RSS

Lynn McMonigal takes a bow!

19 Dec

christmas2007Alright all you aspiring authors, new authors and especially you seasoned ones. It is with great honor and pride that I am able to introduce to you today someone I have come to love and admire.  She’s a mom, a wife, a sister in Christ, amazing blogger, wonderful friend and now…. (drum roll, please)…now she is among the finest as she takes a bow. I introduce a brand new published author!!

Lynn McMonigal

I couldn’t sleep last night as I shared in Lynn’s excitement. I know the feeling of seeing your very own name printed on the front of the book you’ve poured yourself into for so long.  It is such a pleasure to have Lynn joining us today on Kat Logic. Let’s jump on in and get started.

Katrina:  Thank you so much for being here today.  As I mentioned, this is your very first novel. Tell us a little bit about how you’re feeling write now as you hold “Forsaking the Call” in your hands.

Lynn:  am not sure there are words to describe it!  When the UPS man gave me the package, I had to fight not to throw my arms around him!  My hands were shaking when I opened it and pulled the book out of that envelope.  It felt like I was in a dream.  I called my mom right away, and then emailed my best friend Lori.  I danced around the house with the book.  My 19-month-old son looked at me like I was crazy!  When my husband came home from work and I was able to tell him about it, I told him I felt better than I did when our kids were born—“I couldn’t happy dance after the c-sections!”  I remember my dad asking me, in the sarcastic-proud way that is Dad, “What’s the big deal?  It’s a book.  You’ve seen those before.”  I was crying and could barely choke out the words, “But it’s the first one with my name printed on the cover.”  I feel happy, proud, blessed.  Seeing my name on the front of a book is such a dream come true.

Katrina:  (smiling and extending a hug) How does your family feel about you now being a published author?

Lynn:  I (asked) the question to my two oldest sons as they were getting dressed for school this morning.  They both smiled and said, “I feel great about it, Mommy.”  Andru, my oldest, has been telling everyone he sees, “My Mommy published a book.  Forsaking the Call.  You should buy it.”  And I do mean everyone—teachers, school friends, grocery store clerks.  His excitement about the book gets to me.  I am not sure I liked the comment he made about wanting to be a writer like Mommy instead of having “a real job” like Daddy when he grows up…. 

My husband has told me how proud he is of me.  I have battled depression for years, and he said he has never seen me as happy and focused as I have been since I learned Forsaking the Call was going to be published.  This has actually helped him to be more supportive of my writing time.  We have been sharing the household chores with less arguing and he is even taking over all parenting duties at least once a week—which I appreciate more than I know as he works 10 hours a day in a hot shop and would rather just rest when he gets home—so that I can write.

And then there’s my parents….  They have listened to me talking and dreaming about writing for more than half of my life.  Now they are sharing in my excitement over it.  I showed the book to my mom after she gave me a tour of the house they are remodeling.  She took the book out of my hands and took over to the crew working in her kitchen.  “This is my daughter’s new book,” she told them.  She hugged me and I am not sure which of us cried more.  Dad, well, he is a man!  He is not known for showing his emotion much.  He didn’t say much more than, “Good for you,” when he saw the book, but I know him well enough to read his face.  I could tell he was as happy and proud as Mom.

And I can’t talk about my family without mentioning how supportive my church family has been.  On Sunday morning, the pastor’s wife called me to the front of the church.  She presented me with a beautiful, glittering, pink poinsettia plant and congratulated me on the book in front of everyone.  Mom even stood up and said, “In case you don’t know, that’s my baby!”  And my oldest sons joined in with, “Yay, Mommy!”  It was touching.

Katrina: Tell us a bit about your family and yourself.  

Lynn:  Talking about myself is not something I am good at.  I can talk about my kids, my parents, my books without a problem, but talking about me….  The words do not come so easy.  But I will try.

