RSS

Ginger’s Dishing It Out on Kat Logic

13 Jan

I am so honored to announce our guest Blogger today, Ms. Ginger Simpson. Many of you know her but for those that don’t, you’re in for a great treat.

Katrina: Great to have you today, Ginger. I’ve been learning so much from you on the yahoo groups we’re both a part of and it’s a pleasure to have you here. I noticed that you did a live interview on BlogTalkRadio. Tell us about it.

Ginger: I couldn’t believe how nervous I was the few hours before the radiocast. ginger2 You’d think I was having major surgery instead of being featured on Kim Smith’s program.  But once I realized I was simply talking on the phone to Kim, it became a friendly conversation about books, writing and promoting.  It was fun.

Katrina: I bet it was. You’ll have to stop in one day on Kat Logic Out Loud (podcast) now that you’re an old pro.  Tell us a bit about your short story, Amazing Grace. It seems to be doing quite well in reviews.

Ginger: Actually, I stole the title from another work-in-progress.  🙂  Amazing Grace began as a young adult story, but when I started writing novellas for my Stages of Love series, the title fit well with the others I’d completed.  AG is a contemporary story about a young woman who lives under her father’s roof and abides by his white-collar rules until she meets a blue-collar hunk.  I think you can see the conflict.  By the way, the others in the series are:  Chastity’s Charms, Forever Faith, Amazing Grace, of course, and coming soon, Hope Springs Eternal.  Never pass up a promotional moment, I always say.

Katrina:  Well I have to agree with you there. When it’s finished, I’d love to be able to post a review on Kat Logic Talk. Amazing Grace sounds like a wonderful read and based on the reviews, it certainly is.  Do any of the characters resemble you?

Ginger:  I think there is a little of every author in their characters whether it be personality or features.  My heroines thumbnail-amazing-grace1are either part of me, or who I aspire to be.  For example: Faith battles weight like me, Sarah stands up against unfair tactics and racial bias, and Hope makes her decisions based on what is best for everyone but her.  I always hope to have Sarah’s courage, and like Hope, I’m always the one to put a bandaid on everyone’s boo boos.

Katrina: Where did you get your inspiration for Amazing Grace?

Ginger: The same place I get the inspiration for all my stories:  a character jumps into my head and starts telling me her story.  Until now, all have been heroines, but recently, some guy named, Clarence O’Day, showed up.  He’s insistent that I write The Locket.

Katrina: Oh, I can’t wait to hear more about that one.  Tell us a bit about your family. I read that your grandson was diagnosed with developmental delays that prompted you to make a move across the country. How is he doing now?

Ginger: Spencer  is doing well.  It’s hard to believe that two years ago he couldn’t converse with us at all.  We were all frustrated, so I can imagine how difficult it was for him.  With the help of his speech and other specialized therapists at school, he is talking, learning to read, and can actually write his name.  I’m happy if my being here is in any way responsible for the progress he’s made.  I know if you’ve read anything about me, I always mention he’s the light of my life.  Thanks for asking about him.

Katrina: What is your greatest challenge in writing?

Ginger: Making all the characters in my head quiet down long enough so I can focus on one story.  Right now, I have six works-in-progress and the chaos is mind-blowing at times.  I have to find a way to lock my mind to keep new people from popping in and wanting me to start something new.  They actually wake me up at night and want me to type out a scene.  Of all the nerve!

Katrina: Well, at least I know I’m not crazy for having so many books going at once. Not only are you an incredible author, you’re also an editor. What made you decide to take on the roll of an editor? Do you enjoy it as much as writing?

Ginger: I’ve done a few stints as an editor, and I can honestly tell you it’s a lot tougher than writing a book.  If you edit someone who’s been through the process, it’s not so hard, but for the newbies…OMG, the track changes look like you’ve bled all over their pages.  Of course, you deal with personalities, and people are sometimes easily insulted by suggested changes.  I had one fellow curse at me and accuse me of trying to re-write his book.  I assured him I didn’t have time to do that, and stressed that readers weren’t likely to be interested in the location of every tree on the property and how many birds nested in them. *smile* He just couldn’t get the concept that you use props to support your characters.  Rather than tell about the contents of every drawer in the kitchen, have the character move to a drawer and remove something from it.  No, he insisted on an information dump in every chapter.  I finally threw in the towel. Even though I start each editing job with the statement that my suggestions are purely that, people are very protective of their work, and rightfully so.  It’s often hard to make suggestions that don’t change the author’s voice, and I never want to do that.  The suggestions I share are based on what I’ve learned through experience: editing publications at a university and going through rigorous editing sessions on my own work.  Trust me, I don’t know it all.  Writing is one craft where you learn something new every day.  I’ve recently turned down a gig at $5.00 per page and decided to stow my editors hat and stick with critique groups.  It’s a lot easier and there are usually no hurt feelings because my chapters are up for critiquing, too.  Payback is…well, you know what they say.

Katrina: Wow, I think I’ll stick with writing. <laughs> Before we go, I know you have a book coming out next month. The Sparta Rose. I’d like to share the trailer for The Sparta Rose, if I might.

Ginger: Thank you so much for having me here.  If readers are interested in finding out more about me, my website is http://www.gingersimpson.com.  I have a very active blog, myself: Dishin It Out, and I do…dish it out, I mean.  I always welcome new followers, new ideas, and I love getting comments.  You can find my blog at http://mizging.blogspot.com and I hope you’ll drop by.  You’re a charming hostess Kat, and I really admire your creative genius.  Thanks again for letting me share your spotlight.

