RSS

Amber Miller & Deceptive Promises

24 Dec

Given the holidays , we’ll make today’s post short and sweet. Please join me in once again welcoming Amber Miller to Kat Logic.  Amber is the author of new release Deceptive Promises.  I’ll recap a little about  intriguing new novel.deceptive_lg2

Is deception fair in wartime? Margret Scott finds she must deal with this question as she becomes attracted to the enigmatic Samuel Lowe. As the tensions grow between the colonists and the British soldiers and loyalists, Margret struggles to determine where Samuel’s loyalties lie, despite his reassurances that they lie with the colonists. Samuel’s duties have him working for both sides of this war, and he is often torn between what is right and what is wrong. He promises Margret she can trust him, and Margret promises him she does. But can promises born in deception be trusted? Can relationships built in uncertainty survive?

Katrina:  Welcome back Amber. I’m curious. How do you come up with the names you use in your books?

Amber:  Quite often, I just go with what comes to mind, or I use a Baby Name book that also provides scriptural and ethnicity meanings. I might have a certain origin for a character and search for names from that country.

Katrina:  And what about the cover? This is a marvelous cover. How did you decide on the design?

Amber:  That is handled by the fantastic design team at Barbour. So far, I’ve been thrilled with the covers they’ve produced. I am sent a questionnaire to complete and asked to send any photos, and the design team goes to work. As of right now, they are 3 for 3 in my mind!

Katrina:  Who is your publisher and how did you come to be acquainted with them?

Amber:  That is handled by the fantastic design team at Barbour. So far, I’ve been thrilled with the covers they’ve produced. I am sent a questionnaire to complete and asked to send any photos, and the design team goes to work. As of right now, they are 3 for 3 in my mind!

Katrina:  When you’re writing, do you already have in mind how the story will end even at the beginning of the writing process or do the stories take on a life of their own?

Amber:  Specifically, not always. I have a general idea from start to finish, but I’m an intuitive writer who likes to let the story and the characters write the book. It’s more of an adventure that way and keeps me from being bored. So, yes, the book takes on a life all its own when I write, and I have a blast writing them.

Katrina:  If you weren’t writing, what would you be doing?

Amber:  I would likely be teaching somewhere, as I have a teaching degree for elementary age students. I did that for a few years after college, but it didn’t bring me anywhere near the joy that being an author does. I also have a business in web site design, so I might simply switch to that full-time if I didn’t have writing to share the career spot.

Katrina:  Thank you for taking time this holiday season to stop by Kat Logic and share a little about your writing career. We look forward to chatting with you again Friday. Until then, Happy Holidays and a blessed New Year!

**********************************************************

Don’t forget to add your nomination for 2009’s Most Influential Women to follow.

 
4 Comments

Posted by on December 24, 2008 in encouragement

 

4 responses to “Amber Miller & Deceptive Promises

  1. joylene

    December 24, 2008 at 9:16 pm

    The cover is beautiful, the story sounds intriguing. Best of luck in the New Year, Amber. It’s always fascinating hearing how others handle their craft.

    Merry Christmas.

     
  2. Tiffany (Amber Miller) Stockton

    December 25, 2008 at 7:34 pm

    Thanks, Joylene. I’m not sure which cover of the 3 I have so far is my favorite. I’ve been so pleased with all of them. And I love the spy aspect of this story. There were a few surprises that I didn’t anticipate, so it was fun to see how the characters got out of those fixes. 🙂

    It’ll be fun to come back Saturday for the conclusion of this interview.

    Merry Christmas.

     
  3. Joan Maze

    December 25, 2008 at 9:31 pm

    Sounds fascinating. I love stories about the Revolution, especially when there’s inner conflict regarding both sides, in addition to the romance.

    Joan

     
  4. Tiffany (Amber Miller) Stockton

    December 30, 2008 at 5:53 pm

    Well, Joan…take some time to pick up a copy. It’s only available online at the moment, but it’s inexpensive as books go. That’s one of my favorites about these books…the price is so affordable. 🙂

     

Leave a Reply

 