I am 32-years-old and live in Jackson, MI.  I’ve lived here basically my whole life and can’t really imagine living anywhere else.  My husband and I met in Mr. Mueller’s homeroom at Parkside Junior High School on the first day of 7th grade, though it took a few years for us to really even become friends.  Our first date was to our Jackson High School Senior Prom in 1994.  We were married 6 years later.

John and I have three sons; Andru is 7, Robin is 5, and Seth is 19 months.  With three rambunctious boys, we rarely have quiet moments in our house!  But I can’t imagine life any other way.  Those boys are just the best blessings God could have bestowed on me.  Sometimes, like when they are fighting or Seth is trying to climb the Christmas tree, I have to verbally remind myself that they are blessings!

A normal night at home involves Mommy being a jungle gym!  Seth loves to climb on me, and Dru and Robby often argue about who is going to sit closer to me as I write.  I like to listen to the boys read to me, and we often do puzzles together.  The boys love computer games.  We often play the hidden object games we find on-line together.  The boys like to see if they can find things before I can find them.

Katrina:  We’re all dieing to hear about your new book and I’m sure you’re dieing to tell us.  Who are the main characters? ftcfinalcoverWhat are their conflicts?

Lynn:  Forsaking the Call is loosely based on the life of my best friend’s husband.  When she first told me about his involvement in the church and the end of that involvement, I knew the story needed to be told.  I just needed to find a way to do it that would not make him feel judged or uncomfortable. 

The book is about Joel and Hannah Hawkins.   Things in his past have really soured Joel on church and God.  He has made a good life for himself, his wife, and their twins without the help of God.  He sees no reason to have God in his life at all.  Hannah works in the NICU at the local hospital.  She begins to wonder about God through the miracles she sees in the lives of the babies she works with and through the life of her best friend, Connie.  When she finds herself on bed rest due to a very difficult pregnancy, Hannah’s interest in God and the Bible grows.  This causes a huge rift between Hannah and Joel.

Katrina:  What has been your greatest challenge in seeing this book completed? 

Lynn:  My greatest challenge….  Gosh.  I think it was probably just believing that my manuscript was good enough.  I like it and I am pleased with it, but will others feel the same way?  In some ways, I have felt like I am wasting my time putting together something that no one else will care about.  Even as I answer these questions, I am unsure if I should be doing it.

Katrina:  What has been your greatest blessing?

Lynn:  The greatest blessing is just knowing that I can give back to the people who have supported me over the years.  I dedicated this book to the four people who have been my biggest cheering section, the ones who have believed in me and pushed me on, even when I didn’t believe in myself.  It was the only way that I knew they would allow me to repay them for always being there.

The greatest blessing, though, is what I am doing for my church.  My writing would not be possible without the gifts God has given me.  To thank Him, I have pledged all of the profits from my book for the first two months it is in print to the church.  It’s not much, but it is great to be able to do it.

Katrina:   Where did you come up with the idea of the cover?

Lynn:  Out of sheer desperation!!  Originally, what I wanted for the cover was a lot different.  I wanted to depict Hannah and her children coming toward God while Joel was keeping his back turned.  Unfortunately, this was easier said than done!  An artist friend was not able to produce a picture that she was pleased with and my photographer sister was not able to take the picture I had in mind.  One day I was cleaning my craft room and thought, “Why not scrapbook the cover?”  I am not creative enough with my scrapbooking to make the design I had in mind at first, but I thought a cross on a hill would work.  I pulled out a few papers and began working on it.  What you see on the cover now is a combination of my scrapbooked page and the graphic design talents of Hilarie Mallette (love you, sis!).
 
 Please be sure to visit Lynn’s BLOG and congratulate her. Also, she’ll be stopping in out today to answer questions and just say hello to you all. Please show her lots of love in the comments section here on Kat Logic.
Great job, Lynn and congratulations. You certainly deserve and what a Christmas present to yourself, huh? My cowboy hat’s off to ya’!

