RSS

New week ahead

09 Nov

Sunday…. a day of rest. Well, it should be but is it really?

I’m not sure about you, but for me Sunday means the world is coming at me in full force and things just keep spinning on a dime. My dime…a borrowed one at that.  There’s no time to rest or stop for a break. I have to put on the full armor of God, draw my bow and prepare for battle yet again.

The battles this week? Well, there are the usual of course. Car pooling (gas prices), homework, chores (both mine and the children’s), full time job, part time job, parenting job (the first full time job), and of course those demanding relationships that seem to beg for every free moment you wish you had..or at least the ones I wish I had.

My goals this week? To shave both legs at one time without someone standing at the door screaming “She called me a girl”, to write at least five chapters of my next novel without giving up on the only dream I have left, and to find me again. Not sure where I’m hiding really. I may look at the gym (seeing how I haven’t been there in so long, I doubt I’ll find me there). I may look in the couch cushions since I really like to be there. Either way, I’ve been gone for way too long and it’s time I find my way home again.

It’s a new week…a new era in life. A relationship I’ve held on to for entirely too long has finally run its course and this week I will pick myself up, brush myself up and move forward in freedom. Spiritual freedom that is. I will hang on to the promise of a hope and a future and trust in a God that has created in me a new spirit.

Join me this week. I know you’re tired. I know life is pulling at you in so many different directions, but join me in moving forward in freedom and finding ourselves again. Revive an old dream you’ve tucked away. Start a gratitude journal.  Pick up a new exhilarating hobby or get rid of a taxing habit. Whatever you do, this is the week for it. No time like the presence. Don’t look back…remember you aren’t going that way.

We’ll be resuming the Christian Author Tour tomorrow, so meet me back here to see who’s on the line up. Oh, and have a great week.

 
4 Comments

Posted by on November 9, 2008 in encouragement

 

4 responses to “New week ahead

  1. Connie Arnold

    November 9, 2008 at 5:55 pm

    Katrina, I pray that you will be renewed today, to find time for yourself, and with God’s help, to face a new week with all its challenges. Thanks for also sharing the encouragement. God bless!

     
  2. paizefiddler

    November 9, 2008 at 7:41 pm

    “No time like the presence.”

    Did you write that that way intentionally? Because it is very spiritually insightful, Katrina. No time like that of God’s presence. In it there IS no time, only the blessed NOW for which we should have gratitude and be in a state of bliss.

    Have a rejuvenating Sunday and charge into the new week always “in the presence” and you’ll be just fine (smile)

    Nice post.

     
  3. martha

    November 9, 2008 at 11:08 pm

    It sounds like my days!!! It would be though “He called me a girl” though or a baby or something else….what about being able to take a bath without having to worry the house is falling down around you! Hopefully this week goes better!

     
  4. Katie Hines

    November 13, 2008 at 4:47 pm

    Nice article, and very inspiring.

     

Leave a Reply

 
