RSS

Do you believe?

17 Jan

There’s a big metal piece of artword that sits on my desk right beyond my laptop. It’s whimsical and rustic…downright beautiful.

It’s a word. One word. And it keeps me moving  in the right direction.

Believe.

believebelieve2believe5Believe.

The inauguration is coming up Jan20th and regardless of how you voted, you’ve got to believe in something. You’ve got to believe one way or the other that we, as a nation and as a human race are going to move towards improvement at some point.

I believe 2009 is going to be a pivotal point in many of our lives whatever our religious or political views. I believe 2009 is the year that will alter many generations to come.

But tonight, I’m asking what you believe. What do you believe YOU can do to change the human race?human-race2 I believe one person can make a change. I believe that very person can be you or me, or even our children. A smile, a hand up (instead of a hand out), one single random act of kindness can change the lack of hope your neighbor has.

human-race31What do you believe YOU can do to change tomorrow? As you’ve heard, we are preparing to launch a challenge for each of you. We are challenging you to live as if you’re out of time…you mayvery well be. I may be. But we’re going to be asking you to literally live in that time frame and asking you to not only live life to the fullest, but to give of yourselves in ways you never believed possible.

We were suppose to launch that campaign today but because of the nature and severity of the challenge, we are taking a few extra days to prepare the challenge for those willing to embark on such a sensitive journey. In the meantime, I’m asking…do you believe you can make a difference in the world and how?

Comments are essential in today’s post.

 
14 Comments

Posted by on January 17, 2009 in encouragement

 

14 responses to “Do you believe?

  1. forumcommunications

    January 18, 2009 at 12:11 am

    I beileve we can all make a difference, because a spark of the divine exists in every human being. Even those who have shrouded their spark in hatred and negativity can be helped to uncover it, but only if we first believe it is there. I believe I can make a difference in the world by sharing the message that it all starts with that one belief in a spark of creation and the love of the creator – but also by acting on that belief in everything I do. My life is rooted in it, my business, my friendships and closer relationships.

     
  2. Wyn

    January 18, 2009 at 12:22 am

    Do I believe that one person can make a difference? Of course, this world is built on one person making a difference one at a time. Do I believe that I will make a difference. Probably not, not anymore. I just feel too old, and yet, yes, and yet, I do hope that I do make a difference to someone’s life. How will I make a difference. I hope that I make a difference by making someone’s day happier and more postiive for them. I hope that I can encourage someone to go ahead and reach for their dream no matter what anyone else thinks of it.

     
  3. Joyce A. Anthony

    January 18, 2009 at 12:23 am

    There is so much I believe I can do, kat-but it isn’t going to happen overnight 😦 Honestly, if all I had was today to make the changes, it wouldn’t happen.

     
  4. Sharon

    January 18, 2009 at 12:28 am

    I believein helping others realize their dreams. Everyone has the ability to make a difference, big or small.

    Sharon

     
  5. Deb Hockenberry

    January 18, 2009 at 12:40 am

    Hi Kat,
    This kind of sounds like ‘pay it forward’. There is so much we can help change that it boggles my mind! I’m starting by recycling & paying it forward.

     
  6. Ginger

    January 18, 2009 at 12:45 am

    What I do everyday of my life has nothing to do with who is going to take over the White House on January 20th. I will continue to treat each day as a gift (although depression sometimes tries to convince me otherwise) and to hand out a smile to those who don’t have one, encourage those who need it, and lend a hand when there is something I can do to make a difference.

    If I’ve learned anything in the years I’ve lived, it’s never take anything for granted. To me, Life is like a big wheel, and we all play an integral part of making it spin. If everyone works together, the ride is smooth, but as soon as some stop doing their part or caring, the journey grows bumpy and problematic. The hope everyone has for the future is contagious. I’m not sure one man can fix the mess we’ve become, but certainly, 2009 is a good year for everyone to join in and pay it forward, and see if we can make a positive difference. I’m game, but then I always am. I’m a glass ‘half-full’ kinda gal. 🙂

    Ginger

     
  7. Katrina Wampler

    January 18, 2009 at 12:46 am

    Absolutely it sounds like “Pay it Forward.” Last week I asked everyone to watch the trailer to Pay it Forward and we will be giving you the challenge to do just that.