View an excerpt from Forsaking the Call. Please be sure to come back and leave a comment with your thoughts.   You can purchase your very own copy of Forsaking the Call by visiting Amazon and Creating Space.

 
29 Comments

Posted by on December 19, 2008 in encouragement

 

29 responses to “Lynn McMonigal takes a bow!

  1. unwriter1

    December 19, 2008 at 3:30 pm

    This looks like a real good book. I know the author has a real good imagination and to prove it, check my blog, http://unwriter1.wordpress.com tomorrow.

     
  2. Lynn McMonigal

    December 19, 2008 at 3:53 pm

    Aww, thanks!! I am happy to be here. God is just so good!!!

     
  3. Lori

    December 19, 2008 at 4:16 pm

    I have read this book and it is wonderful!!

     
  4. Katie Hines

    December 19, 2008 at 4:23 pm

    Great article. I caught Lynn’s enthusiasm, and look forward to being in her shoes when my first book comes out in May, 2009. Congratulations, and here’s a toast to much success! (picture: arm raised with champagne glass in hand)

     
  5. Jennifer Reynolds

    December 19, 2008 at 4:32 pm

    AwESOME!!! Way to Go Lynn! Thanks katrina for helping her get out there some more. The publicity is a good thing for now. <<>>

     
  6. Marvin D Wilson

    December 19, 2008 at 4:37 pm

    Wonderful interview. Congrats, Lynn, on your first book! I had to smile when I read how elated you were when the UPS guy delivered you brand new baby. LOL Been there, for sure. When I first held my first book in my hands I was somewhere well above seventeenth heaven. Best wishes for your career, and Kat – nice job with this interview and post!

     
  7. Beth

    December 19, 2008 at 4:38 pm

    Congrats Lynn! So, when’s The Ladies of Faith coming out? 🙂 I am so happy for you and proud of you too! And don’t forget, when I nag you for more reading material, I am just trying to be motivation! lol! Really, I am so happy for you! A dream come true!

     
  8. Kimber

    December 19, 2008 at 4:38 pm

    Congrats, Lynn! You deserve this, kiddo! So happy for you!

     
  9. Angela Klocke

    December 19, 2008 at 4:45 pm

    Wonderful interview!

     
  10. Lynn McMonigal

    December 19, 2008 at 5:04 pm

    Thank you, Katie and Marvin, for your well wishes. Does the excitement every go away? Will it be like this everytime I hold a new book of mine? Because this is not likely to be the last one!

     
  11. Lynn McMonigal

    December 19, 2008 at 5:22 pm

    Beth,

    The Ladies of Faith still needs some work!!! But I am hoping to have it ready for release in June!

     
  12. Lynn McMonigal

    December 19, 2008 at 5:45 pm

    Want to know what I will be doing next? I have two novel drafts that I am working on right now. One is called Summertime. Based on two songs from my favorite boy band, it is the story of what happens when a pop singer gets tired of “the rock star life” and begins to look for something more meaningful. The other is The Ladies of Faith, about a women’s Bible study and the secrets the ladies are keeping from each other.

     
  13. Hilarie

    December 19, 2008 at 6:47 pm

    Congrats, Lynn! I know you’ve wanted this for a long time. I’m happy for you.

     
  14. Katrina Wampler

    December 19, 2008 at 7:30 pm

    Okay folks. Two lucky viewers will receive an autographed copy of Forsaking the Call. There’s a catch, of course.

    You’ll need to post a question or a comment here (if you haven’t already) and one tomorrow on http://unwriter1.wordpress.com/ . Lynn will who receives the free books.

    The winner will need to post a review on their BLOG as well as agree to be interviewed by Kat Logic on their perception of Forsaking the Call.

    Now, with that being said…let’s hear those questions and comments.

     
  15. Steve Doyle

    December 19, 2008 at 7:44 pm

    Lynn & Kat, that was a great interview. My friend, Author A.P Fuchs, would be proud of Andru. One of the first pieces of marketing advice Fuchs shares with new authors is: “Tell everyone and his monkey about your book.”

