RSS

Golden Keyes Parsons, cont.

23 Oct
  • Katrina: Back with us again today is author Golden Keyes Parsons. Golden is the author of new release The Shadow of the Sun King, a Darkness To Light novel published by Thomas Nelson Publishing. Now, we’ve learned a little bit about your family. Today I want to hear more about your walk with the Lord and how that has affected your writing.
  • Katrina:  At what age did you come to know the Lord personally?
  • Golden:  I was fourteen and my boyfriend invited me to a youth retreat. I had been struggling for about a year  with the fact that simply being “good” and going to church did not make me a Christian. The Easter weekend of my freshmen year in high school, Jesus became real to me–and I’ve never gotten over.
  • Katrina:   How has your relationship and walk with the Lord affected your writing career?
  • Golden:  My relationship with the Lord is not something that I do, it is who I am, so it permeates my entire life. I cannot do anything by write from a Christian world view.
  • Katrina:  Speaking of a Christian world view, tell us a bit about your latest release.
  • Golden: Madeleine and Francois Clavell are French Huguenots in 17th century France fleeing the persecution of King Louis XIV’s Catholic government. They eventually have to leave their estate and France. Francois is sentenced to the galleys, and Madeleine takes the family to Switzerland for refuge. This is the first installment in a four-book series.
  • Katrina: It sounds very interesting. Are any of the characters in the story modeled after you?
  • Golden:  The book itself is based on my family genealogy. As I wrote, Madeleine took on many of my personal characteristics — independent, head-strong, determined.
  • Katrina:  During your writing, are there ever characters that emerge uninvited?
  • Golden: All the time 🙂 The original Clavell family had two sons, but as I began to write their story, a daughter emerged–the youngest child. My editor tells me I am an “organic” writer. I have a general idea of where the story is going, but my characters take on a life of their own and tell the story.
  • Katrina:  What are you working on next? Could you tell us a bit about it?
  • Golden: I am working on Book #2 in the series, A Prisoner At Versailles. In the second book, King Louis sends spies into Switzerland (which he actually did) and brings Madeleine, now a widow, back to Versailles against her will. They were once in love, and the king wants to install her as one of his mistresses.
  • Katrina:  Where can readers find your latest release?
  • Golden:   Amazon.com, Christianbook.net, Borders, Barnes & Noble, KMart (at Christmas), Christian bookstores.
  • Katrina:  Thank you so much for being here with us. It has been a pleasure and I look forward to hearing more later this week.
  • Golden: Okay, thanks Katrina.

Golden

 
5 Comments

Posted by on October 23, 2008 in encouragement

 

5 responses to “Golden Keyes Parsons, cont.

  1. JoJo

    October 24, 2008 at 3:00 pm

    What a beautiful ministry. I would love to interview you on Grace Talk Soup. Would you have about an hour for a podcast one Thursday morning 8-9am PST?

     
  2. Mimi

    October 24, 2008 at 11:29 pm

    Katrina, really enjoyed your interviews with Golden. I enjoyed learning about her life growing up and about her book. I read the Daughter of Silk by Linda Chaikin and I hope Golden’s series is along the same line. Lots of intrigue!

    Blessings,
    Mimi

     
  3. Heather @ The Striving Wife

    October 25, 2008 at 5:19 pm

    Such an intriguing time period! I know that Golden already said her characters are based on her family genealogy, but I’m wondering… is she referring to the personalities of the characters, or her family during that actual time period? If so, WOW that’s an incredible family history! If not, what inspired her to write about that time period?

    I find historical fiction fascinating. Mimi, I also enjoyed the Daughters of Silk book by Linda Chaikin! Great stuff!

    Thanks for sharing, Katrina!
    Keep on Striving!

    Heather 🙂
    TheStrivingWife.com

     
  4. Rebecca Sanders

    October 26, 2008 at 2:59 am

    Golden, As a history buff and student your genre is most imteresting to me. How long do you have to spend on research inorder to get your story told? How important is it that you stick closley to the historical facts etc. i am facianted by this process and have done agreat deal of research myslef on a perticular figure in colonial America. How long do you tak to complete the process. i would think historical fiction is very time considering.
    God bless you and yourministry
    Rebecca

     
  5. Marvin D Wilson

    October 29, 2008 at 8:01 pm

    Interesting interview with what sounds like a VERY interesting author in Lena. Thanks for sharing this, Katrina. And blessings to Lena in her ministry in word.

    Marvin blogs at Free Spirit: http://inspiritandtruths.blogspot.com/
    Eye Twitter 2 – http://twitter.com/Paize_Fiddler

     

Leave a Reply

 
