RSS

You have the floor!

29 Dec

ribbon2What are you waiting for? 2oo8 is coming to a screeching halt and 2009 is well on its way. Will we, the entire cyber family, be following you throughout 2009?

You’ve heard about it. We’re searching for the top 10 Most Influential Women to follow in 2009. We’ve got a long list of nominations already and we’ll be narrowing it down to just 10 during the first week in January.

For one full month, we will follow one of the chosen women. We’ll do BLOG tours, book reviews (if applicable), live podcast interviews, and many other things. The goal is to find the women with the most passion for life. The ones that have a heart to lead others and assist other women in living their best lives ever. Women we want our children to follow. We’ll find out what these women give their energy to and showcase them each for a month. Each one will also receive a spot in one newsletter to tell the world about their businesses, their charitable passions, their new releases, etc. Their choice.

If you haven’t nominated anyone, now’s your chance. BUT…if YOU’VE been nominated, this is your time to tell US why you are an influential women to follow in 2009. Don’t be shy. Tell us where your heart is. Tell us what makes you tick, what keeps you moving through the trials and difficulties. Tell us how far you’ve come and where you’re headed. Help us decide who the top 10 women should be!

Here are the list of nominees thus far (in no specific order):

Now, you have the floor.

 
77 Comments

Posted by on December 29, 2008 in encouragement

 

77 responses to “You have the floor!

  1. Marvin D Wilson

    December 29, 2008 at 11:28 pm

    I would’ve nominated Joyce Anthony but someone(s) already beat me to the punch. Good luck getting her to toot HER horn. She’s WAY to modest. (smile)

    Would’ve voted for you too, sweets – but you of course kept yourself out of the contest.

    Only One Love,
    Marvin

     
  2. Katrina Wampler

    December 29, 2008 at 11:30 pm

    Love the “Only One Love” thing…what’s up with that?
    Thanks for the compliment….you know I love ya. And of course, Joyce deserves this award.

     
  3. unwriter1

    December 29, 2008 at 11:50 pm

    Yes, Joyce does deserve this award, but I put you in too and you should be in the list girl! We’ll have two top winners, you and Joyce.

    ron

     
  4. Lynn McMonigal

    December 29, 2008 at 11:54 pm

    Joyce gets my vote, too!!! Even though my name is on that list, I am pulling for Joyce. She is a wonderful lady and a great inspiration. She totally deserves this.

    Lynn

     
  5. Vivian

    December 30, 2008 at 12:26 am

    Katrina, you posted that we were to tell about ourselves if we’re a nominee.

    I’m not good in popularity contests of any kind. I do my best to be the kind of person I should be, run an honest business, protect and promote my authors and illustrators, write to the best of my ability and help others do the same.

    When I do see injustice, especially if it affects someone else, I’ll speak out. If I’m wrong, I try to make things right.

    I’m me. I don’t know what else I can say.

     
  6. Katrina Wampler

    December 30, 2008 at 12:37 am

    Well Vivian, that is exactly what makes you a wonderful candidate for this honor. We will be using several platforms to decide the top 10 for the main reason that we do NOT want this to be a popularity contest.

    While votes from readers will count, they will have the least weight. More on that later.

    Thanks for letting us know why you’re deserving of this title…and rest assured, you are.

     
  7. Ginger Simpson

    December 30, 2008 at 12:37 am

    There are so many people who aren’t good at tooting their own horn, you probably won’tl get responses from some of the group. I think it might have been better to ask other people to post what they know about the nominees. Of course, you already have my long list of the ways in which my candidate has influenced my life. Whether she wins here or not, she’ll always be my heroine.

     
  8. Lea Schizas

    December 30, 2008 at 12:41 am

    Hello, Katrina, and everyone else. And thank you for the opportunity you are giving to all the exceptional women who have been voted.

    Many who know me realize the time, effort, and 100% commitment and passion I put in to offer what I can to all writers out there. And not for a fee. I do charge for my editing, a modest fee, but my clients will tell you that I don’t go over their manuscripts once–we go chapter by chapter until we’re both satisfied it’s the best it can be before we move on to the next chapter. I’m more like a royalty-free agent, helping them locate publishers, as well.

    I host an annual FREE conference, putting in about 6 months of preparation for it each year, communicating with all of the generous Presenters who offer their own time and experience during the one week this conference is held.

    It’s hard to talk about oneself like Vivian wrote above.

    The one thing I can honestly say about me is that I have a deep passion for what I do. Time spent answering emails of ‘please help me with this, Lea’ are times when I feel satisfied as a person. I do what I can and when that email comes in telling me, “Guess what, Lea, I got published!” I can’t even begin to tell you how proud I am of these authors because I was there from the start and have seen their transformation from newbie to published writer.