    I wish you all the best.

     
  16. Rae

    December 19, 2008 at 8:52 pm

    Congrats Lynn! I am so excited for you. It is so awesome to see you fulfilling your dream. And better yet, to know that you realize God’s hand in it all. I can’t wait to get a copy and begin reading it. Then I can let others know how awesome the book is and to go out and buy it!

     
  17. Joan Maze

    December 19, 2008 at 9:33 pm

    How exciting to see your first book. Though I’m sure there’ll be many more, the first one is very special, a time in your life to cherish. I definitely want to read the book.

    Joan Maze

     
  18. Karen E. Sexton

    December 19, 2008 at 11:09 pm

    I just read your interview, Lynn, and I just want to say “congratulations” – God has blessed you with many talents! I am very happy for you! – Karen “E”

     
  19. Kimberli

    December 20, 2008 at 1:07 am

    Congrats on your new book! I know that feeling of seeing your name on the cover for the first time. Blessings to you! Sincerely – Kimberli

     
  20. Margaret Tanner

    December 20, 2008 at 1:49 am

    Hi Lynn,
    I just wanted to drop by and share your joy. It is such a wonderful feeling to hold your very own book in your hands, to touch and smell it. Congratulations from me here in Australia. Sounds like a great story and I wish you every success with it.

    Margaret Tanner

     
  21. Carol

    December 20, 2008 at 3:42 am

    Congratulations, Lynn! Your success gives hope to the rest of us! Enjoy your holiday with this wonderful gift!

     
  22. Ginger

    December 20, 2008 at 3:46 am

    Wonderful and touching interview. You sound like a wonderful person and mother, and I’m very happy you’ve achieved ‘published’ status. It’s truly a feeling that only another author could understand, and consider that you are lucky to have such family support. I envy you. My family thinks I just play on the computer all day. 😦

    Best of the season to you and yours. May God provide you with a wonderful New Year.

    Ginger

     
  23. Lynn McMonigal

    December 20, 2008 at 11:14 am

    I am beyond touched by all of the comments today and yesterday. As a first time author, I dodn’t know how many people would be interested in finding out more about me and my work. God truly has blessed me with all of you. Thank you from the bottom of my heart. Have a very Mery CHRISTmas!!!

     
  24. Lynn McMonigal

    December 20, 2008 at 5:08 pm

    Forgive me!!! My mother just corrected me. She didn’t say “That’s my baby” she said “That’s my kid”!!

     
  25. Jennifer (Cupcakegirl)

    December 20, 2008 at 5:53 pm

    Congrats! It must be a great feeling to hold that book in your hands and see your artwork and name on the cover! I heard about this book over at CafeMom and I hope I am not too late to enter the contest for a signed copy! It sounds like a really great read…I wish you great success!
    Cupcakegirl.

     
  26. Katrina Wampler

    December 20, 2008 at 6:08 pm

    Certainly you are not. Be sure to head over to her interview today and post a comment there as well.

     
  27. Stephanie Scevers

    December 20, 2008 at 8:35 pm

    Lynn,

    I am so THRILLED for you! The book looks really super. I can’t wait to read it from cover to cover. Good job putting those scrapbook supplies to good ues–very creative! 🙂

    Enjoy this success. Here’s to MANY more!!
    hugs,
    Stephanie

     
  28. Michael McMonigal

    December 23, 2008 at 4:20 am

    Lynn

    Congrats on your new novel! I knew you could do it! Erik, Mike, Nala, (cat), Lily (kitten) all say WAY TO GO!!!!!!!!!! We all wish you great success. 🙂 The cats are just so happy for you MEOW, MEOW, MEOW.

     
  29. Katrina Wampler

    December 23, 2008 at 5:04 am

    aaaaahhhhhhhh…….

    Pass the tissue.

     

Leave a Reply

 
