RSS

The #1 Most Influential Woman of 2009—Kay Green

15 Jan

miw2Drum roll, red carpet, paparazzi….. that’s right. Bring ’em all out because we’ve got the #1 Most Influential Woman to follow in 2009. After 993 votes and 123 comments, Kay Green emerged as the BEST of the best.

If you missed all they hype, you can view the 20 nominated women and some of the comments left for them here.

Otherwise, you can view the top 10  list @ Kat Logic Talk.

So, here she is. Your #1 MOST INFLUENTIAL WOMAN OF 2009 —-  KAY GREENkay-haley-madison300

Katrina: I am so honored to have you with us today on Kat Logic.You were up against some tough competition with the Most Influential Women contest. What was your reaction when you realized you’d been voted #1?

Kay: I was absolutely speechless which is not a normal thing for me. I never expected to win this. I was so shocked and humbled.

Katrina: You never cease to amaze me. You started your own company from home and have been running it for seven years. I certainly see why so many people sent in comments for you. Tell us a bit about your business.

Kay: I have a Child Safety & Baby Gear store in Hillsboro Oregon. I started the business in my home with one product in 2001. In 2007 I move the business with 120 products and 3 employees to a retail location. We carry a full line of wearable ID products for kids ( Id bracelets, shoe tags, shoe stickers and personalized dog tags). We also carry child proofing product, safety education products, baby sleeping products, baby feeding products, potty
training products, Radian car seats, safe baby gear and more.

Katrina: What made you want to start My Precious Kid?

mypreciouskid-nocaps-200Kay: I saw a need for ID cards for home school children. I knew I could to fill this niche. We started with this one product and now carry over 100 child safety & safe baby gear products.

Katrina: You must have an awesome family in order to be able to run a full time business and be a full time mom. Tell us a bit about your family.

Kay: Russell, my amazing husband of 30 years! He is my biggest fan.
Melissa (26), married to Matthew, mama to Madison 2, expecting twin sons
Micah & Mason in June
Jordan (23) married to Katie
Allison (21)
Haley (8)  My husband has been my support, sounding board, and biggest fan.
My children have worked for the business as various points in their life.
Currently my oldest daughter works at the store 2 days a week.

Katrina: You adopted your fourth child, Haley. Can you share a bit of that experience with us?

Kay: Haley is our gift from God. I always knew we were not through parenting
after our third. We adopted her in a private adoption from Nebraska. We have
a wonderful open-adoption with her birth family. She also has 3 half
siblings now.

Katrina: I’d like to show one of the products you created yourself. It’s the CHILD SAFETY PACK PLUS

idcard21 – Child ID Card  1 – Car Seat ID Card
1 – Medical Release Card   1 – DNA Fingerprint Kit
1 – Luggage Tag ID Card   2 – Shoe ID Stickers
1 – Disposable Child ID Bracelet
1 – Identitee Contact Card & Stick on Pocket
1 – Toothprint Dental Impression  1 – Shoe ID Tag
Made by My Precious Kid

Kay: I’m including a discount code for your readers:    10WTR09 for 10% off first order at our site, My Precious Kid

Katrina: What would you like the viewers to take from following you this year as the #1 Most Influential Woman of the year?

Kay: I hope they will catch my passion for children’s safety. As parent we need to help keep our children’s world safe.

Katrina: So true. Your passion is contagious. What are you goals for 2009?

Kay: To make my store CPSIA compliant.
To find more great products that will keep kids safe.
To be the best business woman I can be.
To increase our 2009 sales over out record breaking level of 2008.

Katrina: Well, I can attest to your passion and your willingness to help. In the short amount of time I’ve known you, you’ve been amazingly willing to help in building my own business. What advice could you give any mom looking to start a home based business?

Kay: Find your niche that you are passionate about. Find 12 products in that
niche that you cannot live without. Buy wholesale, sell retail. Do not try
to be all things to all people. Do what you do best.

Katrina: Tell the viewers a few things we don’t know about you.

Kay: Hmmm
I was Springfield Junior Miss in 1977
I met my husband when I was 15.
I breastfed my adopted daughter.
My favorite name is NANA (by Madison)
My parents ran a security business from their home for 35 years.
I will be 50 in August.

Katrina: I look forward to following you this year. We’ll hear much more from you as the months pass and I certainly look forward to meeting you in person.  Thank you so much for being here and congratulations for being voted #1 Most Influential Woman of the year. You definitely deserve it.

 
10 Comments

Posted by on January 15, 2009 in encouragement

 

10 responses to “The #1 Most Influential Woman of 2009—Kay Green

  1. Joyce A. Anthony

    January 15, 2009 at 5:32 am

    First, I want to congratulate you, Kay!!! You are definitely an awesome person! I sure wish I’d known of your products sooner–what wonderful ID kits you have! I look forward to getting to know you better as the year proceeds 🙂

     
  2. Marvin D Wilson

    January 15, 2009 at 1:44 pm

    Congratulations to Kay! You excelled in among a field of excellence and from reading this I can see why. And breastfed your adopted daughter – I’m impressed. Most women nowadays don’t even breastfeed their biological children. Good job today, both of you Kay and Kat.

     
  3. Kay Green

    January 15, 2009 at 4:24 pm

    Thank you both for your kind words. This contest had some amazing women. I feel honored to have even been included.

     
  4. Lynn McMonigal

    January 15, 2009 at 4:56 pm

    Congratulations, Kay. It is an honor to get to know you this week, and it sounds like the title was well deserved!

    Lynn

     
  5. Lea Schizas

    January 15, 2009 at 5:06 pm

    Congratulations, Kay. Child safety is a number one priority and I’m sure many out there are counting their blessings to have come across your shop.

     
  6. Ginger

    January 15, 2009 at 5:17 pm

    Congratulations, Kay. It was nice to get to know you through your interview.

    Ginger

     
  7. Jennifer

    January 15, 2009 at 5:24 pm

    Congrats Kay!! I see why you were definetly worth the most influential in 2009! I agree with the child safety issue and applaud you for making that step!

     
  8. Dianne G Sagan

    January 15, 2009 at 10:01 pm

    Congratulations, Kay, This is a great interview and I very much admire you for all that you’ve done. Child safety is so important and you have certainly met that challenge with great results.

     
  9. Marvin D Wilson

    January 16, 2009 at 9:25 am

    You’ve been TAGGED today at Free Spirit Blog.

     
  10. unwriter1

    January 16, 2009 at 4:45 pm

    Ok, I didn’t get a chance to thank and congratuate all the winners. As far as I’m concerned, there is no number 7 or number 10, each of you are number 1 in my book. I do apologize for being so late on this, but you are all so very special and there is one that was not in the contest that deserves a ton of credit also. So, with that, let’s put our hands together for a nice round of applause for Kat!

     

Leave a Reply

 