Katrina: Thank you so much for stopping by. It’s been great having you and I look forward to hearing more about The Locket and hosting it (and you) on Kat Logic Talk.

 
19 Comments

Posted by on January 13, 2009 in encouragement

 

19 responses to “Ginger’s Dishing It Out on Kat Logic

  1. Marvin D Wilson

    January 13, 2009 at 2:46 pm

    Wonderful interview. Katrina always does a good job of interviewing and Ginger, excellent answers, thoughtful, sharing and informative. I especially liked/agreed with this-

    “I think there is a little of every author in their characters …”

    Cool trailor too!

     
  2. Ginger

    January 13, 2009 at 4:30 pm

    Thanks, Marvin. I appreciate that you dropped by. Kat does wonders with an interview. *lol*

     
  3. angie

    January 13, 2009 at 6:56 pm

    great inverview

     
  4. Maxi Malone

    January 13, 2009 at 6:57 pm

    This interview was not only enjoyable but informative. I learned some things; this is great. I’m kinda new at all this, had no idea there was so much online for authors.
    Thank you.

    May Your Glass Always Be Half Full

     
  5. Tabitha Shay

    January 13, 2009 at 7:29 pm

    Hi Miz Ging,
    As always, you have the most interesting interviews with wonderful answers. As a fan of all your books, I can only say, keep on writing…and keep listening to your characters, you do a marvelous job bringing them to life….Tabs

     
  6. Ginger

    January 13, 2009 at 7:46 pm

    Thanks, Angie. Glad to see you.

    ginger

     
  7. Candace

    January 13, 2009 at 8:04 pm

    Excellent interview! Love the trailer, too.
    Hugz and best wishes!
    Candace
    EP Liaison

     
  8. Rhonda Parrish

    January 13, 2009 at 8:23 pm

    Nice interview Ginger and Katrina, I really liked the fact you covered a lot of ground rather than focusing on one thing.

     
  9. Jannine

    January 13, 2009 at 9:23 pm

    Hi Ginger:
    I loved reading your interview. I am amazed that you can have 6 projects going on at the same time. I think my head would explode!!! But I understand completely how characters can talk up a storm and badger you into a new story. LOL

    I commend you for your selflessness where Spencer is concerned. He’s lucky to have a loving grandma like you. I’m so glad he’s making progress. You should get a “Grandma of the Year” award.

    Good luck with all those stories.

     
  10. Margaret Tanner

    January 13, 2009 at 9:30 pm

    Hi Ginger,
    Great article. You have such a way with words, (I mean that in the nicest way). Yes, I bet editing would be a hard job, because there are many people (usually the ones who don’t write well), who think their work is perfect and if you say something unflattering, they take it as a personal insult or jealousy.

    Cheers
    Margaret

     
  11. Anna Kathryn Lanier

    January 13, 2009 at 9:55 pm

    Grat interview. And always good to learn there are other people who have voices in their heads yelling at you to write their stories!

    Anna Kathryn

     
  12. Katrina Wampler

    January 13, 2009 at 10:06 pm

    It’s been so wonderful having you today Ginger. You know you are always welcome back and when The Locket finally makes it from your head to print..I have to read it.

     
  13. Ginger

    January 13, 2009 at 10:13 pm

    Thanks to everyone who came and supported me today. Kat’s place is growing in popularity, and I’m proud to have been featured here. As for The Locket, Kat! My sis is hammering at me to get this one finished, too. As soon as I finish the short story I’m working on now, I hope to dedicate my efforts to moving making this my next full-length completion.

    What would I do without my friends who always show up and make me look popular? You guys know who you are, and how much I love you. I may never make a fortune, but I’m so rich in friendship, I can’t begin to count my wealth. 🙂

     
  14. Karen Cioffi-Ventrice

    January 13, 2009 at 11:06 pm

    Great interv iew. The trailer was cleverly done.
    Karen Cioffi

     
  15. Kim Richards

    January 14, 2009 at 12:17 am

    Hi Ginger!
    I enjoyed the interview. Don’t you love the cover to Amazing Grace? I do.

     
  16. Rita Karnopp

    January 14, 2009 at 12:29 am

    Yo… Ginger…. great information… you are always so willing to share! Just wanted to stop in and wish you the best!

    Rita Karnopp
    ‘Romancing the West”
    http://www.ritaritr.com
    http://www.uncialpress.com
    http://eternalpress.ca
    Covey Award – Best book cover for Dark Spirit
    “Those who bring sunshine to the lives of others
    . . . .cannot keep it from themselves.”

     
  17. Joyce A. Anthony

    January 14, 2009 at 6:46 am

    You Ladies did great! Ginger, did you do the trailer yourself? It was fabulous! I’m going to definitely check out your books!

     
  18. Ginger

    January 14, 2009 at 7:18 am

    Yes, in answer to the question…I’ve done all my own videos. I can’t afford to pay anyone else, and I’m cheap. 🙂 You can see others I’ve done at http://youtube.com/mizging or at http://trailmixvideos@blogspot.com

    Thanks for dropping by.

    Ginger

     
  19. Lea Schizas

    January 14, 2009 at 3:34 pm

    Love Ginger. There’s something about this woman that attracts you and glues you to her. Her humor is contagious. Her blog posts are fun and educational. And she’s got an amazing writing voice.

    Great interview, ladies.

     

Leave a Reply

 
