RSS

Joyce Anthony ~~There’s a Storm brewing

09 Dec

joyce

That’s right!  Joining us today is none other than Joyce Anthony, author of Storm!  It just keeps getting better here at Kat Logic and I am so honored to have Joyce stopping in today. I have recently come to know Joyce through several blogging friends and have come to admire her in so many ways. Other than being an incredible author, she is also a fellow single-mom which just gains even more of my respect.  612r1

Without further adieu, let’s jump in and get to know more about her on a personal level!

Katrina:  Great to have you here today on Kat Logic. Thanks for taking the time to stop in and introduce yourself to those that don’t already know you.  Most of us have heard of Storm, and we’ll get to more about your latest release a bit later. Right now, I want our readers to hear more about you!  Tell us a little about yourself and what home life is like for you.

Joyce:  I am a single mother of one wonderful teenage son, whom I homeschool.  We share our Pennsylvania home with a special friend and our fur/feather family.  These include one mini-horse, disguised as a dog, who thinks he’s a cat–three cats–3 doves–2 cockatiels–and a chinchilla named Elvis!   ~~~ I’m not sure we ever have a typical anything around here 🙂  After supper, we often play a card or board game together (at least one cat and the dog attempting to play also) and watch a couple VHS or DVD movies then go to sleep.  Once everyone else is asleep, I try to get a bit of computer work in–blogging, writing, whatever…

Katrina:  A chinchilla named Elvis?  I keep telling my kids he’s still alive. Now I have proof.  I’ve also noticed you and I tend to be awake the same hours…wee hours of the morning. I get my best work done around 2am.  It’s tough trying to squeeze it all in. How do you juggle your family and career and still make time for yourself?

Joyce:   Here at home, every aspect of our lives is completely intertwined, my writing, my son’s art, homeschooling….I read pieces of my work for opinions, we take turns playing songs (music is big around here), at least one of us is interacting with one of the critters almost constantly–we truly live as one family unit, loving and sharing.  I don’t honestly have time to myself, which I miss, but wouldn’t trade my life for anything.

Katrina:  That’s saying a lot. The fact that you wouldn’t trade your life for anything.  I think so many of us (especially women) get mangled in this life we’ve found ourselves in and it’s hard to make it through most days. The days seem to run together. Many times I’ve found myself thinking, “there has to be more to life than this”. So, I admire your outlook on life.  At what point in life did you realize you wanted to be an author?

Joyce:  I honestly can’t remember a time when I didn’t want to write–but I was brought up in a home where reading and writing weren’t exactly “practical”.  I was consistently discouraged where my writing was concerned so put the notion deep inside–not allowing it to surface completely until my mid-30s.  I wrote, but I didn’t share.  ~ ~ ~  My birthday present when I turned eight was a library card.  From that point on, I lived at the library, spending hours each day there.  Books were my comfort and I wanted to write things that would bring the same comfort to others.storm-cover1

Katrina:  As I’m sure you’ve done!  Thanks for stopping in today. For our readers, Joyce will return Wednesday to share more about her latest release Storm In the meantime, you can check out her BLOG site and view all the amazing authors and stories she’s covered among doing her own work. She’s a busy mom after my own heart.

Don’t miss her continued interview. Comments and questions are welcomed and a copy of Storm will be given away to one lucky reader!

**************************************************

If you missed the post on supporting our troops on December 23rd through “Shout out for the USA” day, click here to participate. They need all the support they can get regardless of our views on the war. See you there. Spread the word.

 
17 Comments

Posted by on December 9, 2008 in encouragement

 

17 responses to “Joyce Anthony ~~There’s a Storm brewing

  1. unwriter1

    December 9, 2008 at 5:29 am

    great beginning. Yes, she homeschools Shane and has done a wonderful job. I don’t think there is a book in the library they’ve missed. She does have a mini zoo but they are all fun.

     
  2. Katrina Wampler

    December 9, 2008 at 5:31 am

    I’m hoping for some pictures of those animals some time this week…HINT HINT!