    The communities I founded (several Yahoo groups) are proof that writers are generous souls, and you, dear Kat, are proof with what you are accomplishing with this amazing nomination.

    Thank you for the opportunity to meet the other ladies and looking forward reading about them.

     
  9. Kay Green

    December 30, 2008 at 12:49 am

    I find it difficult to post about my self, but since I am nominated I guess I need to.

    My passion is God, family and children. My business spills over into Children’s safety. My heart is to educate parents on how they can keep their children safe each and every day. My search for products that protect children is what started by business. My online business had grown over 7 years to include 3 employees and a retail store now.

    I am a mom of 4 ( ages 26, 23, 21, and 8). I have been married nearly 30 years to my high school sweetheart. Our youngest is 8 and has some special needs. I am Nana to Madison 2 and expecting twin grandsons in June. I love more than anything having my house filled with my friends and family.

    God has given me love and compassion for young moms just starting out. I get to love on them and encourage them and tell them they are doing a great job. I do that locally through a weekly Mommy2Mommy class that I teach. Online I do that whenever I can. (yahoogroups, twitter, etc)

    In business I love to help new busienss owners get started. Currently I met a young mom with a local baby boutique near me. I am enjoying helping her find the resources to build a web site to increase her income from her darling boutique.

    Online I run a Christian women in business group called 1christianwahm at yahoogroups. There we talk about business subjects, share prayer requests and rejoice over what God is accomplishing in all of us.

    I also love researching and finding correct information to share with other busienss owners. I have done that with merchant account, PCI compliance and recently with the new CPSIA laws). I want to help small business owners know the truth about what affects their business.

     
  10. Lea Schizas

    December 30, 2008 at 1:05 am

    Kay, you sound almost like my twin. I’m a mom of five-15, 25 (twins), 27, 30–married my high school sweetie, and we’ve been together now for 35 years.

     
  11. Katrina Wampler

    December 30, 2008 at 1:23 am

    Ginger…I agree with you. When I asked folks to nominate someone, I asked them to include a summary as to why they are nominating that person. We will be taking those into account as well.

    We want to know what each person is passionate about…..what they live for. Some of the links and web sites make it hard to really determine what each nominee stands for. I’m sure there will be some candidates that simply can’t answer this for obvious reasons, but for those that can (thank you, Vivian, Lea andKay), it makes it easier for us to really get to know the person.

    Each person in their own right deserves to be on this list. I appreciate everyone taking the time to allow us to get to the know them just a little better.

     
  12. Ginger Simpson

    December 30, 2008 at 2:45 am

    Lea is far too modest. Besides all the things she does for authors and readers, she also unselfishly devotes her time heightening awareness about autism. As a grandmother to a young lad afflicted with disabilities attributed to the autism umbrella, I truly appreciate anything that can be done to help determine what causes this disease that now affects one in 150 births as opposed to one in thousands. Awareness is keen to finding a cure or preventative, and I applaud Lea for all she does to help make this happen. Kudos to Litsa Kamateros, another author who pairs with Lea in this wonderful effort. Ladies, if I wore a hat, I would truly take it off to you. 🙂 Take a peek at their mission statement:
    http://www.theautismepidemic.com/ourmission.htm

     
  13. Katrina Wampler

    December 30, 2008 at 3:17 am

    Thank you so much Ginger for offering more of an insight to Lea’s efforts. What an absolute honor to have her as well as the other moms here on Kat Logic. I , too take my hat off to you all.

     
  14. Amber

    December 30, 2008 at 4:28 am

    I recognize the names of a lot of the nominees. Good to see them all get a shot at it!

     
  15. joyceanthony

    December 30, 2008 at 5:39 am

    Truthfully, I’m not sure I belong on this list–these women are awesome!! I guess my passion is most concentrated on children and animals. I have raised a special needs child and seen him blossom with homeschooling and art. I work with StopItNow (an organizarion to prevent childhood sexual abuse) and Alley Cat Allies (they work with feral cat colonies). I’ve taught parenting classes to parents of bipolar children, am an advocate for both Asperger’s and bipolar children (blogs on both will go live by February) and answer questions as a bipolar expert on AllExperts.com I’ve been told I have this wish to save the whole world, which isn’t really so-I just believe no child should have to live in fear and no animal should be abused and hungry. I also do what I can to help other authors get some exposure.

     
  16. Katrina Wampler

    December 30, 2008 at 5:50 am

    And that, Joyce, makes you as deserving as anyone else on this list. Thanks for stopping by.

     
  17. Vivian

    December 30, 2008 at 4:26 pm

    I want to add my support to Lea.I’ve know few people who are so giving and helpful and talented.

