RSS

The Prodigal Cat

14 Nov

Our cats came home!! 

I am not an animal person. I have enough kids to feed and clean up after that taking care of stray animals is not at the top of my to-do list. I have two cats and a blind dog (all living in this house of mine along with my three insane monkeys). Did I mention I am not an animal person?  My kids are, however. 

A few weeks ago one of the kids left the door open while walking the dog. It was hours later before we realized both cats had gotten outside and left the area.  We searched all night. We searched for days. We left out food, put up signs, and sent up many many prayers.  We even left the window open in case one of them came home, so we could hear them calling for us. Nothing….For weeks…nothing.

Then out of the blue, around midnight I opened my window to let in some cool fresh air. Not ten minutes later I hear an annoying “Meow” right outside my second story bedroom window. They were home!!!  (Did I mention I’m not an animal person?) I could have easily shut my window and rolled over to go back to sleep. These cats have knocked over every plant I’ve ever nourished and fussed over. They’ve run from the third story all the way to the first for hours on end in the middle of the night. They have driven me crazy over their mess and blatant disrespect. I say “don’t do that” and darn it if they don’t anyway.

Was I glad to see them come home??? You bet I was. I flung open the doors and with arms spread wide, welcomed them back into the fold.

I wonder how God feels when we wander away. I’ve wandered away more times than I care to rehash and each time He’s searched for me, left out food for me, and sent out messages on my behalf. He’s left the window open so He could hear me calling when I was ready to return. And when I did…each time I did…He held His arms wide open and welcomed me back home.

Even through my mistakes and blatant disrespect, He loves me. Even when I sneak out believing He isn’t watching, He sits and waits by the window for me to come back to where I belong!

For this I am thankful.

 
3 Comments

Posted by on November 14, 2008 in encouragement

 

3 responses to “The Prodigal Cat

  1. paizefiddler

    November 14, 2008 at 1:38 pm

    Wonderful story and very apt analogy. I think any of us who, on our spiritual journeys, have gone astray, been lost, and then through the miracle of grace and the unconditional love of Christ have been welcomed home, we … well we have a special thankfulness. Cuz we certainly (at least in my case) did not DESERVE the second time around. But god’s love is unconditional and everlasting. I’m thankful for THAT.

     
  2. Mimi B

    November 14, 2008 at 7:18 pm

    Katrina, I’m so happy your kitties are home! Trust me, I understand how you felt! When we first moved into our home 10 yrs ago, the builder left the door open an our DECLAWED cats got out. One came back, the other didn’t. We lived in the boonies. We called and called and nothing. I think it was 2 nights later I woke up in the middle of the night and there she was, with a big gash on her tummy. We were so happy she was home!

    When I was 18 my cat came to live with me in my new apt while I helped drive my family from WA to VA. My roomies let her escape and I didn’t see her for months! One day I saw this gray cat wandering in the apt. parking lot and sure enough, it was her! Crazy, huh? Good thing she had been used to being outdoors at my folks’ home and she was a good mouser even then! I was sooo happy!

    We love our kitties!

    Blessings,
    Mimi

     
  3. bonnie

    November 17, 2008 at 1:29 am

    So true, Katrina. We don’t need the ticket until it’s time to get on the train. Why,then, do we fret so?

    Don’t have an answer, just know I need to trust more. God’s teaching me. 🙂

    Blessings,

    Bonnie

     

Leave a Reply

 
