RSS

I’m a Marvaholic!!

03 Dec

My name is Katrina and I’m a Marvaholic!!ma

Thankfully, I’ve never really had an addictive nature. Not too much anyway. I mean of course there’s my daily dose of coffee. I’m learning to tone that down (gone from 24 cups to about 10-12 a day…BIG cut back.. economy and all the way it is).  Never been one much for the usual chocolate addiction women are known for. I’ve struggled with my share of drinking though. Probably my one major addiction besides the ‘other one’. But I’ve come to realize I have one more addiction that just grips me each morning, holds on tight all day long and usually into the very late hours of night.

Perhaps there’s a 12 step program that will help. We’ll see. But until then, I wanted to share my addiction with a few of my cyber buddies. You know how us alcoholics are…a round for the house!!! Woohoo.

So, drum roll please….visiting us again today on Kat Logic is none other than our very own Free Spirit Punkin Marvin Wilson.  Now, in case you’ve got your head stuck under a rock somewhere and somehow missed the news, Marvin is launching his Owen Fiddler Experience Christmas Cyber tour tomorrow. You can view all the tour stops at Free Spirit. Pay attention to the prizes given away as well.

owen-paperback-coverKatrina:  Marvin…Hi, Punkin.  It is so great to have you here once again. I bet you’re pretty hyped about the tour coming up? Any last minute thoughts for all the folks hosting you along the way?

Marvin: Let’s get ready to r-r-r-r-ruuuuumble!!!

Katrina: Well, that says it all!  Now, I’ve heard of a lot of authors that began writing later on in life. How about you? Have you always been a writer or this a new development for you?

Marvin:  Well, I’ve been a writer all my life, but not published. I’ve always kept a journal, writing short stories, poems, and just general thoughts about life. But I did not desire publication until my mid-fifties. What influenced me? God! I had just been saved from a serious narcotics addiction and God commanded me to write and publish my first book, my testimonial, titled I ROMANCED THE STONE (Memoirs of a Recovering Hippie).

Katrina: There we are talking about addictions again. I can totally relate. One thing’s for sure, when God gets a hold of you…it’s a whole new world, isn’t it? So you came to know the Lord recently, I take it?

Marvin:  I was fifty-five years old. Three years ago. And I wrote about the whole experience in I ROMANCED THE STONE. It was a powerful spiritual experience, a direct meeting with The Christ. He touched me and spoke to me. I’ve never been the same since.
 
Katrina:  I think I’m safe in speaking for many folks out there when I say I am very thankful you’ve turned your life around. It’s a tough road, I know. How has you relationship with the Lord affected your writing?

Marvin: Without that relationship there would be no books published by Marvin D Wilson. When I am uninspired about my writing I know it’s time to pray and meditate on the WORD.

Katrina:  Who has impacted your writing the most?

Marvin:  This might sound strange coming from a Christian/Spiritualist/Inspirational novelist, but Stephen King. I don’t much care for the genre he writes in, suspense/horror and all that blood and guts and weirdo stuff, but that man can WRITE a story. His book, “On Writing” is in my library as a permanent resource textbook.

Katrina: Do you have a favorite place to write?

Marvin:  In my basement cubicle, a simple unadorned 6×8 room with no distractions. Not even a window.

Katrina:  Wow…that explains a lot. Just kidding with you there, Punkin. No windows? Hmm.. Sounds more like a jail cell to me, but to each his own.  Anyway, I can’t wait to get started with the Owen Fiddler tour. Owen will be stopping by Saturday.  The young, irresponsible, nonChristian Owen. I can’t wait to give him a piece of my mind.

Until then, Marvin will be stopping by one more time on Friday to discuss a bit of the tour. I have some serious questions to ask him about some bits and pieces of his book and why he chose to word it the way he did. A bit controversial, so don’t miss it! It’ll be a blast.

If you want to view the previous portion of Marvin Wilson’s interview, click here.

 
4 Comments

Posted by on December 3, 2008 in encouragement

 

4 responses to “I’m a Marvaholic!!

  1. Marvin D Wilson

    December 3, 2008 at 4:53 pm

    Yeah very funny with all the “punkins” Kat. Everyone, Katrina knows I hate that moniker so she uses it all the time on me. Sigh, when will I ever learn how to deal with women? But I do thank you for all the shouting out you’re doing here at Kat Logic about the old silly, my friend. Means a lot to me. See ya on Friday again, looking forward to chatting about my “controversiality,” and Owen told me to tell you he’s ready for ya too come Saturday.

     
  2. Vivian

    December 3, 2008 at 7:52 pm

    It’s interesting to learn more about you, Marvin. Thanks, Katrina, for sharing with us.

     
  3. unwriter1

    December 4, 2008 at 2:09 am

    There’s a lot to Master Paize that doesn’t meet the eye. He’s also the king of tagged. His spiritualy comes out strong on his blog but if you ever get a chance, read I romanced the stone, it is a real eye opener. Feeling low? Read Owen Fiddler, that is a genuine loser.

     
  4. lillieammann

    December 4, 2008 at 2:17 pm

    Interesting to learn more about “the old silly.”

     

Leave a Reply

 
