RSS

Author Pam Kumpe

16 Dec

Joining us today on Kat Logic is author Pam Kumpe with her latest release, “See You In the Funny Papers”.front2

 

OPEN THIS BOOK and let Pam Kumpe splash your day with fun. As an encourager she invites you into her world, a place filled with chaos, blond moments and always, always filled with a trust in God.SHE KNOWS FIRSTHAND how the smallest chuckle can soothe a troubled heart or lift a spirit. Her heartwarming and humorous stories along with tender truths will reminds you of God’s love.
SHARE A MOMENT with this “Funny Newspaper Woman,” as her mishaps inspire women to accept themselves and enjoy their lives. This book can be a great gift for anyone who needs to laugh.
Katrina:  Great to have you here today on Kat Logic. Tell us where you got the idea for “See You In The Funny Papers”.
Pam:  From my 10 year stint of writing inspirational newspaper columns. The columns that show up in the paper range from serious, to surprise with most of them centering on humor. I gathered up some humor ideas, wrote some new stories and since I write for the paper — “See You in the Funny Papers,” seemed like a fit.
Katrina:  What are the major themes of your book?

Pam: Encouragement to find your smile. To rise above, to see we’re all a bunch of messy folks in need of redemption. Especially me. So laugh, the load won’t necessarily go away. But you’ll find your inner peace to rise above, to know there’s hope for tomorrow.

Katrina:  Well that definitely sounds like a message many folks need to hear these days. How did you think of the title for this book and where do you find the inspiration for your columns?

Pam:  Funny stories. Being a Newspaper gal. People often told me — be careful what you do around Pam, she’ll write about you in her column. I didn’t use anyone for the book per se, but opted to focus on my own journey of laughing, loving and finding my brave badge to speak up for God. I see stories in just about every chapter of my day; it’s about looking and being nosey. Yes, I’m nosey.

Katrina:  At least you’re honest. Why do you think humor is so important in life?

Pam:  A cheerful heart is good medicine, and we are to taste and see that the Lord is good. We live in hard times, and we can find our smile, but sometimes it gets tucked away. I want to give you permission to get it out and give me a belly laugh.

Katrina:  You’re right. We are living in hard times. None of us are exempt and many of us get so wrapped up in the day-to-day grind that we lose sight of the laughter that’s been hidden for so long. Thank you for reminding us to let it out sometimes.  What do you hope readers will walk away with after reading this book?

Pam:  I pray the reader walks away with a chuckle, and with an uplifting sense of knowing God is most likely very entertained with us. He’s the ultimate voice of encouragement, and I want others to know that’s my source of joy, my source of hope –He’s the place I go when life gets hard, or heavy. He gave me an identical twin, the mirror of myself; but I truly want my life to mirror His. And since He knows I’ll stumble along the way, my blond moments and chaos are stepping stones to God’s grace. If He loves me, He’ll love anybody!

Katrina:  I know that feeling. I say all the time, “If God can use a loser like me, He can use anybody!”  Tell our readers where they can get a copy of “See You In The Funny Papers”.

Pam:  They can either find it on my site or on Amazon.

Katrina:  Thank you so much for being here today with us on Kat Logic. I’d like to invite our readers to post comments or questions at this time. 

 

*********************************************************

Don’t forget to sign up for the Kat Logic newsletter that will make its first appearance Feb 23, 2009. Don’t miss it. Head on over and sign the guest book to be put on the list.

 
5 Comments

Posted by on December 16, 2008 in encouragement

 

5 responses to “Author Pam Kumpe

  1. unwriter1

    December 16, 2008 at 3:49 pm

    “See you in the funny papers is something often said when I was younger as a form of see you later. I’m surprised it took this long to make it into book form. I agree with you, humor is the best medicine and I try to do my share.

    Now, a very important observation.

    God does love everyone, even the so-called Owen Fiddlers of this world, but Kat, you are very, very far from being one. You are a winner in my book in many ways.

     
  2. Katrina Wampler

    December 16, 2008 at 4:07 pm

    Ahhhh, Thanks so much Ron. I am so thankful to be a different person that I use to be. I’m sure we all are, but I am definitely living proof that the Lord uses the worst of people to do the greater good. If anything good can come from my mangled past, hopefully it’s that someone else finds hope that they too can be used for God’s glory.

    One thing’s for sure…He doesn’t use perfect people.

     
  3. Joyce A. Anthony

    December 17, 2008 at 1:17 am

    Glad to meet you, Pam!!!

     
  4. Joyce A. Anthony

    December 17, 2008 at 1:19 am

    You’ve been awarded the Honest Scrap award. Please check out http;//joyceanthony.tripod.com/blog for details!

     
  5. Katrina Wampler

    December 17, 2008 at 4:42 am

    twice in one day!!! My friend Lea also awarded me the Honest Scrap award, as you can see on the side bar. Look for a post on that tomorrow.

     

Leave a Reply

 
