RSS

Santa looked a lot like Daddy !!

18 Nov

Christmas is coming.  So is Santa.

But first…I have a GOAL. No not a dream. A Goal!!!  You do know the difference, right? Goals without dates are just dreams on a cloud. Yep, you have to not only have a dream but you have to give your dreams goals… time-lines or chances are, they stay dreams and usually drift away into some foreign land. The same place where the matches to all the socks are lost forever,  or even the spoons. Who knows?

Before I reveal my goal, here are a few things to look forward to this week:

  • Wednesday:  Kimberli Renee Campbell shares her relationship with God.
  • Friday:  Chocolate Covered Choas … the crazy side of the Wampler household.
  • Saturday:  Kimberli Renee Campbell..What’s happening next!
  • Sunday:  Modern Day Mary . Short stories from the bible in a modern day need. Ex.  You Don’t Have To Go Home.

Now….Here’s my GOAL!!!!  I want to reach 10,000 views on Kat Logic by January 1st, 2009. I’ll need your help to do it. Be sure to stop in everyday. Leave a comment. Add a link from your BLOG. (I’ll return the favor).  I’ll be keeping a tally of how many comments each person makes and how many links come from their blogs/website. The person that has left the most comments and sent the most visitors (collectively), will receive an autographed copy of my latest release, A Hope and a Future. Get those Blog URL’s in to be posted.

keyThis author is stranded at sea with 500,000 words.

 

Now, onto today’s post!!    (May not be suitable for children)

                        *********************************************************

Santa looked a lot like Daddy!

It’s that time of year. Temperatures are dropping, prices of the new holiday barbie are rising. Here a dollar, there a dollar, everywhere a dollar. It’s that time when the kids are making their lists and checking it twice while I’m in the bedroom checking my bank account and begging to pick up more hours at work.

My kids are 10,11,12 and I am very happy to say they ALL still believe in Santa. Why am I happy? Well as a single parent, the majority of my time with the kids is spent staring at a half empty cupboard, praying to get one more day out of the milk, and of course (Marv, just for you), spending that one dollar at the Red Box for family night while picking up the 2 liter of coke on the way home. We love it, I love it, but the majority of time I spend searching the cushions (and my daughter’s room) for spare change.

Christmas is that one magical time of year that there are no worries (at least not for them).  Thankfully, they don’t ask for much and most of what they do ask for is for each other. (All together now….aaaaaawwwww). Yes, they’re great. But they have no worries because they believe in Santa. My neighbor’s kid does not and it really upset me yesterday when this child starts telling my daughter there’s no Santa. “It’s your mom,” she says. My daughter immediately spoke up with much confidence, “see, now I know you’re wrong. If my mom was Santa, we’d never get Christmas.”

There’s always such controversy over whether to allow your children to believe in Santa or not. Now of course, I am very adamant about reading the Christmas story and instilling what the reason for the season is. My kids get involved in charities, they give to the less fortunate. They get it.  But they still believe in Santa. I hope they always do.

What do you tell your children? How does Christmas morning play out in your home? Santa or no Santa? I had a friend a while back. He had 8 children and I asked him if he told the kids there’s a Santa. He said, “heck no. I’m the only fat man in my house getting credit for those gifts beneath the tree.” I laughed, but that makes sense as well. What’s your opinion?

 
8 Comments

Posted by on November 18, 2008 in encouragement

 

8 responses to “Santa looked a lot like Daddy !!

  1. Jennifer @ Quiverfull Family

    November 18, 2008 at 7:59 am

    Hi Katrina,

    Our family actually doesn’t celebrate Christmas, and we definitely don’t do Santa :). I was a pagan before I got saved, and it’s fairly common knowledge in the pagan community that Christmas is a catholocized pagan holy-day, and now a commercialized one. I’m sad to say that we often erm,made fun of Christians for their re-wallpapered pagan holidays. So on that note, I don’t feel any peace about celebrating Christmas. Since I don’t believe that Santa Claus is true, I’m afraid I’d be lying if I told my children he was – and God wouldn’t be too impressed about that.

    Sort of a heavy response to your post, but hey – you asked!

     
  2. Katrina Wampler

    November 18, 2008 at 8:06 am

    Thank you so much Jennifer for your comment. You’re right…Christmas has become so commercialized. To the point that most of us, I know I do, sometimes dread to see it coming.

    I do like to watch my children’s eyes sparkle when they share the story of Jesus with others during the holidays. Let’s me know that though they believe in Santa Claus, they also understand that is not the reason we celebrate Christmas. They still get so excited to see a live nativity scene. Their eyes light up and they ask, “Mom, is that really what is was like for Jesus?”