     
  18. Michelle Rothwell

    December 30, 2008 at 9:46 pm

    My vote is for Natalie Grant. This is mainly because of her inspiration she gives through her music and commitment to helping the world through the non profits she supports. I love seeing people use their talents for the Lord.

    Thanks for letting me put in my two cents,
    Michelle

     
  19. Lea Schizas

    December 31, 2008 at 12:40 am

    What I am loving about this is to read about all the incredible women out there. Who said we were the inferior sex? GRIN

    I’d also like to add a bit about Joyce and Vivian.

    I met Joyce a few years ago and have to say how much she’s grown not only as a writer but as a person who has gone out of her way to help promote other writers.

    Vivian amazes me because as a publisher, mother, wife, grandmother, you’d figure here’s this frail woman who allows others to dominate her decisions. Boy, can you ever be so wrong. She knows what she wants for her publishing house, for her authors, the direction of getting all of her authors names out there and then goes full force.

    To me, both of these women, along with the other ladies I’ve had the pleasure of looking over their websites, are already women for everyone to be on the lookout for.

     
  20. Katrina Wampler

    December 31, 2008 at 12:50 am

    I couldn’t agree more. Very well put. Each of these women are most definitely women to be followed in 2009. I can’t wait to see who the top 10 chosen women will be and how their year will be shaped.

    I believe this to be an incredible journey for us all.

     
  21. Susan Kildahl

    December 31, 2008 at 5:11 pm

    I wanted to thank you for having me on this amazing list! I am getting to “meet” so many just with my inclusion. I took some time to think about what I find are my best attributes. I am not just a coach as my profession-it is a part of my inner workings as a human. My hope is that by “tooting my own horn” then I can also contribute to those that don’t know me and are now reading about me. Much of my points below are based on what my clients tell me but also what I am mindful about for myself.

    I am a business strategy coach. I would have to say the first attribute that defines me as a coach is that I am purposefully honest with my clients. No two clients get coached the same, even if they hire me together. I coach each business person based on their personality and what they are willing to do and what they are dealing with.

    The next attribute I pride myself on is my “what you see is what you get” personality. I do not believe in a public face vs. a private face. I am always Susan-one face fits all! There is no hidden pretense with me. My clients know that, trust that and believe that I am authentic. Whether you catch me coaching, speaking in public to a group, at happy hour, ice fishing or even at home…I am just the me that you can count on always seeing. That includes goofy, dorky, silly, playful, fun and yes..wicked smart when it comes to building strategies to get YOU motivated to move forward in your business instead of backward.

    Katrina, thanks for making me also think about how much I love what I do and how much my clients make me a better person. Sometimes we all get so busy working and working to get clients that we don’t take time to appreciate the basics.

    Susan Kildahl, Strategy Coach
    http://www.coachedbysusan.com

     
  22. Cynthia Carrese

    December 31, 2008 at 5:42 pm

    Susan Kildahl gave me 1 free coaching session and afterwards I felt like I had permission to ask anyone for business. I was inhibiting myself all of these years from being more assertive and learning to network smarter!

    Thank you Susan, you are so awe inspiring…

     
  23. Donna J. Shepherd

    December 31, 2008 at 7:24 pm

    Wonderful list. I recognize many of those names. Congrats to all the nominees.

     
  24. Masturah Gharibyar

    December 31, 2008 at 8:42 pm

    I hired Susan Kildahl as my business coach last year, and I would recommend her to anyone. I feel like she helped me to truly come out of my shell, and she really helped me to recognize my strengths and capitalize on them. She is also a life coach and incorporates this into her coaching, so she helps you to work through personal issues that may also be inhibiting you from succeeding in business. I feel like if you talked to me before vs. now you would see such a change, and that is just my inner strength shining through, which I would not have been able to recognize without her help. This has positively affected all areas of my life, and I am so grateful to her.

    Thank you so much Susan, if anyone deserves this it is you…

     
  25. Jonathan Manske

    January 1, 2009 at 4:02 pm

    I am very grateful to Susan Kildahl. She created and helped me to implement a strategy for getting new clients that has made a world of difference for me and my business. She is very good at what she does. It is obvious that she really does want to make people’s lives better.

     
  26. Kathryn Severns Avery

    January 1, 2009 at 4:44 pm

    Susan’s coaching certainly helped my business! By assisting me in defining what services I offer, how I offer them, and helping me move forward by being accountable, I am now booked to present a workshop in Austin, TX at the end of January. I know it wouldn’t have happened without the changes in my business thinking that I can directly attribute to working with Susan.

     
  27. Katrina Wampler

    January 1, 2009 at 4:57 pm

    Susan sure sounds awesome! Can’t wait to get to know her better! Thank you all for sharing your thoughts.

