RSS

This one’s for you!

13 Dec

friends4

img_20161i-like-that4612r3kim1justine

ronb_bigger4

 Definition of a friend:  a person you know well and regard with affection and trust.

Any of you still hang out with your old high-school buddies? The ones you’d sooner get in trouble with than be without. How many years has it been? Could you call them up today and know they’d come running or are they simply a piece of your past…a brick in the trail of memory lane? How tight are you with your family? Do you chat every day, laugh together, share your concerns, ask for comfort for your fears, or pass along prayer requests?

I got to thinking about friends today. With the holidays and all coming up, I tend to get a bit emotional (even for a hard core ex-firefighter like myself).  You see, just three years ago, I almost lost my life. After suffering a third heartache only six days after a pulmonary embolism (blood clot to the lung), I woke with the doctors holding the defibrillator paddles and strangers standing over me. At the age of 32, I was having a full blown heart attack sitting in my doctor’s office.  (That’s what happens with rough living).  I remember telling one of my very close colleagues (I worked in the OR at the time), “please don’t let me die. If I code again, don’t let them stop working on me.” 

As you see, I did make it home. It took me a few weeks, but I finally made it home. My body still feels the effects. But this time of year I tend to look around at all I have. As a single mom to three kids, we don’t have much. There are many folks out there without jobs, without homes, without anything. I’m blessed to have a job that allows me to be home with my three crazy kids. I have a nice home. And I do have my health in better form than it was. 

More than that…I have my friends. You guys. Friends I’ve never seen before. Friends I’ve never met, some I’ve never heard your voices, and some I’ve only seen the one picture you see above.  So what does make up a friendship? How do people from all walks of life, all parts of the world, all different ages, views on whether or not Jesus should be kissing Frenda (lol)… how do all these people come together to form not only a lasting friendship but an incredible family? 

The only glimpse I can offer is that each of you is an answer to a deliberate prayer for you to come into my life. (See Ron, it’s ok to ask for blessings for yourself…see where it got me??) You’ve all become so much a part of my daily life. More so than any family member I have. More so than the friends I thought I’d have forever ..way back when. You are my family, my strength, my encouragement, and my blessing!  Each of you.

So..this one’s for you!  PJ, Marv, Joyce, Kimberli, Justine, and Ron. May God bless everything you do today. Everything you ask for and all you reach for in each of your tomorrows. Thank you from the bottom of my scarred-up, battered, and finally healing heart!

I love you all!!!

kat

 
8 Comments

Posted by on December 13, 2008 in encouragement

 

8 responses to “This one’s for you!

  1. Ron Berry

    December 13, 2008 at 6:37 am

    I’ve seen a lot of posts on a lot of blogs, but I can’t recall one that has brought tears to my eyes like this one. I am just me, but I know the value of great friends like you. You have honored some of the best on here, Marv and Joyce especially (I know them both and both are top notch). I feel it an honor to be included with such elite folks such as these. Both of the two I’ve mentioned are award winning bloggers and great authors.

    Youve done me proud and I am very very happy to be counted as family. Now, pass the potatoes please.

     
  2. Joyce A. Anthony

    December 13, 2008 at 6:40 am

    (((Hugs))) Katrina–I feel truly blessed that YOU are a part of my life–and I’m sure the rest feel the same! Befoe we even spoke, I was runing into you places and kept thinking what a wonderful person you were. I use the word “friend” less often than most–but you are one of the rare few who I proudly give that title. Love you, Lady!!

     
  3. Marvin D Wilson

    December 13, 2008 at 12:12 pm

    6:55 am on Saturday the thirteenth day of December in the year of our Lord two thousand and eight, and I wake up to this blessing on my monitor. I am truly touched and blessed to have you for a friend, Kat. You are right – real friends they – they just are hard to find, hard to sort out, to KNOW – especially as life moves on and we all get so busy with raising kids and jobs and aspirations. But love finds a way and you know that I do love you too. Dearly.

    This piece was well written too.

     
  4. Justine

    December 13, 2008 at 3:17 pm

    Kat, thank you for the blessing of your friendship, you get me through these long and lonely work nights, you support me and entertain me. I am forever grateful for your kindnesses and your friendship.

     
  5. Kimberli

    December 13, 2008 at 8:02 pm

    I’ve read it three times now. I also find it amazing how friendships can develop even though there has never been voice or face to face interaction.

    You are an incredible woman, Katrina. If I could hug you, I would. You have blessed so many people with your words and actions. I pray an overflow of blessings to be poured over you and your family. In Jesus name. Amen

    As you continue to be about our father’s business, you know we’re standing with you – always.

    Love you! (and I mean that)

     
  6. tourjo

    December 13, 2008 at 10:20 pm

    I finally made here again Katrina, i see your blog is coming along. I love it.

     
  7. Cactus Annie

    December 13, 2008 at 10:39 pm

    Katrina you seem like a good friend to those you love and a wonderful person. Just started reading your blog while following the Owen Fiddler tour. I don’t know Marvin like you do but his writing inspires me so I can only imagine having a friend like that. But I am also blessed with good friends and I appreciate it when people give props out to good people. Nice post!

     
  8. Ginger

    December 14, 2008 at 6:52 am

    Kat,
    I love your post. I’m a sentimental type, too, and my friends mean the world to me. It’s strange that the ones I feel closest with are ones who’ve never even drawn a breath in the same room with me… Still, their support, love, and encouragement is just as real and precious. You sound like a wonderful person. Happy Holidays and I hope the New Year brings you prosperity, health and happiness.

    Ginger

     

Leave a Reply

 
