RSS

Creative Writer, Shirley Kiger Connolly

05 Jan

banner-103Today on Kat Logic…

I’m excited to introduce a wonderful creative writer to the Kat Logic community. Shirley Kiger Connolly. prayerwarrior-sdc

She is far from new to the writing world, but new to my circle of friends.  Her latest release, Flame From Within is an inspirational historical fiction novel that takes place during the time of the War Between the States.

Katrina: It’s great to have you with us today, Shirley. Tell us a bit about Flame From Within.

flamefromwithinw180h2761Shirley: In Fame From Within, Amethyst Rose is my heroine. She doesn’t know the Lord, and she has lost everything to the Yankees. After being raised with a physically abusive brother and emotionally abusive sister, she is very bitter. Not only hating the Yankees for destroying her beloved father and mother, she also isn’t sure if she can come to love any man the way a woman should love a man. She really needs the Lord.

Katrina: And I can see why. It sounds and looks like an amazing read. We’ll hear more about that in a bit. I want to learn more about you. Tell us about yourself and your family.

Shirley: Born and raised in the Pacific Northwest as a Portland, Oregonian girl, who quickly left the area as soon as she finished school, I found it interesting to see how the Lord brought my husband and I right back to live near my old roots.  But this time I live near the ocean at the southern tip of the state. Our three kids have grown but I’m blessed to have a couple of them nearby. My youngest son now lives in Germany with his wife and three children as a major in the US Army.

Katrina: It is always so amazing to see how God works in our lives and where He will lead us. Sounds like you have a beautiful family. How do you guys spend your evenings?

Shirley: After I shut down my computer for the night, my husband and I either sit around and read shirleyatworkw300h176books (I do a lot of my reviewing or research then) while listening to music or watch a little TV news, then maybe Andy Griffith, or the HGTV channel, or National Geographic, or History Channel.  In the fall and winter months, I pull up my needlework and throw something together for someone for the next holiday. Reading, sewing, vegging out is my way of unwinding.

Katrina: Now, I’ve read an interesting fact about  when you realized you wanted to be an author and about your greatest influence in your writing career. Will you share that with our readers?

Shirley: I was only eight years old and I knew!  My dad, a mystery writer was my greatest influence. My second grade teacher encouraged me, see something there.  I still find old papers of what I use to write from early age.

Katrina: I bet bed-time stories took on a whole new meaning in your household. Does your family read any of your work?

Shirley: All my grown children read my work. My husband isn’t into what he calls “chick stuff” so he hasn’t read more than a few phrases here and there.  But he is a more than willing bystander.  He is very pleased with how the Lord has blessed.  My kids are thrilled to have an author in the family, and my boys both have the talent. I expect I’ll see them published in the future.

Katrina: Well, if  they have even half the talent their mother has, I’m sure we all see their work in print someday soon.  I’m sure you have plenty of stories to tell about them. Maybe you can share some on Wednesday when you return.  I look forward to hearing more about your writing and to even hear about your walk with the Lord.

Be sure to stop by Wednesday to learn more about Shirley Kiger Connolly. Be sure to leave her a comment or question for  a chance to win an autographed copy of Flames From Within.  You can also purchase a copy at Amazon.

Stopping by tomorrow, is author of Before The Season Ends, Linore Rose Burkard. Don’t miss it.

 
3 Comments

Posted by on January 5, 2009 in encouragement

 

3 responses to “Creative Writer, Shirley Kiger Connolly

  1. Ron Berry

    January 6, 2009 at 12:41 pm

    sound like a book I’d like to write a review for. Ok, so I ended that sentence with a preposition when I know a preposition is not something to end a sentence with.

    That book sounds very interesting and from a totally new perspective. With a father as a writer, you had a slight head start. Having the talent to write completed the picture. Nice to have met you.

     
  2. John Tindale

    January 6, 2009 at 2:33 pm

    Although I tend to agree with Shirley’s husband, I’m glad to have had this peek into the much larger world of women’s fiction!

     
  3. Happy Gardener aren't we all?

    January 6, 2009 at 7:13 pm

    I love historicals. This sounds good! Thanks for a great interview.

     

Leave a Reply

 