     
  8. Katrina Wampler

    January 18, 2009 at 12:50 am

    I’m with you Ginger. My beliefs and desire to change the world has absolutely nothing to do with who will be entering the white house Tuesday. Perhaps even the opposite. But, I do feel as if we are all living on borrowed time and today is the day to change someone else’s life in extraordinary ways.

     
  9. Lea Schizas

    January 18, 2009 at 12:56 am

    Kat, I guess I never really sat down to think what my actions may bring forward…until today. During our Autism Awareness Day at Walmart today my cowriter and I approached people, talked to at least 200 according to the pamphlets handed out, pinned the autism ribbons we spent a few hours cutting and preparing. Now, what struck me today will come after this part:

    many walked by with that look, you know, “Oh oh, they want money. Let me look away and they won’t see me.” (NOTE: we were not asking for money but wanted to talk about autism awareness)

    many surprisingly (and this had me in stitches) said, “I’m sorry, I’m not from around here.” Okay, but autism strikes around the world. Aniyway…

    Where am I going with this? There were many who knew of someone who was touched by autism. BUT, there were so many who had never heard of autism, never heard the statistics, had no clue the government continues to be in their Woody Allen “Sleeper” mode. It was at that moment I realized we are opening the eyes of many who wouldn’t have had the opportunity to be educated if it wasn’t for this special day that we took the time – 11am-5pm – talking and approaching anyone who walked past us.

    Is this pay it forward? Not sure, but to me it felt good.

     
  10. Katrina Wampler

    January 18, 2009 at 1:24 am

    That’s an awesome story Lea and exactly what we are looking for. Statistically, our memory survives 3 generations..if we’re lucky.

    When you spend time passing out information and educating people, you are changing lives and altering the future for generations to come. Long after you’re gone, those that have been touched by your willingness to offer information will forever be changed and pass along their knowledge.

    Thank you so much. I would sure love to sit down and chat with you. My step-son has Aspergers (a high functioning form of autism) and it is so hard for me to relate to him. It is so hard to understand what goes on in his mind and it really henders our family as a whole. Any info or assistance you could give me would certainly be appreciated.

    Thanks again for sharing this and for all you do!

     
  11. annette

    January 18, 2009 at 2:12 am

    I believe everyone deserves hope in their life and I am ready to offer hope to those I meet whether it be spiritually, healthwise, or financially.

     
  12. Patricia A. Guthrie

    January 18, 2009 at 4:16 am

    Hi all.

    Do I believe I can make a difference. You bet. I think (hope) I made a difference in my chilren’s lives every day when I taught school. I hope that I brought joy and beauty into an audiences life when I sang opera all those years ago. I hope I bring emotion, life and new perspectives when I let my book out for sale.

    As authors we have a marvelous opportunity to make a difference.

    Patricia A. Guthrie
    Waterlilies Over My Grave 2008
    in the Arms of the Enemy 2007

     
  13. Ginger

    January 18, 2009 at 7:08 am

    I was just going through my ‘happy memory book’ from the University of California where I worked for over twenty years. Yep…I’ve made a big difference in people’s lives, and I have the emails and letters thanking me for caring and showing that I did. Can’t ask for more of a reward than that. 🙂

    Ginger

     
  14. Marvin D Wilson

    January 18, 2009 at 11:55 am

    The inauguration has symbolic significance, yes – but the REAL change happens at the grass roots level, the one-on-one of interaction between people. Give. Give of your time, your love, give money if you can, your assistance to those in need of help, and think not of the possible return. If you’re keeping mental score, your losing the game, and we all lose together. Let god keep the score, and just keep on giving. That’s my story, and I’m st-st-st-sticking to it.

     

Leave a Reply

 
