RSS

Bonnie Leon

25 Nov

bonnies-photos-july-2007-025-021  Joining us today on Kat Logic (as well as during the week) is Bonnie Leon, author of Longings of the Heart.  I have to tell you, of all the interviews I’ve done, I am just enthralled with Bonnie. You’ll see why. Grab a cup of coffee (the kind with cool whip and chocolate syrup on top) and pull up a chair. You’re going to want to stick around a while for this one.

Let’s get started.
Katrina:  I want to thank you so much for joining us today. I can’t wait for the readers to learn all that I have about you. I’m sure they will be as impressed as I am.  Tell us a bit about yourself.

Bonnie:  I’ve been married thirty seven years to a guy my brother dragged home from the Kitty Hawk Aircraft Carrier, which was in dry dock in Bremerton for repairs, back in 1969.  I was only seventeen. Greg was nineteen. It’s hard to believe we’ve been a couple for so many years, thirty-nine in all—guess that means I’m REALLY old.

Katrina: Thirty-nine years! That’s a long time to be married. What a blessing. Especially in this day and age. It seems no one stays together too long.  I’m guessing you have kids and maybe some grandchildren at this point. Tell us a bit about it.

Bonnie:  We have three children. Our oldest, Paul, lives in Central Oregon with his wife and our two daughters are married to men in the Army. Kristi also has a son, Gabe and Sarah, our youngest, has three children—Corey, Ezra and Olivia. I so love my grand-babies. Well, they’re not really babies any more. The youngest is four and the oldest is nine. But they’re irreplaceable, funny, beautiful children.

Katrina:  Four and nine are still babies. My twelve year-old is still my baby.  Where do you guys live?

Bonnie:  My husband and I live in southern Oregon in the same home where we raised our children. We love it here in the Cascade foothills among towering cedar and fir trees where all sorts of wild critters frolic. We have so many deer they’re viewed as pests. But I enjoy them—they’re beautiful creatures.
 
Katrina:  That sounds absolutely beautiful. Perhaps you can share some pictures of that this week to give our readers a bit of an image of what you see when you look out your kitchen window. What is a typical evening like in your home?

Bonnie:  While my daughter waits to join her husband at his new post, she and her children are living with us. So sometimes it’s boisterous when the grandchildren visit our part of the house. Usually in the evenings it’s just my husband and I. We usually have work to do, me in my office and Greg often has projects to do around the house.
 We love to read together when we go to bed. Actually I read and my husband listens. Right now we’re reading In a Pit With a Lion on a Snowy Day. And our next book is one written by Ed Underwood. When God Breaks Your Heart. I’ve already read it and it’s a fabulous book.
 I’m a night person so after reading I often get up and read a novel, or answer emails or watch something on television.
 Fridays are date night so my husband and I try to do something fun together or with friends.

Katrina: Well, no wonder you’ve been married thirty-nine years. Friday nights is date night! 🙂  How do you juggle your writing career and family?

Bonnie:  Wish I had profound truth to share with you about this, but as long as I’ve been working I’ve struggled to find balance. Writing and marketing takes a lot of hours and if I’m not disciplined time just seems to evaporate.
 For me discipline is key. I need a plan and then I’ve got to stick to it. Course my problem isn’t the planning, it’s the sticking to it. :-]  I try to prioritize—turn off the television, don’t answer the phone, stay away from my email and all the other distractions that call to me. I have my days divided into different types of tasks. I work this out according to how awake my brain is. I’m not a morning person so mornings are set aside for the “easy” stuff. I try to use the afternoons for manuscript writing and editing. And if I’ve been disciplined my evenings and weekends are mostly free.
 I’m also the deacon of the women’s ministries at our church, so I’m careful to set aside Bible Study time first thing in the morning and some evenings and weekends I spend time on church ministry.  I teach workshops and speak for women’s groups so I squeeze preparation for those things in where they best fit. And they require me to be away from home several weekends a year.
  As much as is possible, I try to save some weekends for fun. A perfect Saturday morning for me is to stay in my PJ’s with a cup of coffee and watch a movie, usually a chick flick. Going to garage sales on a weekend is fun too. And occasionally I get to join my family for outings to the beach or the mountains. And I love to fish the mountain lakes.
 
Katrina:  Aahhhh, fishing. I knew I liked you for some reason. That has to be one of my favorite past times. With kids and work, it’s real hard to squeeze that in. I’m sure you can relate to that. Does your family read any of your work?

Bonnie:  Not everyone in my family reads my work, but most do. My mother is my greatest fan. She never misses an opportunity to tell someone about me and my books. My sister is also very supportive. And my two daughters have read everything I’ve written and love the stories. They’re proud of their Mom. My husband is more of a non-fiction reader, but he likes me to read my books to him. 
 
Katrina:  Tell us a bit about your current book, Longings of the Heart.

leon-small1

Bonnie:    Hannah Bradshaw reaches for a new beginning.  But will secrets from her past destroy the present? John Bradshaw trusts in a new life.  Instead, he discovers deception. One evil heart lies waiting to tear their lives apart. Will evil triumph? Or will their longing hearts find joy?

In the early 1800’s, the wondrous land of Australia is full of possibilities as settlers stake their claims. Hannah and John settle their own piece of land in New South Wales and have hopes of starting a family, but their dreams for the future are clouded with trouble. 

As they try unsuccessfully to have a baby, Hannah suffers from guilt over her past. What she hasn’t told her husband about this chapter of her life haunts her and threatens to destroy their relationship.

Don’t miss this heartrending second book in the Sydney Cove series! 

Enter the Longings of the Heart Australian Outback Contest.