     
  28. Floyd Brandt

    January 1, 2009 at 11:09 pm

    Susan is a great inspiration to me, her kindness and leadership has put me on the right track. For months I had been trying to go to her networking meet ups and she never forgot me. I am very new to being a business owner, I know with her help I will succeed.

     
  29. Lisa Johnson

    January 2, 2009 at 3:12 am

    I’m amazed that I’m nominated. I have this little project that I really believe in and it’s growing and I can feel the momentum . . . I’ve always wanted to help people and I do, every day, in my Pilates studio. We have about 150 clients who feel better and look better and are physically healthy because my studio http://www.modernpilatesboston.com exists.

    But this project, TwitterDoit.com is different, we’ve already reached over 400 people and that number is growing by hundreds daily. I just read a Cheryl Richardson quote, “let passion overcome your fear.” This project lets me help potentially hundreds of people and I’ll overcome my fear of techie things and a bit of shyness that I have.

    If you vote for me, it’ll be an honor and a validation. Thanks so much for just considering it.

     
  30. Greg

    January 2, 2009 at 3:29 am

    I think twitterdoit is a great idea and will help me stick to my goals and complete my to do lists in 2009. The fact that Lisa had this idea the Friday before Christmas, had the site up and running a week later, and has already gotten experts and a rapidly growing membership shows that other agree.

     
  31. Saralee Sky

    January 2, 2009 at 6:22 pm

    I have been in a Yahoo group with Kay Green for ~4 years. During that time I have watched her grow her business and learn new ways to reach more families with her child safety products. I have seen her expand her product line and grow her business so much she had to move her business out of her house! Kay is the ultimate professional. And she is willing to help others with all of her knowledge. She is a great mentor and role model. Her work ethic is amazing, as is her devotion to her family. Everyone has something to learn from Kay.

     
  32. Delia Coker

    January 2, 2009 at 6:43 pm

    I nominate Kay Green! Her help has put me where I am today in business and I cannot imagine without her kindness where my website would be today. She is kind, freely giving of advice, and very helpful to many ladies.

    She of all people deserve this award.

     
  33. Mona D.

    January 2, 2009 at 6:56 pm

    I am so excited to see that Kay Green has been nominated. She is first my friend and second my employer. I’ve been working for her at mypreciouskid.com for almost 2 years. She has been wonderful to work with! She has always said that her goal is to help moms work and still keep family the main focus of their lives. She is flexible with our schedules and our kids; she is generous with her time, resources, and herself. Where else can we pray together at work?

    Thanks Kay!
    Mona

     
  34. Denise Friedl

    January 2, 2009 at 7:03 pm

    I think that Kay Green has been a fabulous force in helping others with their businesses! Her advice and giving of herself has been such an inspiration.

    I second the motion, she deserves this award!

     
  35. Tiffany (Life on the Road: Home Business, Homeschool and Cats!)

    January 2, 2009 at 7:05 pm

    I wanted to chime in and add to the chorus of “We love Kay Green.” I met Kay through an intimate businesswomen’s group, and she has been a joy to all of us.

    She’s quick to help someone find an answer, brainstorm a solution, or just lend a supportive shoulder.

    I admire her as a businesswoman, as a mother, as a Christian, and as a human being.

    I will look forward to finding out more about some of these other neat women who’ve been nominated, but I’m sure we could all gain a lot from “following” Kay.

     
  36. Lucinda Uwate

    January 2, 2009 at 7:09 pm

    My vote is for Susan. I recently met her at one of her networking functions, she is full of energy and passion. Since then, I can see her willingness to help others grow and her genuine concern for people. I admire her qualities.
    Kindest regards,
    Lucinda

     
  37. Melissa M

    January 2, 2009 at 7:36 pm

    Kay or Mom as I like to call her is the best nominee I can think of. I am so proud to be called her daughter. She is such an incredible mentor to so many people in Business and Motherhood. She willingly but without judgment gives you advice and support whenever needed. It has been amazing to watch her business grow from 1 product to over 100. Her mission has stayed the same. A desire to protect children and inform parents.

     
  38. Katrina Wampler

    January 2, 2009 at 7:56 pm

    Thank you for your thoughts, Melissa. I am certain your mom is very proud of the daughter she’s raised.

     
  39. Carol Wilkinson

    January 2, 2009 at 8:18 pm

    Moving to a new state is challenging, but starting a business and moving to a new state at the same time can be daunting. So I was ecstatic to meet Susan Kildahl at a networking event, and it has paid off for me in many ways. It was like meeting a catalyst to jumpstart my business. Susan’s business approach is all encompassing, and she shares her knowledge, expertise and contacts generously. Plus, she she even invited me to celebrate Thanksgiving with her family, since I’m new to town.

