RSS

Marvin the Martian!!

01 Dec

i-like-that3bbaw_christian_inspirational_award_2008blogging_star_award_uber-amazingowen_paperback_coverstone_cover_reduced_to_50new_soaring_eagle_graphicavatar_awardexcellence_in_entertainment_blogging_award1

Marvin the Martian Wilson

 I am so honored to have our very own Blogging/author/friend/editor Marvin Dean Wilson joining us this week on Kat Logic. Marvin is the published author of “I Romanced the Stone” (Memoirs of a recovering Hippie) and Owen Fiddler. He is also the very esteemed BLOGGer owner of Free Spirit, which we’ve all come to know and love. His BLOG has won many awards (as you can see) and is well on its way to becoming one of the absolute “Must Reads” among the who’s-who of BLOGGers.

Katrina: Marv, so good to have you here with us on Kat Logic. First off, tell us a little bit about yourself.

Marv: I’ve been married to a wonderful woman for thirty two years. We have an interracial marriage, I’m Caucasian and she is African-American. We started dating back when interracial marriages were still often given an askance view from the societal majority. We settled into Ann Arbor, Michigan for the largest part of our child-rearing years and that was good because the Ann Arbor community is very liberal and forward thinking. We have three fully grown well adjusted children, all with careers started. Our two daughters are married and the oldest daughter is a mother; she and her husband have brought three grandchildren into our family and a fourth is on the way. Except for our son who lives and works as a skilled carpenter in New Jersey, all of our family resides in the Southeast Michigan area. 
 
Katrina:  What is a typical evening like in your home?

Marvin:  The wife reads (big romance novel nut), I write and/or read; sometimes we put on a movie on the telly and watch that together.

Katrina:  As I’ve gotten to know you in the past few months, I know just how busy you are. How do you juggle your writing career and family? How do you unwind and take time for yourself?

Marvin:  Well, being semi-retired and an “empty nester,” I don’t have balance issues. I do have to be prodded by my wife now and then to get my face out of the computer monitor and pay more attention to her, go out to eat or a movie or something (lol).

Katrina:  I think that’s a common issue for most authors. We tend to stay glued to this screen and block out the rest of the world. I hope you pay attention from time to time.  Does your family read any of your work?

Marvin:  Oh yes, some – all my kids read my books and my oldest daughter is a regular visitor to my blog. I have two brothers (out of three) and a couple cousins (out of dozens) who buy my books and read them also. I think as I grow in popularity and name recognition more of the extended family will take in interest in what their relative is doing.

Katrina:  Yes, I’ve seen many post from your daughter. It’s awesome that your children are so involved in your career and so supportive.  At what age did you realize you wanted to be an author? What influenced you? Did you write as a child?

Marvin: Well, I’ve been a writer all my life, but not published. I’ve always kept a journal, writing short stories, poems, and just general thoughts about life. But I did not desire publication until my mid-fifties. What influenced me? God! I had just been saved from a serious narcotics addiction and God commanded me to write and publish my first book, my testimonial, titled I ROMANCED THE STONE (Memoirs of a Recovering Hippie).

Katrina:  Now, I want to shift gears. We’ll be heaing from you through out the week but I want to let our readers know that Owen Fiddler will be stopping by Saturday. Owen’s a different kind of guy, to say the least and one that has my blood boiling. As I read the book, I became angrier and angrier at his character. It definitely stirs up some serious emotions, which I am sure you just love. Tell us a bit about Owen Fiddler.

Marvin: Owen Fiddler just came out earlier this year. The main character is, you guessed it – Owen Fiddler! LOL – Owen’s problem is he likes to dance but he never pays the fiddler. He takes no responsibility for his own actions and everything going wrong in his life is (he figures) anybody’s fault but his own. His daughter, Frenda Fiddler, is his exact opposite. In spite of the damage Owen does to her life and all the rest of the family through his selfish deeds and bad habits, she forgives and loves him unconditionally. The other two main characters are Louis Seiffer, a puffed up Satan wannabe, and Kris, a savior with a sense of humor and a bent towards mischief. They both vie for Owen’s damnation or salvation in the never-world with Frenda playing her part in her Daddy’s aid as Owen lays in the hospital near-dead in a coma.

Katrina: Well, there you have it and now you see why he makes me so blessed angry!  I can’t wait to wring his neck Saturday!  As for our readers, they can stop by Free Spirit and see all the hype on the awards. You’re the best. Can’t wait to hear more later about you, your work, and your faith later this week!

***Katrina:  One more thing there Punkin, tell our readers a little bit about the awards we see at the top of this post. You seem to be collecting them…tell us how.***

 
14 Comments

Posted by on December 1, 2008 in encouragement

 

14 responses to “Marvin the Martian!!

