It’s because our national language is Urdu.

    My suggestion for you is to create your material in my language of Urdu and Punjabi also. It will bring lots of blessings of the Word of God for the Pakistani and Indian Urdu and Punjabi speaking people. For that purpose I as a translator will bring your material into Urdu languages and into Punjabi language as well. Although it will take your low expenses as well, as fund for the Word of God to reach out to the deserving people. As a translator I will take the expenses that will be spending just for the Word.
    Please visit our website. http://crownoflifepk.webs.com

    In Christ,
    Waseem Yousaf

     

Leave a Reply

 
