RSS

Careful what you wish for…

18 Dec

Now I know we’re all making our lists and checking them twice. We’re dreaming of a white Christmas and peace on Earth (or at the very least, peace  in the living room).  We’re making our resolutions and vowing for a change in the new year. Happens every year.

Well, I’ve resolved to have a healthier lifestyle in 2009. Losing this extra weight that has crept up while I sit hours at a time on my honkey tonk badonkadonk.  One of my BIGGEST issues (no pun intended) is to give up the coffee. coffee Or at least lower it to one cup of day instead of two pots seeing how caffeine slows your metabolism. This is no small endeavor for such a girl as me. So, what do I do… I dare to take this NEED to God Himself. That’s right.  Holding nothing back. Going straight to the top and laying it all on the line with the big dogs.

“God, I really need your help here. I can’t do this alone.”

Ever  pray that prayer? I do every single day. It’s usually something like, “God you’d better do something with the kids before I strangle them or duck tape them together.” But this time, I was serious. Got on my knees and everything. Tear flowing. Hands clasped tightly together. I’m begging God to help me get through this so I can get back to a healthy weight and stop dealing with chest pains and such. Thanking God for His answered prayer and all.. You know, expecting a blessing.

So, I get up this morning to make my first pot of coffee and what do you know…my coffee pot is broken!!!

Hmmmm…. be careful what you wish for.

Onto other Kat Logic happenings. Tomorrow is a special day here!!!  I have a new author friend with her brand new debut novel making its appearance. She’ll be visiting us tomorrow along with several other stops in my circle of wonderful friends. Stop in tomorrow to see who this amazing author is and how you can win a copy of her very first book. Trust me, you don’t want to miss it!!!!  And if you haven’t already,  be sure to sign up for the upcoming Kat Logic newsletter as well as the newly formed Kat Logic book club. Lots of great news on the way!!!!

coffee-heartHave a great day and drink lots of coffee for me!!

 
11 Comments

Posted by on December 18, 2008 in encouragement

 

11 responses to “Careful what you wish for…

  1. Marvin D Wilson

    December 18, 2008 at 8:46 pm

    Your honkey tonk badonkadonk? LOL – Kat, please stop!

    Hey good luck with the coffee thang. My brother goes thru caffeine addiction bouts periodically – big sugary delicious cappuccino nut – and when he goes on the wagon he gets really sick. Maybe wean yourself down gradually? Just a thought. Everybody is different.

    My honkey tonk badonkadonk. – Ha – too funny.

     
  2. unwriter1

    December 18, 2008 at 9:30 pm

    You’re doing friday? Then do you want mine on Saturday? If coffee slows the metabolism down, I should be going in reverse! Oh wait, I am. My next birthday I’ll be 38.

     
  3. Jan Verhoeff

    December 19, 2008 at 12:55 am

    Kat,

    This isn’t the first time I’ve heard of God answering prayers in an unusual fashion, but I’ll tell ya, His sense of humor sometimes takes me by surprise.

    I wasn’t aware that coffee/caffiene slows the matabolism, but I’ve known for a long time that it dehydrates your blood, often causing your feet to swell or bad blood to reside in your feet and lower legs. It’s terrible, some of the bad things that coffee causes for some people.

    Jan

     
  4. Holly Jahangiri

    December 19, 2008 at 12:58 am

    Kat? Where do you get this notion that caffeine slows your metabolism?

    http://www.coffeefaq.com/site/node/6

     
  5. Ginger

    December 19, 2008 at 1:03 am

    Hey Kat,
    Let’s challenge each other to lose weight. My sis and I signed up for the biggest loser challenge…we’d try for the show, but we wouldn’t be that lucky and would probably die during the first week. I’ll bet my ba-donk-a-donk is bigger than yours. 🙂

    Ginger

     
  6. Katrina Wampler

    December 19, 2008 at 1:14 am

    Holly,

    After my 3rd heart attack and my long battle with my weight, my nutritionist forbid me to drink coffee due to it’s negative effects on your health and weight. As you can tell, I don’t follow directions well. I can tell you that at any point I give up caffeine, there is a definite change in the way my body burns fat/calories. Hopefully it’s all in my head and if so, don’t destroy my delusions of grandeur.

    Ginger, I am all for a weight loss challenge. I know my heart can’t take the weight I’m at. After 3 MI’s I’m in a lot of danger of another one. I have prinzmetal angina and any added stress (weight) could be deadly.

    And yes, Jan…God’s sense of humor is amazing.

     
  7. Holly Jahangiri

    December 19, 2008 at 1:50 am

    I suspect if you’ve got heart damage, the caffeine stresses your heart and that offsets any metabolic gain an otherwise healthy person might get from caffeine. Besides, any gain is pretty negligible; I’d just never heard of it slowing metabolism, certainly not absent other health problems.

    I used to never, ever be without a cup of coffee at hand. I could still drink a 12-cup pot and go straight to sleep. BUT – here’s the cool discovery I made when I was disciplined and dedicated to weight loss: If you’re properly hydrated, odds are, you won’t even WANT the coffee. So drink your two liters of water a day (not all at once – aim for 8 ozs. an hour, unless your doctor has recommended otherwise – after all, if you’re on diuretics and potassium supplements for your heart, messing with your fluid intake can mess with your electrolytes). But try to get most of your fluids from pure, clean water (maybe add a spritz of lemon for flavor – nothing more). Be religious about it, and I think you’ll be pleasantly surprised at how little you miss that coffee.

    Oh, coffee itself is a diuretic, so do keep that in mind before you go cold turkey on it after three heart attacks.

     
  8. Ginger

    December 19, 2008 at 1:59 am

    So, Kat…email me at mizging2003@yahoo.com and let’s try this together. Maybe having someone to inspire me will help…I’m willing to give it a try, but I’m sure not sharing my weight publicly. 🙂

    Ginger

     
  9. Deb Hockenberry

    December 19, 2008 at 11:44 am

    Katrina,
    I’m in with you guys on the weight loss challenge!! I’ve been drinking d-caf for years but my neurologist tells me that there’s caffeine in that too. So, I’m supposed to give up caffeine completely. I am having loads of trouble giving up my evening hot cup of tea. Now, my PCP has me on a diet for high cholesterol! I’m going to start this seriously after Christmas.

    I’ve been battling my weight for years now with just a little success. Maybe this time.

    As for the broken coffee pot? God works in mysterious ways.

     
  10. CJParker

    December 19, 2008 at 4:31 pm

    I decided to cut way back on my coffee a while back. I was finishing off two 10-cup pots a day. Yup. Waaay too much. So one day I just didn’t drink any. None. How hard can it be? Right? It’s just coffee. The next day I alowed myself a couple of cups because I had a brain numbing headache. The next day…I had a heart attack.

    The moral of my story. ASK YOUR DOCTOR. Mine told me to cut it down to one pot a day for about two weeks. The next week, to cut it down to five cups. The next week, two cups a day. Now I drink a cup every once in a while on those days I just can’t get started.

    Be smart. Talk to your doctor. Prayer is good. It’s always good to have God’s help. I’m driving Him nuts with the weight loss prayer myself. I keep hoping He’ll get sick of hearing me whine, and I’ll wake up thin. LOL
    Char

     
  11. Katrina Wampler

    December 19, 2008 at 5:25 pm

    Hahaha….that is so funny. I keep thinking if He can turn water to wine and part the seas, certainly He can shave a few pounds of each hip and do something about this chest I’m carrying around. HUGE….hahaha

    Anyway, we will seriously work on putting together a program for this. Give me a couple days to mull it over and get back to everyone and we’ll get started.

     

Leave a Reply

 