    I’d like to congratulate all the nominees too! What great company to be in.
    Rgds,
    Carol

     
  40. Kay Green

    January 2, 2009 at 8:19 pm

    I am very proud of my daughter Melissa who works for me and is an amazing mom. I also have 2 other amazing employees that I am glad to call friends.

     
  41. Catherine Terry

    January 2, 2009 at 8:29 pm

    My vote is for Kay Green. As a business woman based at home, I have had the privilege of meeting up with Kay across the Internet for several years. She’s a wonder at helping other stay-at-home women start and run their business’. Kay has given her heart to God and children. Kay has been a definite blessing in my life.

     
  42. Carol Dike

    January 2, 2009 at 9:18 pm

    Kay Green is a very special person with an important influence. As the Mom of several kids with special challenges and different abilities, I have taken advantage of her child safety products to protect MY precious kids.

    But way above that, I am honored to call Kay, ‘friend’. We have been on-line friends for many years, but it was when I met her in person and spent several fun ‘ladies week-end out’ days with her that I truly knew what a loving, sincere, and beautiful person she truly is for real.

    I look forward to seeing all the great things Kay will do in 2009.

     
  43. Nancy

    January 2, 2009 at 11:24 pm

    I don’t think you can cast two votes, but I’d like to support both Vivian and Lea. They are terrific role models for people who’ve always wanted to write, but haven’t had the time to do it. Both are very supportive and willing to give time to new writers to help them realize their goals.

    Lea’s conference make all the difference to me between wishing I had a published novel and finally, this year, getting one. I can’t say enough good things about all the help Lea gives others and helps them see themselves in a positive light.

    Vivian is also a wonderful role model. She makes time for all of us. As a publisher she’s very approachable and right there being one of of the writers. I hope these ladies both win. They’re people we should watch in 2009 because they have a habit of making their dreams and the dreams of others come true.

    Nancy

     
  44. Kathryn Taylor

    January 2, 2009 at 11:41 pm

    I cast my vote unreservedly for Lea Schizas: writer, editor and muse for authors worldwide.

    Thanks Lea. You are an inspirational role model. Your excellent online writing conference; weekly ezines chocked full with insights, wisdom and information; easy-to-navigate website; and online writer’s groups that provide weekly critiques have all been invaluable in getting me to where I am today.

    I had a dream to be a published author; you gave that dream wings and taught me how to fly.

     
  45. Bobette Kyle

    January 3, 2009 at 12:38 am

    I’ve been a member of a small, private businesswomen’s networking group for six years. In that time, I’ve seen her tirelessly grow MyPreciousKid from an modest Website to what it is today — an incredible resource for baby and safety products, plus a “bricks and mortar” retail location. As she learns more, Kay always shares her knowledge with others and supports fellow businesswomen in any way she can. She does all of this while keeping her family high priority. Kay is — without reservation — highly deserving of this honor.

     
  46. Gloria Oren

    January 3, 2009 at 1:54 am

    Lea is there for her clan whenever she’s needed. She is always ready to help and offer the support needed. She does so much for us it is hard to follow in her footsteps but we are all taking baby steps because of the guidance and encouragement that Lea provides.

     
  47. Jan Verhoeff

    January 3, 2009 at 2:37 am

    Lea Schizas works terribly hard to keep up with her brood of faltering chicks… So, I’m going to have to vote for the noodle weilding mother hen of the Muse Online as the most influencial woman to follow in 2009. If any of you can keep up with her, have at it!

    I’ll give you heads up, if you’re following her and you’re still trying to decide where to get in line, you’re already lost in the crowd.

     
  48. Joan Maze

    January 3, 2009 at 2:47 am

    I vote for Lea Schizas, who not only is an award winning editor, but a really nice, caring person. I can’t say enough about her. She deserves to be top on this list.

     
  49. Jackie

    January 3, 2009 at 6:14 am

    I haveto give it to Christine Caine, although after looking through each of the sites there is a lot of influence out there.

    Christine Caine is really inspirational, motiational, funny and challanging. She makes it all so real and down to earth, and yet challanges you to go to the next level whle making you laugh on the way to getting there. I just finished reading her book A Life Unleased – talk about walking out your dreams! And before that, although it was a struggle for me – which I blogged the thirty day (nine month for me) journey of Stop Acting Like a Christian, Just Be One was such a challange to the faith I thought I had been practicing – but really needed to be living.
    She is an awesome speaker/preacher, very anointed. I hope she wins, but even if she doesn;t she will still be one of the most influential people to me in 2009!
    Her more recent blogs have been added to myspace at
    myspace.com/christinecaine

     
  50. Terri Camp

    January 3, 2009 at 7:10 am

    I can’t believe I’m sitting here with tears in my eyes as I read about all these marvelous women. Is it possible I’m even close to their league?
    You can read more about me on my about Terri page on my website.
    My passion is and always has been to help moms to walk in a life of victory, hope, and joy.
    One of the ways I am doing this is through “Ta-Dah Mom!” Obviously I don’t have enough room here to tell you all about it, but if you are a mom, you will be thrilled to become a Ta-Dah Mom!

