RSS

Before The Season Ends

08 Jan

aaahhhh…another breath of fresh air. Another moment to hold such an amazing book in my hands. It is but a dream to have others admire my books and writings the way I do today’s guest.

Linore Rose Burkard

linore_frame21Linore is back again today to grace us with her presence. I am in utter amazement to announce her debut novel. How does one become such a success with one book? I’ve probably got a dozen floating around in my head and lingering in my lop top. Linore Rose Burkard is no doubt someone to be admired and followed. So, let’s get started the second portion of her interview. You can read the first portion here. She will be announcing a winner later on today so be sure to drop her a comment or leave a question.

Katrina: Once again, I thank you for being here today and I deeply appreciate your time. I completely understand time constraints with writing and family, so thank you.  We’ve heard about your debut novel, Before The Season Ends. What are you working on next?

Linore: I’m exploring whether to do a third book in the Regency Series, which at present is comprised of Before the Season Ends, and The House in Grosvenor Square. Book three would begin about five years later (about 1818) and follow the lives of a number of people who were introduced in the first two books. I would also probably introduce one new couple.

Katrina: Well, if they are anything like Before The Season ends, they will surely be a big hit. I’d love to review them.  I know many of us often deal with that dreaded writer’s block. It’s painful and unnerving.  For me, I have to put it aside and go do something physical like rock climbing or gardening. How do you deal with writer’s block?

Linore: I do something else. If I can’t write a scene for a book, I can always write an article. I can update my blog. I can’t really force a scene when it isn’t coming; I find that getting busy and doing something else is the best thing I can do for the book and for me (rather than beat myself up). One thing about having an online presence today is that there is never a shortage of tasks to be done, including a great many writing tasks. Since I write historical (regency) romance, there are always tons of subjects I can research and write about, putting them into articles for my ezine, or out there on the web.

Katrina: What has been your greatest challenge in your writing career?

Linore: I think for me the biggest challenge was to believe that I could write a novel in small increments. As a mom of five, four of whom are still home year-round (one is in college), having frequent interruptions is a fact of life. Writing takes a concentration so deep so that when I first started doing scenes, I would find myself getting woozy after standing up. I was shocked at the level of exertion it took to use my brain that hard, I guess! <laughs> It happens less now–I guess I’ve grown accustomed to it. And I’ve learned to appreciate those small blocks of time. Ten minutes in a waiting room can yield a part of a scene I couldn’t get done at home. Every little bit counts. I don’t despise small beginnings. There are times when I’m in a deep level of involvement with a story or a character, and then getting interrupted can break the mood; but I’m getting better all the time at picking up where I left off, no matter how deeply I’ve got to dive to get back into the character or situation. For people like me with busy households, this is a must-have ability. I believe it can be the difference between making that deadline or not.

Katrina: While writing, do the scenes flow easily or do you ever struggle through them?

Linore: In general, I write more than I need and later have to cut back. I don’t use a word count, but I may set a goal of one chapter a day or two chapters for a busy week. Other times, I don’t think in terms of chapters at all, just events. I may break an event down into four scenes, say, and so my goal for that day will be to get the whole event on paper. In other words, finish the four scenes. Life changes so rapidly with the children, that for me, a hard and fast writing goal just wouldn’t work. And, I focus on results, not time spent. Instead of, “Now I’ll write for three hours,” I say, “Now I’ll have this or that happen to a character, or, ‘I’ll show a different side to this person.” When I have accomplished that goal, no matter how long it took, I feel satisfied, and only then.books_013

Katrina: Thank you so much for being here. Before we go, can you tell our readers where they can purchase Before The Season Ends?

Linore: Certainly. They can follow any of the following links:
Buy from the author (autographed copy)
Buy from ChristianBook.com
From Amazon.com
BarnesandNoble.com

 
6 Comments

Posted by on January 8, 2009 in encouragement

 

6 responses to “Before The Season Ends

  1. unwriter1

    January 8, 2009 at 4:23 pm

    I have to agree that trying to write for a specific time does not work. Writers block is hard and when you write short stories, even harder. But I let my muse help. You have a system that works,. writing scenes at a time. With a busy household, a system is a must.

    Good interview.

     
  2. Marvin D Wilson

    January 8, 2009 at 4:28 pm

    “Ten minutes in a waiting room can yield a part of a scene I couldn’t get done at home. Every little bit counts.”

    I really admire this kind of dedication and sense of purpose, of making every minute of life count. This has been a wonderful interview – thank you both!

     
  3. Vivian

    January 8, 2009 at 4:56 pm

    I understand how one can use minutes here and there to write as we wait. I do that, too.

    I don’t have writers block. I may need to work out the details for a scene or a transition, but as my mind mulls over the way to do the job, I blog or edit or read, allowing my mind to “do its thing.”

    I’ve enjoyed getting to know about Before the Season Ends and about you, Linore.

    Thanks, Katrina.

     
  4. Joyce A. Anthony

    January 8, 2009 at 8:08 pm

    Good interview, Ladies!

     
  5. Tami C

    January 8, 2009 at 11:44 pm

    This is the first I have heard of your work, so many thanks to Kat Logic Blog for having you here today. I will have to go check out some more of your work now. I hope you have a wonderful day.

    Tami Cullen@Hotmail.Com

     
  6. Linore Rose Burkard

    January 9, 2009 at 12:44 am

    Katrina,

    You have been such a wonderful blog host–thank you so much. You have great readers and commenters, and I look forward to mailing your winner a copy of my book! I also look forward to visiting again with the sequel, The House in Grosvenor Square.
    This has been really fun, thank you!

     

Leave a Reply

 
