RSS

Frozen Gratitude

03 Dec

Just a quick thought tonight before Marvin Wilson of Free Spirit stops by again in the morning….

frozen-forestIt was cold…freezing really. I hate being cold more than anything in this world. Hate it. But I stood in the freezing cold for the better part of two hours..for what?

I wasn’t alone. I had others with me. All for the same purpose. All there to do the right thing. All wishing we were somewhere else. Anywhere else. Some were complaining. Some praying. Some saying nothing at all. Me, I was asking “Why am I here? Is there no other way? No other route to show my love?” There wasn’t. This was my calling.

Thankfully, I was simply at the Christmas parade waiting for my daughter to pass by on the float. All that for a two minute photo-op standing along side some rather freezing ungrateful kids diving for candy.

As I stood there feeling right sorry for myself for the sacrifices I have to make for my children that won’t thank me, (the same kids that don’t see my many hours of work until 2am as an act of love) I began to think about Jesus in the forest the night before He gave the utmost of sacrifices. He certainly didn’t want to be there. He was there out of pure love. If there had been another way, He would have gladly accepted it..there wasn’t.  But I wonder if it ever crosses His mind, “what was I thinking? All that I gave for those ungrateful kids?”  Looking back now, would He have changed His mind? He could have. At any given moment, He could have said “NO”. All that He did was for us. Even when we forget to say thank you.

ff22

 
4 Comments

Posted by on December 3, 2008 in encouragement

 

4 responses to “Frozen Gratitude

  1. unwriter1

    December 3, 2008 at 1:36 am

    I like the way you put this. Yes we do need to show more gratitude for the parts of our life that are good as well as the parts that aren’t. I lost a very important part of my life yet there is good that came of it. I survived, I made the best of a horrid situation. I pray for miracles and maybe someday, but until then, I have to pray for others that need more help than I do.

     
  2. Katrina Wampler

    December 3, 2008 at 1:52 am

    True… I also think we need to be thankful for the sacrifices made for us. Perhaps it’s something we don’t see until we’re much older. I know I didn’t.

     
  3. Marvin D Wilson

    December 3, 2008 at 2:21 am

    My eyes are filled up, Kat. You really touched me with this one.

     
  4. Pastor Bill Mazzulla

    December 3, 2008 at 5:30 pm

    That is a beautiful devotional thought.
    I think even our natural love for family members and children are a small reflection in our lifes of God’s love for us. Jesus loved us all the way to the Cross and the Grave!

    Thank God He rose again to give us the Resurrection Hope!

     

Leave a Reply

 
