RSS

At home with author Bonnie Leon

28 Nov

cat39

Back with us today is author Bonnie Leon! Boy, do we have a treat for you. Bonnie is sharing a some photos and things with us today from home allowing us a closer glimpse into her life. I am so excited to be able to bring this to you today and just one more thing to add to my gratitude journal. So, let’s get started.

Katrina:  Thank you sooo much for joining us here again today. It has been such a blessing to really be able to get to know you this week. We heard a bit during your first visit about your home and your family. Today, I’m so excited that you’ll be sharing some photos of home and of your beautiful grandchildren.

Bonnie: Yes. Katrina, here is a picture of my four grandchildren taken this Summer.

olivia-corey-gabe-ezra1From the left is Olivia (4), Corey (9), Gabe (5), and Ezra (6).  Gabe’s really tall for his age. His mother is 5’10 and his father is 6’3. They’re all sweet, fun kids.

Katrina:  Beautiful kids. Thank you so much for sharing. You also have pictures of home as well, correct?

Bonnie. Yes I do.

bonie11This is taken from the road where I live.

bonie2This is a picture of our house. We’ve been putting on an addition, but now it’s for sale because my son-in-law has enlisted in the Army. We already have another piece of land to build on once this sells. It’s not far from here. I’m so grateful of that. I love it here!

Katrina:  I can see why.  It is absolutely beautiful out there.

Bonnie:  This is another picture taken from our road on a cloudy day. bonie31

Katrina: Thank you so much for sharing pictures of your home with us today.  Now, I have a few questions about how you came to be an author. At what age did you realize you wanted to be an author and what influenced you?

Bonnie:  I was nearly forty when I decided writing might be more than a hobby. I’ve always been a reader and over the years I’ve written snippets—poems, personal stories, vignettes, but in 1989 I was gripped by a compulsion to put my thoughts down on paper. I wrote whatever came to mind, filling up legal pads with my thoughts. It was great fun!
 Reading has been the greatest influence on my writing. I’ve been in love with books since I can remember. And it’s been great writers who introduced me to the wonder of storytelling.
 However, the bottom line is God. He is my greatest influence. He’s the one who sparked my interest and opened every door and provided opportunities for publication.
 
Katrina: At what age did you come to know the Lord personally? Could you share a bit of that experience with the readers?

Bonnie:   I was twenty-three, truly lost and very unhappy. Most of my life I believed I was of no real value. There’s a long story that goes along with why I felt that way and maybe one day it will end up in a book, but there’s not time to tell the story here. 🙂
 God is so good. He used a string of tragedies to draw me to Himself. In four months time, my father died, my godfather died, I lost a baby and my husband said he didn’t love me anymore and wanted a divorce. Considering that I already felt like trash, these hardships drove me to my knees, which is exactly where I needed to be. For many years, God had tried to get my attention, but I refused His offer of grace. I’m grateful that He loved me enough to allow “whatever it took” to get my attention.
 The moment I met Christ and believed, I became a new creation and understood that God loved me and that I was His precious creation. I’ve never been the same since.
 
Katrina:  How has your relationship with the Lord affected your writing?

Bonnie:  He’s the one who led me into writing. There are times when I wonder what He was thinking, but mostly I’m just grateful. I write knowing that I’m one of His representatives, and I pray that my words and my life honor Him. Always when I write I think about the person who has never met the Living God and who may discover the truth in one of my books.  
 
Katrina:  Are any of the characters in any of your books modeled after you or any of your emotions?

Bonnie:  Absolutely, yes. There are pieces of me in all my books—lessons learned, heartaches and joys experienced. I write from my heart, which means that I write about what I know. I’ve lived a good many years and have traversed deep valleys and climbed lofty mountains just as my characters do. Sometimes I’m faithful and strong and then there are times when I’m weak and I fail, just like all of mankind.
  But there is always faith. God never abandons us. He knows every detail, every tear and offers us strength and courage and never reneges on his promises. 
 
Katrina:  During your writing, are there ever characters that emerge uninvited?

Bonnie:  Although I plan out my plots and know my characters before I begin writing there are always surprises. Characters emerge that I don’t count on. And sometimes I’m compelled to tell their story.
 In To Love Anew an endearing character, Lottie, didn’t exist until my protagonist was loaded on board a prison ship. And then suddenly there was Lottie. I fell in love with her as did my heroine, Hannah. She added so much to the story, in ways I’d never imagined.
 I recently received a letter from a reader who told me how much she loved Lottie and asked if I’d consider writing another book that would follow her story. I’m thinking about it.