    Tonight I went to Barnes and Noble for my weekly visit. As I often do, I checked the Christian Inspirational section to see if they might have one of my books in stock. Nope. The last book I wrote was before the tragedy that threatened to anhilate my family. 3 1/2 years have passed.
    One of the phrases that continued through my mind during those very difficult days was “Without the battles, there is no opportunity for Victory.” I held on to that “state of Victory” in the midst of the battle.
    Tonight, as I walked past a section of self-help books, I saw a vision before me of a book with a mom on the cover, with her arms reaching up, saying, “Ta-Dah!” I saw a book that God has been writing in my heart, a book that has been birthed in the painful labor of living through difficult battles. It is a book of victory! We live lives of victory every day. The choices we make – to forgive – or be bitter. To press in when you want to lie down and die. To protect our children – or remain with perceived security.
    I want my life, my choices, and my delight to bless everyone who comes in contact with me.
    The life of a Ta-Dah Mom is one of victory, peace, and a joy that oozes out through her being.
    This is my life, and the life I share with others.
    Ta-Dah!
    2009 is a year that Ta-Dah Mom is going to explode. I believe that women everywhere will be walking in victory, even in the midst of their battles. They will be encouraging their families and raising them up with great hope and joy. I can’t wait!

     
  51. Sherri Frushon

    January 3, 2009 at 6:26 pm

    I voted for Kay Green, owner of http://www.MyPreciousKid.com. Kay works very hard at what she does and it shows through her own personality her retail business and her devotion to her website. She holds compassion in what she does, always willing to help another business owner, advice, and just being a great god filled friend.

    I have been lucky enough to do business with Kay Green over the last year, working with Kay Green has been a huge blessing, not just from a business point but from a friendship- because she has been doing her business for 8 years now. That is 8 years of advice I too can learn from.

    Kay also runs 1christianwahm at yahoogroups. Which again, she is compassion about helping other parents, in any way she can. She also started Mommy2Mommy classes, helping others.

    Kay is devoted to her family, she is a devoted mom, wife,sister & friend. Giving is just something Kay gives of herself with out asking anything in return. Filled with the holy spirit.

    I voted for Kay Green because of all the reason above, plus so many more 🙂
    Sherri

     
  52. Michele Graf

    January 3, 2009 at 9:48 pm

    I don’t know how many of the names of the very worthy candidates were known several years ago, but I know (almost) all of them because of ONE name on the list: LEA SCHIZAS, leader and heart of the Muse OnLine FREE Writers Conference. Lea’s provided far more than a cup of courage to many of us. She’s helped us find and use our wings, and is always creating new ventures and adventures for us. Lea’s the inspiration, support team leader, and creative spirit extraordinaire. VOTE LEA!

     
  53. Carrie Wilkerson

    January 4, 2009 at 3:05 am

    Thanks so much for the nomination. I am BEYOND honored. And the company on this list – WOW!

    Will be sending folks to check it out for sure!

    Carrie Wilkerson
    @Barefoot_Exec
    http://theBossMovie.com

     
  54. GypsyOwl

    January 4, 2009 at 4:14 am

    Thank you for this Kat,

    This list is amazing! I will be following as many of the nominees as I can in the coming months.

    Today I voted for Carrie Wilkerson The Barefoot Exectutive @barefoot_exec because she has been an exceptional mentor, has taught me skills and a mindset that have turned the way I work into a more productive, most successful process. Everyday she influences my life in positive ways.

    Brightest Blessings to you in ’09,
    GypsyOwl
    Deborah Bryan

     
  55. Sandra Woods

    January 5, 2009 at 1:03 am

    My vote is for Kay Green. She has been in a business group I belong to for several years and through those years has been very generous with any help I may have needed and support of my artshow, with awards that she has so generously donated. She is a great example for other woman to follow. A sweet and caring person.

    Hope you go all the way Kay.
    Hugs
    Sandy Woods
    Artgally.com

     
  56. Polly

    January 5, 2009 at 1:15 am

    I would just like to say that Kay Green is an incredible person and a smart savvy business woman. She has helped tremendously in my business and can always be trusted to know the answer. She graciously helps those in need and always makes time to help. Without her, I’m not sure my business would be where it is today.

