RSS

A bit of well deserved chaos

26 Nov

chaos3 

So, we’re gearing up for the holiday season. As if the Wampler household wasn’t in enough shambles on a good day, we have chocolate from one end of the house to the other. Oh yes, chocolate. I do a lot of baking this time of year. Under the business name of Chocolate Covered Chaos I make platters, gift baskets, desserts…you name it, I bake it, sell it, eat it, and keep right on driving past the gym throwing my money out the window as I speed by.

I got a big shipment in today with all my chocolate, decorations, and other supplies. Headed out to Wal-Mart to get a few more items so I could get right on it as soon as I get up tomorrow morning.  I have a party I’m doing the desserts for and I am way behind the 8-ball.  I retreat to my room for just a moment of silence in this crazy house and I hear laughter…lots and lots of laughter. The kind that makes you wonder who has taken over your home. I go to evaluate the situation and I realize that my little hellions (can I say hellion here?)…my little hellions ( and every other hellion in the neighborhood) are in the dining room digging through my box of goodies like it’s already Christmas and they’re at a homeless shelter or something! My head’s spinning..I’m ready to scream …. all their friends are ducking for cover and my monsters smile with those chocolate grins.

And I think, where have I gone wrong? These darn youngins can’t leave none of my things alone. I tell them not to and they do it anyway. I warn them of the consequences and it never seems to sink in. Now, thankfully they seem to have good judgement when it comes to the big stuff but these little things make me nuts.  So, no friends over tonight. No movie night…those things they love. Why can’t I trust them with the big things? I couldn’t trust them with the small things. At least not today.

I wonder how God feels when I blatantly ignore His warnings. Looking back, there have been so many. Not so much the life altering moments but the small minute things. Tiny warnings that prove whether or not He can trust me with the big things.  Time and time again, I fail the test. He holds out on the blessings…the really big things He has for us to see how much we can be trusted. He has such amazing things in store (Jeremiah 29:11) if only we obey the small things. Problem is, all too often we sneak in to take a bit of the candy we’ve been told to leave alone. We bring it on ourselves.  We struggle financially, we suffer through bad relationships, we hurt. Why? Not always, but many times because we don’t do the little things He asks.

 
5 Comments

Posted by on November 26, 2008 in encouragement

 

5 responses to “A bit of well deserved chaos

  1. joyceanthony

    November 26, 2008 at 5:21 am

    But, Mom…it was there!!!! Seriously, though, I can understand the frustration–can you imagine that frustration multiplied my millions–God’s patience must be incredible!

     
  2. Katrina Wampler

    November 26, 2008 at 5:28 am

    Isn’t that the truth!! I am running low on patience these days. My kids should certainly know better by now. (Wonder how many times God has said that??)

     
  3. Marvin D Wilson

    November 26, 2008 at 2:31 pm

    Hmm, yes – we can all learn the ultimate parenting lessons by observing God, the One Parent of All. Good life lesson & learning post, Kat.

     
  4. Deb Hockenberry

    November 27, 2008 at 1:17 pm

    You’ve been tagged for blog tag! See my blog for the rules. http://thebumpyroadtopublishing.blogspot.com.
    Deb

     
  5. Pam Williams

    December 1, 2008 at 5:33 am

    What fun making things out of chocolate sounds. No wonder the little tykes were having such a good time. Don’t we all have a good time while in the midst of disobedience? As long as we continue down that road we don’t realize the blessings we are missing out on. We had a situation not too long ago with a friend. She said she kept being prompted to do something, I can’t share what, and it wasn’t until the VERY day she obeyed the blessing she was waiting for and wasn’t getting came in. She said she KNOWS it was because she finally obeyed. Hmm… am I following the Lord’s promptings? How long would I have to wait for the blessings the Lord has for me if I don’t do what He asks? Perhaps they never will come.

     

Leave a Reply

 