Katrina:  It sounds wonderful. I for one can’t wait to read it. One of our lucky readers will have the opportunity to win an autographed copy of Longings of the Heart.  I encourage our readers to stop by your site and read more about you and then stop back by Kat Logic and ask some challenging questions. This week, I’m asking the readers to post a blurb about our interview on their BLOG encouraging their readers to join us on Kat Logic for thought provoking questions.

To the readers….  if you’re interested in winning a copy of Longings of the Heart, leave a comment here to let us know you’ve posted a portion of Bonnie’s interview on your BLOG encouraging your readers to stop by Kat Logic to ask some questions of their own. Bonnie and I will be visiting your BLOGs to decide who wins the autographed copy.

Bonnie will be back with us Wednesday and Friday of this week. Don’t miss the rest of this intriguing interview. She’s not only an amazing author, but an incredible woman of faith!  I look forward to checking out your BLOGs and hearing your questions for Bonnie.

 
16 Comments

Posted by on November 25, 2008 in encouragement

 

16 responses to “Bonnie Leon

  1. joyceanthony

    November 25, 2008 at 1:50 am

    I look forward to learning more about Bonnie 🙂 I haven’t wandered over to her site yet-but I shall be back many times this week–I’ll get a question and post in!

     
  2. Katrina Wampler

    November 25, 2008 at 1:55 am

    thanks Joyce. I look forward to it!

     
  3. Rebecca Sanders

    November 25, 2008 at 2:09 am

    Boonie, it sounds like you have found how to make your life work . 39 years is a long time. i am looking forward to reading your book. I love historical novels. now tell us about the first one in the series. I definitely want to start there.
    Thanks, Rebecca

     
  4. unwriter1

    November 25, 2008 at 2:10 am

    ok, I’ve had my umteenth cup of coffee today so went for a slice of homemade bread intstead. I’ll drop a few lines on my blog tomorrow to stop here. I have a link there for here. Ok, words are getting me tongue tied. This looks like a most interesting book. As for the beauty of the great northwest, I’ve seen it and love it, although Iowa ain’t so bad and the lakes areas are pretty.

    Great post, great interview, a book to read and review someday maybe

     
  5. Katrina Wampler

    November 25, 2008 at 2:12 am

    Wow Ron…umteenth cup of coffee. Sounds like you’re keeping up with me. I’ll be sure to stop by your blog to say hello as I”m sure will Bonnie. Awesome, isn’t she?

     
  6. Kimberli

    November 25, 2008 at 3:24 am

    I think it’s sweet that you read your books to your husband. 🙂

    I look forward to more of your interview.

    Blessings – Kimberli

     
  7. bonnie

    November 25, 2008 at 3:59 am

    Hi ladies. These are great posts.

    Rebecca you want to know about book one. It’s called “To Love Anew” and the story opens in 1804 London. Hannah Talbot finds herself alone and desperate. She’s forced to leave the only home she’s ever known and goes to work for a cruel man, who takes the one thing she has left, her dignity. Acting out of desperation, she steals a loaf of bread and is unjustly accused of another crime and is banished to an Australian prison.

    She commits what she believes is an unforgiveable sin and is certain God has turned his back on her.

    John Bradshaw is a successful businessman, but when he is betrayed by those closest to him he loses everything, even his freedom.

    Aboard a ghastly prison ship, John and Hannah’s lives intersect. They both have broken hearts and hope for a better life is seen as unobtainable.

    Perhaps God has other plans. 🙂

    I hope you get a chance to read the book.

    Bonnie

     
  8. bonnie

    November 25, 2008 at 4:00 am

    Underwriter,

    I’ve never been to Iowa, but I’d love to visit. My husband hopes to retire next fall and we hope to do some traveling. I bet we visit Iowa. 🙂

    Blessings,

    Bonnie

     
  9. bonnie

    November 25, 2008 at 4:03 am

    Ladies, I’d like to say something about my husband. He is a good man. That has a lot to do with why we are still married after all these years. About 33 years ago, we did split up and nearly ended up in divorce court, but God intervened. Praise him!

    Bonnie

     
  10. bonnie

    November 25, 2008 at 4:05 am

    Katraina, this is such a great site. Thanks for inviting me.

    I’d love to share some pictures. Can you tell me how to do that?

    Bonnie

     
  11. Katrina Wampler

    November 25, 2008 at 4:07 am

    if you’ll send them to my email, I’ll get them posted Wednesday

     
  12. Katrina Wampler

    November 25, 2008 at 4:09 am

    I can’t wait to hear more about you Bonnie. I plan to really dig through your entire site. http://www.bonnieleon.com . I encourage each of our readers to do the same. I’m also interested in some of your workshops, especially the one on writing great characters (ad libbing, of course). Can you tell me, and our readers, how to sign up for those workshops?

     
  13. bonnie

    November 25, 2008 at 4:28 am

    Hi Katrina.

    I try to keep my upcoming workshops on my website on my events page. I don’t have any workshops scheduled at this time, but I usually teach several a year. I love teaching!

    If anyone wants to invite me just choose a topic from my website. and let me know. My fees are reasonable, but I do need expenses covered.

    Creating Believable Characters is one of my favorite workshops. Maybe we could work out an online meeting?

    Blessings,

    Bonnie

     
  14. Katrina Wampler

    November 25, 2008 at 2:28 pm

    That would be awesome, Bonnie. Definitely something I’d like to start having here on Kat Logic or a connected site. Can’t wait to hear more.

     
  15. bonnie

    November 25, 2008 at 10:00 pm

    Katrina, if there are some who would like to do an online interactive discussion about character development or other writing techniques I’m in. Just let me know where and when. 🙂

    Bonnie

     
  16. Pam Williams

    December 1, 2008 at 5:42 am

    Well, I don’t have a blog to let anyone know about Bonnie’s book. Is there something I can do instead so I could qualify to win her book?

     

Leave a Reply

 