     
  57. Erin Bliss

    January 5, 2009 at 3:15 am

    Lisa Johnson personifies this award. She’s a dedicated business woman, a great wife and a devoted mom. She believes strongly in her business and her field. She always encourages her staff to do more and to be better instructors. She focuses on helping her clients to make them healthier and happier people. I’ve learned a great deal from her on how to run a successful business. Yet she also has a lot of compassion toward others and knows when business has to step aside to support the individual. She is definitely a team leader!
    While doing all this, she continues to keep her marriage strong and gives so much of herself to her child to help him grow up to be a good and decent human being. I’m often amazed with all she does that she has time for anything else!
    As her friend I appreciate her companionship and her intelligence. She’s always there to lend a hand or offer encouragement. She’s the kind of person I know I could call in a panic and she’d step right up.

     
  58. Karen Wilson-Dooley

    January 5, 2009 at 4:37 pm

    I just want to share what an inspiration Kay Green has been to me over the past 10 years. I remember when Kay started her company as a home-based business selling child I.D. products. At that time, I served as a mentor and advisor to Kay. Ironically, Kay outgrew her home-based business, opened a “brick-and-mortar” storefront, and somewhere in the process of her rapid growth became a mentor and inspiration to me! Kay is quick to share resources and her business wisdom with other women in business, but that is not all that makes Kay a shining star in the eyes of her fellow businesswomen. In everything Kay does in life, you see her faith in God shine through. She has built and operates her business on sound Christian principles, which I for one believe is the foundation of Kay’s success.

    Kay was totally humbled to be nominated for this award, and whether she finishes in the top three or the bottom three, I know that Kay will rally in the fact that she has made a big enough impression on the lives of other women to get her in this competition! She will use this as fuel to grow even stronger in her business and her faith, knowing that she is making a positive impact on women in her diverse communities, whether they are business colleagues, clients, family, or friends.

    Kay, you are truly a well-rounded example to us all — we are truly blessed to know you and network with you on a daily basis!

    Hugs!
    Karen Wilson-Dooley

     
  59. Anne Manske

    January 5, 2009 at 5:14 pm

    Susan Kildahl is truly a great business coach. She gave me lots of ideas for attracting new clients to my business. The little tweak she did to a current marketing plan is something that attracted many new clients and they always comment upon.

    She has lots of energy and is always willing to share information. A driving force in her life is to help others.

     
  60. Lynn McMonigal

    January 5, 2009 at 5:19 pm

    Being nominated for this is AMAZING to me. I’ve never thought of myself as influential. In fact, until recently I cannot think of anything that I have done that is at all inspiring. But I am so glad to think that someone does!

    My first novel, Forsaking the Call, was self-published on December 9, 2008. When I told my family that I was going to take part in NaNoWriMo in 2007 and write a novel in 30 days, my dad said, “It’s about tim!” I had talked about writing one since I was 12. Twenty years of dreaming later, the book was no only written and published, but copies of it were selling! The book was written because I finally listened to God and jotted down the story He placed in my heart. I am honored to be able to donate all profits from this book through February 28, 2009 to my home church, Cascades Wesleyan in Jackson, Michigan. My church family supported me as I wrote this and God guided my thoughts. Donating the profits is the least I can do to show my appreciation.

    Lynn McMonigal

     
  61. Kim Eskola

    January 5, 2009 at 6:06 pm

    I see a lot of great ladies on here. I would have to say that you can’t have a list of influential women of the internet without having Rhea Perry’s name on it. She is helping many, many familes attain financial freedom and reach their goals.
    You can find her many places, but her blog is http://www.RheaPeryy.com
    Congratulations and Good luck to all!
    Thanks!
    Kim Eskola

     
  62. Kim Eskola

    January 5, 2009 at 6:07 pm

    Oops that should have been
    http://www.RheaPerry.com

     
  63. akaMonty

    January 5, 2009 at 6:26 pm

    Vivian Zabel will always and forever have my vote – she’s a beautiful person, she was an excellent educator when I was in high school (I consider myself very lucky to have been taught by her), she’s caring and brilliant and a class act all the way.

    Shannon

     
  64. Katrina Wampler

    January 5, 2009 at 6:46 pm

    Thanks for your input, Kim. I am sure Rhea would be an excellent choice. This is going to be an annual event so be sure to have her nominated next year so we can all get to know her better.

    There were many names that should have been here. They simply had to be nominated. Next year, we will do far more marketing to get the word out so that more people have this wonderful opportunity.

