RSS

Joyce Anthony…part two

10 Dec

joyce1

 

Back with us again today is Joyce Anthony for another round of questions.  Joyce seems to have quite a bit of a fan base.  I’m working on downloading some photos of her furry little family members, but in the mean time, let’s move into some questions about her latest book Storm.

Katrina:  Welcome back Joyce. As always, great to have you.  Tell us a bit about Storm.

Joyce:  Currently, I have the book Storm out.  This book sees the main character, Storm, setting out to find out not only his true identity, but his destiny.  He was found by a lighthouse keeper while still a baby, and had never known where he came from.  He meets up with an incredible amethyst-eyed dog who leads him on his journey.  Every town he enters finds him coming into contact with someone who needs him, or he needs to learn from–a prostitute, a sexually abused child, a disillusioned minister and a homeless PTSD-suffering Vietnam vet, among others.  Once he discovers who he is and why he is here, he then has to convince others–which is yet another trial.

Katrina:  Wow, it sounds awesome.   It sounds almost as if Storm could be a Christ-like figure. An Angel, perhaps.  Besides the obvious, what do you see Storm offering the readers in the way of change in their own lives?

Joyce:  I have had several comments from people saying that they see people differently after reading Storm and many have commented how they can’t get the story out of their minds, even after finishing it.  I think the best change I personally have heard is that a wonderful editor read Storm and later was hired to edit another book.  The other book involved a homosexual theme and this would have normally been difficult for her to edit.  She said she remembered the one section of Storm that involved two homosexual men–and was able to put aside her long-held beliefs and edit the book in a manner it deserved–and found out it was a good one.  This indicates the main purpose of my book–to get people to put aside preconceived ideas and actually view others as children of God, rather than by labels society has given them.

Katrina:  That’s a powerful message. A tough one for many to receive but it seems you’ve found a way to get the message across gracefully in a way that is well embraced. Congratulations on that. As authors, touching our audience and changing their lives seem to be the common thread among us.  What has been your greatest challenge in your writing career?612r2

Joyce:  I think my greatest challenge was not believing in myself enough for the longest time.  Without that inner belief in yourself and your work, no matter how well you write or how many people tell you how good it is, you are still going to fail.  You will subconsciously set yourself up to do so.  One day I picked up a piece of paper and read what was written and it send electricity coursing through me.  I loved it and when I looked to see who had written it, I saw my signature at the bottom–and a date four years earlier.  I think at that moment I start started believing in me–and it has been full-speed ahead ever since 🙂

Katrina:  Now that’s awesome!  God gives us (authors) the talents/gifts we have for a reason. All too often, we fail to see what HE sees when we view ourselves.  You’re right. Without the inner belief, and the faith in what God has called us to do, we set ourselves up for failure and remain there.

The cover of storm is such an engaging one…full of colors and mystery, almost. How did you decide on this cover?

storm-cover2

 

Joyce:   Being a visual person, I have certain elements in mind and pull out my photo program and start combining until I get a look that comes close to what I see in my mind.  I designed the cover of Storm  Kristie Leigh Maguire added the font–which set it off perfectly!!  I wanted the ‘whirling rainbow” aspect contained within the pages to be the focal point.  The bright colors allowed for the character photos to be black and white, as not to overload the image.  The only color in the character pictures is the amethyst in Maggie’s eyes–as that was also central to the story.

Katrina:  Beautiful cover, Joyce.  Friday, we will dive into your relationship with the Lord as well as what your future plans for your next book. I’ll give just a hint since I am so very excited about it. Spirit of the Stallion… of all the elements it includes, the part I am most excited about is your portrayal of Aspergers. My step-son has Aspergers and it is definitely a disorder that needs more community attention. Thank you for taking on such a task.

Until Friday, be sure to stop by Joyce’s BLOG and let her know you saw her interview here. Be sure to leave a comment for a chance to win your very own copy of Storm!

If you missed the beginning portion of Joyce’s interview, click here to catch up.

 
6 Comments

Posted by on December 10, 2008 in encouragement

 

6 responses to “Joyce Anthony…part two

  1. Marvin D Wilson

    December 10, 2008 at 4:52 pm

    Another wonderful round of Q & A between two of my favorite women. Hey I’ll be back tomorrow – want to read the answers from Joyce on those topics.

     
  2. Katrina Wampler

    December 10, 2008 at 5:10 pm

    aaaahhhh…and you know we both love you. Glad to have you join us!

     
  3. Lea Schizas

    December 10, 2008 at 5:39 pm

    What I love the most about these blog tours is getting to know a cyber friend in greater depth. Another great interview, ladies.

     
  4. Katrina Wampler

    December 10, 2008 at 5:59 pm

    Absolutely a PLUS…. Look for an ENORMOUS announcement from Kat Logic after the new years striving for the goal to bring more of the authors you love closer to the readers in a powerful way. Don’t miss it.

    Thanks for stopping in.

     
  5. Joyce A. Anthony

    December 10, 2008 at 9:00 pm

    Thanks for stopping by Marvin and Lea–I love you guys! Katrina has such a wonderful way of getting right to the core of things!! Katrina, thank you so much for being the awesome individual you are!

     
  6. Jamieson Wolf

    December 11, 2008 at 12:52 am

    STORM is a fantastic book! I’m so happy that you’re telling everyone about it. More people have to read this book!

    Check out the review that I wrote for it here:
    http://thebookpedler.wordpress.com/2007/03/13/storm-by-joyce-a-anthony/

    If you haven’t read Storm yet, I URGE you to do so!

    What a fantastic interview Joyce and Katrina! You’re both wonderful!

     

Leave a Reply

 