  1. Rick Boyer

    December 1, 2008 at 3:54 pm

    A friend of mine just emailed me one of your articles from a while back. I read that one a few more. Really enjoy your blog. Thanks

     
  2. Marvin D Wilson

    December 1, 2008 at 4:28 pm

    It’s an honor to be featured here today, Kat. I’d have brought Owen with me, but I think you have him a little scared right now (smile). He doesn’t deal so hot with strong women. But he’ll show up on Saturday, I’ll see to that. He may be drunk, though. Liquid courage, you know.

    I’ll stop in a few times later on today if anyone wants to leave a comment or ask any questions of me. Love meeting new people and communicating, making friends.

    And I am very blessed to have you in my life, Katrina. This is a wonderful blog, I visit every day and your posts are always warm and meaningful.

    TTYS!

     
  3. Katie Hines

    December 1, 2008 at 4:42 pm

    I liked knowing a little more about Marvin the person. Congratulations on 32 years of marriage! We just celebrated our 23rd, and as soon as we can kick our youngest out to college, we’ll be empty nesters, too!

    Nice interview.

     
  4. Ron Berry

    December 1, 2008 at 4:43 pm

    I romanced the Stone should be required reading for everyone over the age of two (or have it read to them). As for Owen, read it and learn what not to do. But, and this is a big but, Pearl Harbor day, December 7th, you’ll learn how a kitty can really bomb a loser.

     
  5. Katrina Wampler

    December 1, 2008 at 5:12 pm

    Glad to see you all here with Marvin today. I look forward toward to ripping poor Owen apart Saturday. Hope you’ll all come back to join me!

    Say.. Marvin….Punkin pie of mine, you really think Owen’s up for the challenge?

     
  6. Katrina Wampler

    December 1, 2008 at 5:48 pm

    Hey Marv….added a bit of a question for you at the bottom of the post. Share a bit about the awards you’ve won that we see here!

     
  7. Marvin D Wilson

    December 1, 2008 at 8:10 pm

    Oh sure, Kat. AND STOP CALLING ME SOME DOGGONE PUNKIN! LOL I actually blogged about them today on Free Spirit and everyone is welcome to read the whole schlemeel, but in a nutshell:
    – The Avatar Award is given out to select literary works in the spiritual genre for excellence in conveying spiritual truths. Believe it or not, my novel, with the irascible, incorrigible and enigmatic Owen Fiddler won the silver – which is hard for a fiction to do.
    – Soaring Eagle was awarded for my post titled “:Freedom through Discipline,” a personal award created by author Dani Calhoun.
    – Excellence in Entertaining blog award was also a personal award, created by author Laferna Arnold (JC Lamb)
    – The Blogging Star award is one of those that gets passed around from one worthy blogger to others he or she feels worthy of the honor. Which, btw, I understand you have been awarded that one, and I don’t see it up yet. Sup, girlfriend?
    – And last but most great is the BBAW First Place Award. That was simply amazing to me to win that one. An international popularity contest that was held last September, and Free Spirit was voted as the best Christian/Inspirational Fiction Blog! And I had only really been seriously blogging for two months! I was like WOW – thank you Jesus!

     
  8. Katrina Wampler

    December 1, 2008 at 9:29 pm

    Well, to be honest…if I knew how to put it here, I would. And I thank you “Punkin” for sending that honor and award my way.

    Can’t wait for the readers to hear more about you and Owen. It is such an honor to have you here.

     
  9. goodncrazy

    December 1, 2008 at 9:58 pm

    Martian huh? love that. Will have to give it back to him at least once or twice. Am a real fan of the Marv…

    Like your style here!

     
  10. Kimberli

    December 2, 2008 at 12:47 am

    I’d like to thank Marvin for helping fellow writers (like me).

    Congrats on your marriage and your awards!

    Praying for continued blessings. 🙂

    Sincerely – Kimberli

     
  11. Joyce A. Anthony

    December 2, 2008 at 4:54 am

    Marvin “Punkin” Wilson–has kind of a ring to it 🙂 Good job, Guys–I look forwrad to the rest of this week’s posts!

     
  12. Katrina Wampler

    December 2, 2008 at 5:47 am

    sounds like it’s catching there, Punkin!!!

    Marvin wil be posting more on Wednesday and Friday and Owen will be stopping by to take his beating on Saturday. Gonna be a week slap full of Free Spirit’s prize Punkin!!!!

     
  13. Emma Larkins

    December 2, 2008 at 6:30 am

    Cheers, Marvin! Just making taking a late night stroll through the interwebs, and thought I’d drop in and say hi! Interesting to learn a little more about you and Owen here. ‘Night!

     
  14. Pam Williams

    December 2, 2008 at 4:59 pm

    Marvin,you said, “…being semi-retired and an “empty nester,” I don’t have balance issues…”. I’m wondering how you accomplish that, My husband has been fully retired since mid-1999 and he is going hard all day. We do live in a small town and when someone needs something, many look him up to help them out. We have been married for 33.5 years and also have that “empty nest” but are active in our church activities and with the Fellowship there. Perhaps he needs to get on here and ask you some questions, see if he can figure out how to not have balance issues. 🙂

     

Leave a Reply

 