     
  65. Alicia Staz

    January 5, 2009 at 6:56 pm

    Kay Green is the best candidate by far! She has been such a huge help to me in my business – http://www.beadedroyalty.com. I belong to a women in business group with her and she is constantly sending tidbits and suggestions to the group that I never would have known otherwise. She is a wealth of information having been in business so many years, and she doesn’t hesitate to share with others. Her business selling safety equipment for children is so important these days. She really does have a heart for her business. Her business is growing and she would be a fabulous person to follow in 2009! I will certainly be watching her regardless. : )

     
  66. Marie

    January 5, 2009 at 8:36 pm

    I would definitely like to see Jessica Marshall Forbes (co-founder of Ravelry.com) on the list. In one short year, Ravelry has become an amazing presence on the web.

     
  67. Shannon Connolly

    January 5, 2009 at 8:43 pm

    I voted for Kay Green. I am in a Small Business Group with her and she always goes out of her way to keep us informed and unselfishly shares her vast knowledge with us. She has grown her business by leaps and bounds and is always willing to assist others in trying to do the same. She is definitely a lady to be followed in 2009!

     
  68. Adventures In Babywearing

    January 5, 2009 at 11:13 pm

    I’d love to nominate Maria Bailey of BSM Media. She is at the forefront of making sure the voices of every Mom is being heard, especially in new media and technology. I’ve only seen great opportunities and fun adventures happen because of following Maria, and I think everyone else should, too!

    Steph

     
  69. Musings of a Housewife

    January 5, 2009 at 11:54 pm

    Are you still taking nominations? I’d love to nominate Maria Bailey. She is the most passionate woman I know, mother of 4 teenagers, marathon runner, founder of BSM Media, author of several books on marketing with moms, co-founder of NewBaby.com where moms can share videos and advice with one another. She’s an advocate for women and moms in particular. She is generous with information and with her resources. She truly does it all and maintains a family/work balance that I envy. I think she’d be an excellent candidate!

     
  70. Katrina Wampler

    January 6, 2009 at 12:12 am

    Unfortunately, we are no longer taking nominations. We’ve finished the voting portion of the contest. Now we’re reviewing comments and the judges’ ratings.

    This will be an annual event. Keep in touch and be sure to nominate Maria next year.

    Thank you for your interest in the Most Influential Women contest.

     
  71. agnes dee

    January 6, 2009 at 1:55 am

    What a great list – I’m going to bookmark the whole blog post and keep the list, as is, for myself.

     
  72. Stephen Macquignon

    January 6, 2009 at 12:22 pm

    Just stopping in to show my support for Vivian Zabel and to wish her good luck.
    Stephen

     
  73. Alyssa

    January 6, 2009 at 2:00 pm

    I’m glad to see Cindy Rushton on this list. What a wonderful woman of God she is!

     
  74. Sheri

    January 6, 2009 at 10:01 pm

    I’m a huge Lisa Johnson fan. Not only is she a very up-and-coming voice on the Internet, but she’s also an amazing person. I’ve been training at Lisa’s studio for more than three years, and during that time, I’ve lost 40 pounds! I trained with Lisa herself throughout my recent pregnancy and am now getting back into shape post-partum faster than I ever thought possible thanks to Lisa’s encouragement and skill as a trainer. I’m rooting for her to win this – she deserves it!

     
  75. Ron Miller

    January 6, 2009 at 10:11 pm

    I want to throw my support for Lisa Johnson. I have to tell you, I just met Lisa (in a virtual sense) a few days ago when she approached me about setting up a group on her new site, http://www.twitterdoit.com.

    In the short time I’ve known Lisa, I’ve been amazed by her creativity and energy. I’ve learned that she came up with the idea for Twitterdoit.com on December 19th and had it live shortly thereafter.

    She created the site on Ning. She promoted it on Twitter with a contents for 500 hours of free fitness. She gathered a few folks like me to be group leaders, and slowly but surely people are coming to the site.

    That she took the idea from conception to reality in such a short time is simply amazing to me and this site has real potential to be something special, but whether it succeeds or not, she is clearly a woman to reckon with and I send her my wholehearted support.

    Ron Miller

     
  76. Malika Duke

    January 7, 2009 at 4:08 am

    I must say that I only know 2 moms on the list and it is really hard to choose because I’m a fan and customer of both. I already follow them very closely and commune with one in a software owners forum on a regular basis.

    I am glad to get to know the other moms on the list so my vote it’s completely biased ;-).

    Only a few months ago I embraced my WAHMhood and connected with other moms and I must say it has been an enriching experience in more ways than one! Thank you all so much for this discussion, this site and all of you wonderful women.

    Malika

     
  77. Dawn Spice

    January 7, 2009 at 5:58 pm

    My vote is for Cindy Rushton

     

Leave a Reply

 
