RSS

Vickie McDonough

17 Oct

Thanks for stopping in this week to meet our award winning author, Vickie McDonough.

 

Vickie McDonough is an award-winning inspirational romance author. She has written seven Heartsong Presents novels and six novellas and has more books coming out next year. Her Heartsong book, The Bounty Hunter and the Bride, placed third in the Top Ten Favorite Historical Romance category in Heartsong Present’s 2007 annual contest. Her stories have also placed in several prestigious contests, such as the ACFW Noble Theme and Book of the Year contests, the Inspirational Readers Choice Contest, and the Texas Gold contest. She has also written books reviews for over seven years and enjoys mentoring new writers. Vickie is an Oklahoma native, wife of thirty-two years, mother to four sons, and has a two-year-old granddaughter. When she’s not writing, Vickie enjoys reading, gardening, watching movies, and traveling. Vickie loves hearing from her readers at vickie@vickiemcdonough.com 

 

Katrina: Thanks for being with us again this week, Vickie.  We’ve learned a lot of interesting things about your personal life and how you came to be an author. Today, I’d like to get to know more about the stories you write and what the readers can expect. Could you tell us a bit about your latest release? 

Vickie: My latest release is Oklahoma Brides. This is actually a repackaging of my three Heartsong novels. The stories are set in the Twin Territories, which are Oklahoma and Indian Territory and are stories about women who find themselves in difficult situations and must rely on their wits and their faith to survive.

Katrina: Sounds very interesting. Are any of the characters in any of your books modeled after you or any of your emotions

Vickie: Not really, although I tend to joke a lot and sometimes comes across through my characters.

Katrina: During your writing, are there ever characters that emerge uninvited?

Vickie: In The Bounty Hunter and the Bride, the heroine advertises for someone to buy her farm after her young husband dies. She’s pregnant and far from her family. A well-dressed man comes to see the farm and decides that he wants the farm and my heroine and offers to marry her. Turns out that he’s a shady character and plans all kinds of devious disasters. Enter the hero, a sheriff-turned-bounty hunter, who comes to save the day!
 
 Katrina:  I can’t wait to see what happens in that story.  It sounds incredible. Do viewers ever express how your stories have effected their lives?

Vickie:  Yes, my books have tear-sheet questionnaires in the back that readers sometimes send in. It’s always encouraging to see how my books have touched someone. Give examples.

There’s a question on the tear sheet that asks: How has this book inspired your life?
Here are a few of the responses I’ve received:

–To appreciate what I have in this modern age and not make so much of “little” things
–To be patient and see the good in all
–I love reading about how Christ can use us to help others find the way
–Encouraged me in the problems of my own life
 

Katrina:  I know hearing from your readers is very inspirational. What has been your greatest challenge in your writing career? 

Vickie: To do the actual writing. I love being creative, but writing is hard work. It takes a lot of time to write, do rewrites and to proof the stories. Since I never planned to be a writer, I have a lot of insecurities about my writing.  I persevere because I believe this is what God wants me doing in this stage of my life. And if I’m doing what He wants, He will give me the abilities to do that work.

Katrina:  That is so true and I agree…writing is very hard work. In one sentence, explain why our readers should purchase your latest release?

Vickie: It’s a 3-in-1 prairie romance about young women in difficult situations who must rely on God and their wits to survive.  I hope readers will be entertained and also encouraged in their faith walk.
 
Katrina:  What is your greatest achievement in your career?

Vickie: The greatest achieve of my writing career is the wonderful friends I’ve made. My life is much richer for having met them. As far as writing awards, my book, Sooner or Later, won 1st place in the ACFW Noble Theme contest in 2004, I think. The following year, I was awarded my first book contract at the ACFW conference.   
What awards have you been nominated for and/or received? Most of my books or novellas have been finalists and have placed 1st, 2nd, or 3rd in the Inspirational Readers Choice contest and the ACFW Book of the Year contest.
 
 Katrina:  Sounds like you’ve been very successful. If you weren’t writing, what would you be doing?

Vickie:  Probably working part-time as an administrative assistant. Besides writing, I also baby-sit my two-and-a-half year-old granddaughter two afternoons a week, and I’m primary caregiver for my invalid mother.
 
Katrina:  Wow!  You’ve really got your hands full. In your opinion, what is your greatest piece of work?

Vickie:  I think my best book so far is my newest Heartsong, Wild At Heart. It’s the story of a female dime novelist who accepts a rancher’s invitation to visit his ranch and get her facts straight about the west. The problem is, the hero is expecting a male author, not a pretty hat-pin wielding female who trouble follows like gnats on a horse.

