RSS

Steps of change…accountability.

30 Dec

Steps…rules….

Call ’em what you will. The truth is, without these steps or rules, often times (more often than not) our resolutions and goals fail. Why? No accountability.awards1

There are only a few days left in 2008. This is the time when folks start making resolutions for the new year. By February, they’ve lost sight of their goals and gone back to their old ways. Myself included. I look back and think of the things that should have been different this past year. I’m reminded of the things I wanted to do but never got around to it or never had the accountability to follow through. What makes 2009 different? Well, for one, I’m going to share my goals with you and I’m asking you to do the same with me.  Accountability Tuesday’s we’ll call it. The last Tuesday of every month.

I won’t bore you with the mistakes I made in 2008. That’s the past and I can not change them. But 2009 is going to be a new life for me. I am certain of it. Mark 11:22-25 reminds me of that along with Jeremiah 29:11-13.

We all have a tape player in our head that reminds us of yesterday. Good or bad. When our tape player prevents us jamaican-bobsled-team-51955583-ga1from moving forward, it’s time to change what we’re hearing. Remember, your mind can not tell the difference between truth and fiction. It believes what you tell it.  So, in 2009 we are going to change that tape player that tells us we can’t. Whatever it is you’re trying to accomplish, you have to believe. You have to make your mind believe you can.  We’ll help you. We’ll help each other.

awards4First step…accountability. Tell us your goals for 2o09.  Share all the details. The more specific the better. Don’t say, I want to lose weight. Say something like “I want to be a healthier weight of 145 lbs” . Don’t say, I want to save money. Say, “I want to have $10,000 in savings by Dec 31st, 2009”. Be specific. We’ll meet here the last Tuesday of every month and check in with each other.  Rest assured, I’ll come looking for you if you aren’t here.  🙂 Second step, tell others and ask them to hold you accountable each step of the way.

So, I”ll go first:

Personal goals:

  • I will be a healthy weight of 140 by Dec 31st 2009mary-lou-retton-79028089-ga
  • I will have $10,000 in a savings account by the end of the year
  • I will make time every day for devotions and prayer.
  • I will make quiet time every day to devote to writing.
  • I will have family night at least one night a week with my children.

Business:

I will share more of that after my announcement in Feb. Until then, I am will be working diligently to get everything in line. Space to work, business plan, financial advice. etc.  I’ll be more specific as soon as I’ve made everything public with Kat Logic. Look for it down the line.

awards2So, what are you goals? Give them a date.  What are you passionate about? What are you living for? Allow yourself small rewards each time you achieve a goal. Share your trials, your accomplishments, and your goals here.  Then, we’ll have our first Accountability Tuesday meeting back here on Jan 27th to discuss our progress. I’ll give you tips and hints along the way to help you achieve each goal you set for yourself. Have fun and remember…. you only get one life. You don’t want to get to the end of it and have your grand kids say, “she made great cookies”. What are you living for?

 
8 Comments

Posted by on December 30, 2008 in encouragement

 

8 responses to “Steps of change…accountability.

  1. Lea Schizas

    December 30, 2008 at 4:57 pm

    Well here goes honesty at its best:

    1- I ‘need’ to focus and bring my editing services more to the forefront. So my goal is to make $10,000 dollars, as well.

    2- To avoid telling my children ‘Mommy’s busy.’ Time passes by too quickly and I want to spend more quality time with them.

    3- To avoid emails while trying to write.

    4- To up the campaign with my co-writer and promote autism awareness in various outlets.

    5- To cut down my smoking until I can finally say “I quit!”

    6- To make a point to get a full medical check up. Haven’t been to a doctor since my last pregnancy in 1993. Yeah, I know…procrastinator. Not a fan of doctors or pills but I know there’s something going on in my body.

    7- To eat healthier and get the 190 pounds now hosting my body down to a healthier 160 area.

    There are more but these are my main goals.

     
  2. Katrina Wampler

    December 30, 2008 at 5:14 pm

    Yeah, I need to quit the emails while writing…. really slows me down.
    And you’re right…time does pass too quickly. I look at my kids and they’ll be grown soon. I don’t want all their childhood memories to be of me sitting in front of a computer.

