RSS

Chocolate Covered Chaos

21 Nov

Well, as promised Friday’s will be called Chocolate Covered Chaos and you’ll hear all about the Wampler household.  There’s always something crazy going on around here.

Tomorrow we are starting a new tradition. Pancake Saturdays. Now, we aren’t just going to have pancakes and run out the door to start the weekend. Big breakfast….eggs, toast, grits (yeah we’re in the South), pancakes, bacon… the whole nine yards. And of course I’ll have my nice big mug of Pumpkin Spice coffee. More than having a nice big breakfast that we don’t get to share during the week, we are starting a tradition of gratitude.

Being thankful shouldn’t just happen once a year. I look around at the sinking economy, the loss of jobs, and the depression that is quickly surrounding us. I tell my kids each day, “we are all we have. We have to stick together and we have to make the most of every day.” So, we are starting a tradition of gratitude and I challenge each of you to do the same in your homes around your kitchen table. Every day we’ll write things we’re grateful for on slips of paper. Not just things we have like our health, each other, a home. But things we are praying and trusting God for. He tells us to pray boldly and to pray believing He will provide. Mark 11:22.  So with that being said, we will be writing things we’re thankful for even before we receive them. On Saturday mornings, we’ll take turns reading our tiny bits of gratitude.  We’ll start each morning with at least one thing we’re grateful for and begin each day on a positive note. (A much needed addition to our lives).

Tonight as I was headed into work, my youngest son said to me, “you can use my lucky stone. If someone starts yelling at you on the phone, you can just rub the stone.”  He was so excited to give me his prized possession. He found it on the school yard and couldn’t wait to bring it home to me.  I said, “What happens if they keep yelling?”  With an even bigger smile he said, “then use this one!”  That’s how I know I’m doing something right.  When they gladly give of themselves. When they have the faith that such a small act of kindness can change things. And it can.

I have another challenge for you and I hope to hear from any of you joining. The kids and I are embarking on a year long gratitude and kindness journey. Our country is facing tough times ahead and we’ve made it our mission to look for the good in each day and show kindness to at least one person each and every day. We’ll log it on our Wampler journal. At the end of the year, we’ll each write a letter of what we’ve learned. I’m going to purchase a fire proof box and bury our Wampler journal as a “time capsule” of sorts. We’ll have a plaque made to cover the spot where we’ve buried it. Perhaps one day in the future someone will find our journey. Someone that needs it desperately.  Now, we’ll log things we’ve done here on Kat Logic and keep you all up to date, but we want to leave something behind.

Won’t you join us?

 
4 Comments

Posted by on November 21, 2008 in encouragement

 

4 responses to “Chocolate Covered Chaos

  1. joyceanthony

    November 21, 2008 at 6:33 am

    Hi Katrina-that sounds a lot like the Kindness Cure that I’m featuring over on my blog. Your kids are going to grow up to be wonderful adults with all the effort and time you put into being a mother!!

     
  2. Ron Berry

    November 21, 2008 at 12:38 pm

    Wow! The kindness cure is catching on. What a wonderful Idea. I can see what I need to do on my blog. Now, let’s see if I can write something. Joyce has spread the kindness bug to her readers. You have done so now. It’s my turn.

    Pancake saturday sounds wonderful. The idea of little notes to say what one is grateful for is a great way to teach the art of paying it forward. Congratulations on a wonderful idea.

     
  3. Katrina Wampler

    November 21, 2008 at 1:39 pm

    Hi Joyce,

    I”ve heard of several people doing such things and I thought it would be a great thing to introduce to my kids. Especially with the the times we are facing.

    My daughter said the cutest thing this morning. Today they are having Thanksgiving dinner at her school. It’s 5$/plate. A plate for me and each of the kids. My dd said, “mommy, we can all eat off one plate. Then we buy someone else one.” How precious. No, we won’t be eating off one plate but we will be paying for someone else’s anonymously.

     
  4. Marvin D Wilson

    November 21, 2008 at 2:20 pm

    The Kindness Cure. Not surprised to see a wonderful idea like that coming from The Wampler Clan. (smile). I’m in.

     

Leave a Reply

 