Katrina:  Again I thank you for joining us. We’ll be hearing more from you perhaps tomorrow and give the readers some insight as to where you’re headed in your career.

As for the readers joining us here today…please scroll to the top of this page to leave a comment for a chance to win an autographed 3 book set of some of Vickie’s wonderful adventures:  A Wealth Beyond Riches, The Bounty Hunter and the Bride, and Sooner or Later.

 
15 Comments

Posted by on October 17, 2008 in encouragement

 

15 responses to “Vickie McDonough

  1. Becky C

    October 17, 2008 at 10:27 pm

    I loved the interview, and would love to have a chance to read these books.

    Please enter me in the contest.

    Thank you,

    Becky C.
    rec(at)hiwaay(dot)net

     
  2. Heather @ The Striving Wife

    October 17, 2008 at 10:49 pm

    I love Christian fiction & romance books! It’s great to hear the heart behind the author as well. Thanks for sharing, and I hope I win the contest! 🙂

    Heather
    TheStrivingWife.com

     
  3. Jo

    October 18, 2008 at 12:20 am

    I love Christian fiction and would love a chance to win this set of books. Thanks for entering my name in for the drawing.

    Blessings,
    Jo
    ladijo40(at)aol(dot)com

     
  4. Glenda V.

    October 18, 2008 at 3:08 am

    I love Christian romance, historical romance and suspense. Picking up a Christian author’s book is safe. I always enjoy Vickie McDonough’s contribution to trilogies. She works well with other authors to carry through themed story lines. I hate having to hunt for the books as the non-bookstores seem to be carrying less of them.

     
  5. Mimi

    October 18, 2008 at 1:42 pm

    Hi Katrina. Thanks for this info filled interview! Please enter me to win Vickie’s books. Prairie novels always bring me to a time that I would’ve loved to have lived in . I know it wasn’t easy, but there’s a part of me that would’ve loved it. 🙂

    ~Mimi B

     
  6. Vickie

    October 18, 2008 at 3:12 pm

    Thanks for your nice comments. I love reading and writing stories set on the prairie, too. Good luck to each of you who are in the book drawing.

     
  7. Michelle Rothwell

    October 18, 2008 at 4:07 pm

    Great job Katrina! Now my books-to-read list is growing even bigger. These are great books to put on my Christmas list this year. I can’t hardly wait for your author next week on this Christian Author Tour.

    I’m looking forward to seeing more.

    Happy Reading,
    Michelle Rothwell, Founder
    Dora & Diego Homeschool Spanish
    Spanish from the Biblical World View
    http://www.DoraHomeSchoolSpanish.com

     
  8. Cherie J

    October 18, 2008 at 7:56 pm

    Enjoyed the interview! I would love to be entered in the drawing for these wonderful books.

     
  9. Christy

    October 18, 2008 at 8:37 pm

    Wow I am so interested to read the book now! I’d love to win a copy as well!

    God bless!!!
    Christy from Christian Mommies

     
  10. Rebecca Sanders

    October 18, 2008 at 9:01 pm

    My favorite reading is that of historical romance. i enjoyed reading about you and your work and want toread your work. As a grandmother i know about that time you gat to spend with them and the joy that brings. God bless you as you strive to fulfill your purpose.

     
  11. Barbara Hutchinson

    October 18, 2008 at 9:44 pm

    Hi and congradulations on your winning authorship. I would love to write a book myself . One day I will. I would love to read one or all of your books so let me know how to get them, God bless you and your future endevors.

     
  12. Janna

    October 19, 2008 at 1:01 am

    What a fun interview! I would love to be entered for Vickie’s books 🙂

     
  13. Stormi

    October 19, 2008 at 2:18 am

    Great Interview and sounds like a great book. Please enter me in the drawing.

     
  14. Pam Williams

    October 19, 2008 at 8:18 pm

    Looks to me like these books are going to be great reading, unexpected turns with every turn of the page. Some of the parts of stories has gripped my interest, for instance the one where the guy poses as a buyer for the land but has devious ideas. I’m looking forward to the opportunity to read all three someday. Perhaps my day is coming soon if my name is drawn here for this contest. Please enter me. Thanks.

     
  15. Vickie

    October 19, 2008 at 9:16 pm

    Thanks, everybody, for your kind comments about my books. Barbara asked where you can get them. For autographed copies, you can contact me at fictionfan1@cox.net or you can get most of my books on Amazon or at ChristianBook.com

    Thanks, Katrina, for hosting me this week!

     

Leave a Reply

 