     
  3. Joyce A. Anthony

    December 9, 2008 at 5:40 am

    Thank you for having me here, Katrina!! I’ll be in and out today to answer any questions your readers have–or just to say Hi 🙂 In case your readers want to stop by my blog (and I’d love for them to!) the URL is http://joyceanthony.tripod.com/blog

     
  4. Paul McDermott

    December 9, 2008 at 10:14 am

    Hi, Joyce!
    Nice to see you’re still keeping your end up!
    It’s now about 18 months since you hinted to me that you were working on a SEQUEL to “Storm” ….. nudge, nudge!!
    I’ve published my first book since then! Childrens’ book, currently working on a sequel planned for Easter ’09
    Have a blessed Christmas!
    Paul McDermott

     
  5. Helen Ginger

    December 9, 2008 at 2:40 pm

    Hi Joyce. How interesting to learn more about your personally! Thanks for sharing. I’ll be back to hear about Storm.

     
  6. Lea Schizas

    December 9, 2008 at 2:47 pm

    I find Joyce to be a phenomenol woman. Not sure how long we’ve been cyber buds but one thing is for sure, she’s a keeper.

     
  7. Katrina Wampler

    December 9, 2008 at 4:25 pm

    Yes she is… I for one am so honored to have her on my list of “phone-a-friends”.

     
  8. Katie Hines

    December 9, 2008 at 4:28 pm

    Thanks for the post! It’s great to hear about another writer, and get to know them on a more personal level.

     
  9. Linda Ballou

    December 9, 2008 at 5:02 pm

    Hi Joyce

    I will get to your book in 2009. 2008 has been the year of “Wai-nani.” Thank you for your review and support of my book.

    All the best,
    Linda

     
  10. Marvin D Wilson

    December 9, 2008 at 5:05 pm

    I’ll follow Joyce ANYWHERE! What a gal. I just love that picture of you, Joyce, always been my favorite. and I STILL learn more about your zany self every time I read one of these kinds of interviews. Nice job, you two of my favorite women in the whole world!

     
  11. Joyce A. Anthony

    December 9, 2008 at 6:57 pm

    Wow–I feel so loved!!!

    Katrina, I’ll get you some pics (I’ll run over to my photography site and grab some-easier than looking through this disorganized computer!)

    Thanks for the kind words, Lea (especially since you are one incredible woman!),

    Paul, the nature of Storm doesn’t allow for a sequel (although I’ve toyed with a pre-quel–still unsure about that) My next two books, however will be ready this coming year–I believe you’ll get to read more about them later this week. Look me up when you tour the book–you know I want to be part of that!

    Ron, Katie and Helen–thanks for the support. You guys are wonderful!

    Linda–you keep working with that book–it’s one of the best out there!!

    Marv-Hon, you never fail to make me feel all warm and fuzzy inside-Love you, Bro!!

     
  12. Vivian

    December 9, 2008 at 7:15 pm

    I’m amazed when someone can home school and still accomplish anything else. Joyce, are you sure you haven’t been cloned? *laugh*

    Thanks, Katrina, for bringing us the interview with Joyce.

     
  13. Katrina Wampler

    December 9, 2008 at 7:17 pm

    I’m kinda praying I can ship my 3 crazy monkeys up there and let her homeschool THEM…. Lord knows I can’t even get both legs shaved at once, let alone HS, write, work, and all the other mess that goes along with being a single mom.

    She’s da bomb…ain’t she??

     
  14. Philip Harris

    December 9, 2008 at 11:16 pm

    Joyce is a wonderful writer with a great message. Well worth buying her book!

     
  15. Connie Arnold

    December 10, 2008 at 12:13 am

    I’ve recently come to know Joyce and really enjoy her. Thanks so much for sharing this interview, Katrina!

     
  16. Joyce A. Anthony

    December 10, 2008 at 2:20 am

    Life can get chaotic around here–and things like housework may have to wait, but homeschooling was the best decision I made in regards to my son–I only wish I’d started at the beginning!! Vivian, I don’t think the world is ready for another me!! Thanks for the kind words, Connie and Phillip (phillip, your books are definitely nothing to sneeze at!). Hmm.. more kids, Katrina? I’d work it in. A wise woman once told me-‘It isn’t about finding time. When something is important, you make time.” i TRY to keep that in mind–doesn’t always work though!

     
  17. Dr. Mosetta M. Penick Phillips-Cermak

    December 11, 2008 at 1:50 am

    What a wonderful interview!
    It helped me see an even deeper level of Joyce’s personality.
    This helps me to get to know you even better.

     

Leave a Reply

 