    Thanks for sharing. I’m going to hunt you down to hold you accountable to these goals. Have a great start to a new year and a new life.

     
  3. Marvin D Wilson

    December 30, 2008 at 5:29 pm

    Hmm – I don’t much care for New Year’s resolutions, I think it’s a rather arbitrary date to suddenly decide to get all your crap straightened out. But you covered that at the beginning of your post and went ahead and DEMANDED (you’re SUCH a woman) that we state our “specific” goals for 2009. And being that I’m easy I’ll go along with this – just for you. (smile)

    Goal #1: I will have three new books published by the end of 2009.

    Goal #2: At least one of my books will have made it into the top 10,000 amazon sales ranking by the end of the year.

    Goal #3: I will have replaced this piece of (bleep) old hoopty I’m driving with a nice serviceable dependable vehicle. Doesn’t need to be brand new or fancy, but starts without requiring a prayer session, runs quietly enough to let me think and stops with no grinding noises are the minimum basic requirements.

    Goal #4: My weight by the end of the year will be a svelte 165. Got 20 to go and the grazing diet is working, so shouldn’t be a problem.

    Goal #5: I will have edited at least one full length novel for Katrina Wampler and will have witnessed it published and doing very well, climbing rapidly in the sales rankings.

    Goal #6: I will get to finally meet my friend Katrina Wampler in person in 2009, and receive a thank you kiss from her for editing her book.

    Goal #7: I will receive either a royalty check or a new book contract advance check in the amount of $1,000 by the end of 2009.

    Goal #8: I will have strengthened my resolve to not participate in these kinds of New Year’s resolutions ploys to be able to say “no” one year from now when Katrina Wampler insists that I state my goals for all the world to read on her Kat Logic Blog.

     
  4. Katrina Wampler

    December 30, 2008 at 5:37 pm

    My dear friend Marvin, you are such a nerd! lol

    You’ll be right here next year with the rest of us. And yes, we will have written, edited, and published at least one book together this year. AND…we will meet. Now, about that kiss..hhhmmmm lol

    Great goals! Last Tuesday of the month, be back here to tell us your progress.

     
  5. joyceanthony

    December 30, 2008 at 6:34 pm

    Note to Marvin: Katrina didn’t ask for resolutions, she specified goals-those are definitely allowed at any point in time 🙂

    My goals are as follows:
    Professionally:
    *Have two books published in 2009–one by June, the other by December
    *Continuing increasing my readership of Books and Authors to at least 25,000 hits a month
    *Go live with the Asperger’s and Bipolar blogs and gain a readership on each of at least 10,000 hits per month by December
    *Make enough in royalties to contribute 500 dollars each to StopItNow, The Neighborhood Art House and Ally Cat Allies

    Personally:
    *Either find a lawyer to help me with a wrongful death case against Hartz or proceed on my own
    *Move my over-crowded household into a whole house with 4-bedrooms and a fenced in backyard
    *Get my son through tenth grade successfully
    *help Aaron gain enough skills to get a job
    *help Chris prepare for being on his own
    *Get my geneaolgy research organized finally

     
  6. Katrina Wampler

    December 30, 2008 at 9:21 pm

    uh-oh Joyce, I see a story in there somewhere. Have to IM you to find out who Hartiz, Aaron and Chris are.

    But great goals!!!!

     
  7. Ron Berry

    December 30, 2008 at 11:21 pm

    Before I get into this, yes, Joyce, you need room to expand and I do hope you add more to the kritter kount. As for Hartz, please let me help in any way that I can.

    My goals for the coming year are simple.

    1, I will have at least one character website finished

    2. Amanda will see print

    3. It was in the Tea Leaves will be published

    4. I’ll have my ss income

    5. I hope to be half of 1/3 of a marriage ceremony

    6. I just pray I can be a decent grandparent.

     
  8. Katrina Wampler

    December 30, 2008 at 11:29 pm

    Alright Ron, I’m confused about #5. Half of 1/3???

     

Leave a Reply

 