    Somehow, I’ve made it all this way and still believe in Santa myself. Maybe it’s because Christmas was such a magical time as I grew up though my home-life was not good. When I see that same magic in my children’s eyes, I’m glad I’ve made the choices I’ve made.

    But to each his own. Thanks again for sharing your opinion/story.

     
  3. unwriter1

    November 18, 2008 at 11:54 am

    I knew my kids knew there was no ‘real’ Santa Claus when they came to me and said, “We need to put something out for Santa Claus, what do you want,dad?” Ok, they knew the fat man didn’t come down a chimney, put gifts under a tree and leave credit card bill on the parents nightstand. That’s the little kids Santa. The real Santa Claus is the belief in a better tomorrow, the knowledge that somebody cares, the fact that they are loved. The question is not who is Santa, but what.
    Santa represents peace, love, thoughts of others, especially those less fortunate.

    Hmmm, this sounds like a blog post. Keep your eyes on:
    http://unwriter1.wordpress.com
    I’ll have to write this up soon.
    ron

     
  4. Katrina Wampler

    November 18, 2008 at 11:57 am

    Very well written!! I’ll be watching for that post.

     
  5. akum

    November 18, 2008 at 12:23 pm

    Great post.

     
  6. paizefiddler

    November 18, 2008 at 2:18 pm

    I think Christmas can be a harmless celebration that can have some merit if done in the Christ-like spirit. Doens’t matter what the origins of antiquity are. Not very many people even know where Christmas really came from. However, Jennifer, if I were you WITH that knowledge, that sort of burden on my heart, I would feel and do the same as you. I grew up in a Christian family that celebrated Christmas with joy and giving and sharing and hugs and love and praying and eating – it was wonderful. Some of my absolute favorite childhood memories are the big family reunions around Christmas. I don’t remember the toys I got so much as all the fun and excitement, playing with cousins, pulling pranks on old Grandma, putting on the silliest plays for the adults. It was a blast.

    My wife and I did the Santa Claus thing for our little ones. But when they got to the age to where they asked straight out, “Mommy, is there REALLY a Santa Claus?” Then no lies. Truth and honesty time. And none of them took it hard. they were all happy and smug that they were now “grown up” enough to have figured out the good-natured ruse and also glad to know that Mom & Dad loved them and were truthful with them – even if they HAD been pulling their leg all those past several years.

    Cool post, Kat. You’ll hit 10K no prob. Got it goin ON, girl. and I agree with the goal distinction. A goal without a plan is just a dream.

     
  7. joyceanthony

    November 19, 2008 at 12:41 am

    What a wonderful post, Katrina! My son will be 16 in March-and he still truly believes in Santa. He also knows Santa doesn’t do it all and he knows the true meaning of the season. Kid’s need so much to have some magic to believe in with the way the world is today.

    When he was about 8, he asked me if Santa was real because someone told him he wasn’t. The look on his face told me he wasn’t ready to let go, so I asked him simply “What do you think?” and when he said he believed Santa was real, I answered with “Well, that is what is important-what you believe, not what some other kid says you should believe.”

    The next year was an extremely bad one for us and he was in a residential treatment center for Christmas–with only a home visit. On one of them, we were walking along the side of the road and there was a guy in a Santa suit holding an American flag. When we started to pass, he asked Shane to hold his flag so he could sit and rest a bit. My son did and “Santa” explained his sleigh was in the car garage there because he’d lost a runner in the wind. By the time we went on our way, my son looked at me, eyes full of wonder and said “Mom, he was the real Santa (he knows the ones in stores aren’t) his beard was real! That made a horrible time so much beter for him.

    Once he turned 13, he got a letter from “Santa” explaining that it was a rule that Santa had to step back and only deliver one present a year from then on because there were so many litle kids without parents or homes, etc… and that “Mom” had agreed to get what she could at Christmas. He was also promoted to Santa Helper-with the task of helping keep the Christmas Spirit alive by helping sponsor a child from one of the “trees” each year. He takes that job seriously.

    I’ve made up my mind that as long as he is willing to believe, “Santa” will continue to deliver one gift a year.

     
  8. Lynnette Bonner

    November 20, 2008 at 7:00 am

    We told our kids the truth from the time they were little. Santa (Saint Nick) was a real man that lived a long time ago and made toys for poor kids in his town.

    I look at it this way. I tell my kids about Jesus, that he died for them, and that if they accept his sacrifice on their behalf they will go to heaven one day. etc.

    I didn’t want them to grow up and one day say, “Hmmm, mom lied to us about Santa all those years. Maybe she was lying about Jesus, too.”

     

Leave a Reply

 