Katrina:  I can’t wait to read that one. I think it would be a wonderful addition to your already fascinating collection. Thank you for stopping in today on Kat Logic, especially on Thanksgiving Day. What a wonderful thing to be thankful for.

To our readers, be sure to stop back in tomorrow for the final thoughts from Bonnie Leon. Be sure to add a BLOG post if you’re interested in winning her latest release Longings of the Heart.

To read the first part of Bonnie Leon’s interview, click here.

 
11 Comments

Posted by on November 28, 2008 in encouragement

 

11 responses to “At home with author Bonnie Leon

  1. Marvin D Wilson

    November 28, 2008 at 3:44 am

    Great photos – what a wonderful home! Neat to include pictorials in an interview, Kat. Bonnie I really enjoy your approach to writing, the “relationships” of it all – the Lord, you – and the characters. You seem like a very involved writer.

    I’ll be back for the final thoughts.

    Oh, and Happy Thanksgiving! Man, am I turkeyed out.

     
  2. bonnie

    November 28, 2008 at 6:09 am

    Thanks, Marvin.

    It’s ten o’clock in the evening here and I’m still stuffed–too much of everything. Groan.

    But I had a wonderful day with my family. God is good.

    Blessings,

    Bonnie

     
  3. Katrina Wampler

    November 28, 2008 at 6:17 am

    It’s 1am here. Been working since 8am this morning and an hour to go. It’s been a very long day to say the least.

    But…I’m thankful to have a job. There are many that don’t. I’m thankful to be able to write while I work and to be able to do both from home.

    No turkey for me today. I did eat some Mac & Cheese and plain M&M’s…that counts, right???

     
  4. bonnie

    November 29, 2008 at 12:55 am

    Katrina,

    A thankful heart is one who knows peace and contentment, and when we possess those life is good.

    Blessings to you,

    Bonnie

     
  5. unwriter1

    November 29, 2008 at 1:44 am

    That is a beautiful area you live in. I can’t complain too much considering all the trees we have. you were fortunate to find God at such a young age. I was sixty. I agree though, he’s always there for us.

    By the way, if you want your book reviewed, I do that.

     
  6. bonnie

    November 29, 2008 at 4:09 am

    Hi Unwriter. I’m always interested in a review. 😉

    Do you have a blog or website where you post reviews?

    Bonnie

     
  7. Marvin D Wilson

    November 29, 2008 at 12:27 pm

    Hey Katrina, you have been dubbed a “Blogging Star” with a “Uber-Amazing” blog by me today at Free Spirit. So hop on over and accept the kudos and receive your award!

    Marvin blogs at Free Spirit: http://inspiritandtruths.blogspot.com/
    Eye Twitter 2 – http://twitter.com/Paize_Fiddler

     
  8. Joyce A. Anthony

    November 29, 2008 at 6:37 pm

    I have loved this chance to get to know Bonnie beter-lovely place you have , Bonnie-and precious grandkids 🙂

     
  9. Pam Williams

    December 1, 2008 at 5:24 am

    My grandchildren are around the same ages as yours: 9, 8 and almost 2. Their dad, my younger son, is in the army in North Carolina right now. He has already done one tour in Iraq. Your home and surrounding land and view is beautiful.

    Some day I might find a copy of the song I wrote when I was in grade school. The first and maybe only time my mom didn’t tell me to get out of the tub. I sang in there until the water was FREEZING and then got out and wrote all the verses to the song down. I have told stories, elaborating on them, to get a chuckle from others but the real story teller is our son in the army. He can keep you rolling with laughter at the most sober subjects, making you feel fine about the whole thing.

    Looks like you and I, Bonnie, have many things in common just by reading down through this day’s interview. I’d love to meet you some day and it would be a blessing to get to read your book! Thanks for the opportunity to enter the contest and thanks for getting to learn more about you!

     
  10. bonnie

    December 1, 2008 at 6:07 am

    Thanks so much, Joyce. I think they’re beautiful, but then of course I’m prejudiced. 🙂

    Blessings to you.

    Bonnie

     
  11. bonnie

    December 1, 2008 at 6:10 am

    Pam, it does look as if we have things in common. Aren’t grandchildren a blessing? They make sure I get my hug fix every day. It will be sad to have them move away, but I guess that will make visits more fun.

    I thank your son for serving his country. I pray for God’s blessing and protection for him and for you.

    I used to love singing in the tub; it’s the only place my voice sounded good. I never did write any songs–that’s a special gift.

    Blessings to you and your family.

    Bonnie

     

Leave a Reply

 
