RSS

Who will you be in 21 days?

01 Jan

21days   
                  to a brand-new you!

It’s a brand new year.  A new beginning. Unlike any year before in all my 20+ years (lol), I am so optimistic about the changes 2009 will bring that I can not keep quiet.  I believe a new life of sorts is right beyond the horizon and within my reach.

What do I have to do to achieve the changes that I foresee?  Well, that’s easy. I have to give up somethings and take on some others. When what you’re doing isn’t working, it’s time to change what you’re doing. I’m making some changes.

Now, statistics prove that it takes approximately  21 days to make or break a habit. Twenty-one days of doing or NOT doing something before it truly has an impact on your life. So, I ask…who will you be in 21 days? Not where will you be or what will you be doing… but WHO will you be? You can’t make drastic changes without it changing who you are.

  • First thing I’ll be doing for 21 days is the Jabez prayer and keeping a journal. Now, I don’t believe God answers every prayer we throw up. I do believe He honors bold prayers of blessings and blesses us according to His will. He has many blessings He’s waiting to give..and He’s waiting for us to ask boldly. So, for at least 21 days (planning to do it for the entire 365), I will be boldly going before the throne of God and asking for His blessings on ME. Asking Him to stretch my territory for His glory. Join me, will you? I may even add a page here just for the updates on how the Lord is blessing me through 2009. We’ll see. I’m definitely keeping a journal. (you know how authors are..lol)
  • Second thing I’ll be doing is taking time for myself every day. As a single mom to three insane kids, I’ve somehow managed to lose myself along the way. Throw in a full time job, writing, and standing on the brink of a new exciting business, and I rarely find time to shave both legs at one time. That changes in 2009. I’ve moved my bedroom and office to the top floor and I’m taking 21 days to make a habit of taking care of ME. My health, my self esteem, my life. It’s time to find and chase down my dreams again until they become the goals and reality they should have been long ago.
  • Third, I’m going to spend 21 days living as if it were my last. You never know when it actually could be. It’s time to start living. I’m making a list of all the things I want out of life. All the things I’ve been putting off and I’m going to make 2009 the best year of my life.

Now the goal of course is to have these 21 days turn into 365, and then 365 more and so on. This WILL be the best year of my life. I can feel it with every beat of my heart and every single breath that moves through my soul. I will be a different person December 31, 2009.

Who will you be?

Happy New Year and many blessings in 2009!  Ask BOLDLY, expect blessings, and give thanks for each and every moment.

21days
                  to a brand-new you! Who will you be??

 
7 Comments

Posted by on January 1, 2009 in encouragement

 

7 responses to “Who will you be in 21 days?

  1. joyceanthony

    January 1, 2009 at 6:19 am

    Very interesting question-and one I’m not sure how to answer. There is so much I’d like to change. I’ll have to think on this a bit.

     
  2. Deb Hockenberry

    January 1, 2009 at 6:20 am

    Hi Kat,
    I wish you loads of luck on your New Years Resolutions! I have a few too. Most of them have to do with writing.
    Deb 🙂

     
  3. joylene

    January 1, 2009 at 3:40 pm

    I’m with you, Kat. What’s 21 days? Unless it can be the beginning of something wonderful. I deserve wonderful. I’m ready for wonderful. Happy New Year!

     
  4. Katrina Wampler

    January 1, 2009 at 4:23 pm

    I am so positive 2009 is going to be the best year of my life.
    Repeat after me:

    2009 is going to be the best year of my life.

    Very good…now say it out loud every single day!!!

     
  5. Lynn McMonigal

    January 1, 2009 at 4:49 pm

    Wow! Kat, you always ask the difficult, thought provoking questions. The big thing that I am working on is actually going to take 40 days and not 21. I am focusing on my marriage, using the book The Love Dare to help train myself to lead my heart and become the wife GOD intends me to be, regardless of whether my husband deserves it or not.

    Lynn

     
  6. Katrina Wampler

    January 1, 2009 at 4:52 pm

    ooo, now that’s good. I’d love to do that. When Eathan moves here in July, we are going to do that.

    Thanks for sharing and I hope you’ll let us know your progress.

     
  7. GigiKaren

    January 3, 2009 at 7:53 pm

    I particularly like the idea of living 21 days as if it were your last. It seems like that would be difficult with the demands of daily life that I would probably let go of if I knew that for sure.

    I am going to try to do the Daniel Fast in January, to press into God more intently and to get my body healthy and hopefully a little leaner prior to my knee replacement on January 30th. I should receive a book this week that details it quite a bit and gives recipes to use. I’m hoping it will kick off a new pattern of eating.

    I also will be writing more. I am very honored to have been asked to help coordinate and teach a year long discipling program at my church called Institute of Servant Leadership. In Jan/ Feb I will be preparing 4 week lessons on who God/ Jesus/ Holy Spirit are and 2 weeks on prayer. So I will be focusing a little each day on reading and preparing material. That hopefully will be good preparation for working on a book, too.

     

Leave a Reply

 
