RSS

I’m a loser!

21 Jan

Ever hear your kids shout that from across the room or complain that the kids at school threw the big “L” sign againstsuperstock_1779r-97271 their forehead as they passed by? It makes my skin crawl. I hate name calling. Hate mean kids.

But today I got to thinking….does that have to be a bad thing? Does being a loser have to mean we’re less of a person or not good enough? I don’t think so. In fact, I know I’m a loser and I’m all the better for it.

At the age of I’d say 2, I lost a so-called dad that really didn’t deserve me. Sure glad he left now.

At the age of 11, I lost a dear friend. I learned the value of friendship because of it.

At the age of 19, I lost my first child. It made me appreciate the lives I’ve carried and hold on to forever.

At the age of 23, I lost myself. I found myself down a very dark path and lost my hopes and dreams. I lost my vision for life and my focus on a bright future.

At the age of 30, I lost my sanity (not really..though close.lol) I began drinking, partying and hanging out with “friends.”

At the age of 31, I lost my heart. Gave it completely for the first time. Never looked back.

At the age of 32, I nearly lost my life. Which in turned made me lose the alcohol, the partying and the “friends”. I lost my own will and decided to take up the cross and lose everything else that didn’t matter.

At the age of 35, I lost the foolish notion that I could not change anything with one voice, one life, and one thought.

I was wrong. I’m a BIG LOSER and giving thanks everyday for all the things I’ve lost. Giving thanks everyday for all the things I’ve gained due to my losses.

Being the loser that I am, I know now how precious life is. How important true friends are. How much my kids need me sober and how much they depend on my stability and walk with the Lord. I’ve lost the chains of a past that have haunted my entire life. I’ve lost the anger from being sexually abused and I’ve gained a compassion for broken people.

loserSo, in the Wampler household, being a loser is no longer a bad thing. Anytime I hear someone say, ‘you’re a loser’ I shout a hardy AMEN and ask the ‘condemned’ person to proudly announce the things they’ve lost.

Are you a loser? I bet if you dig hard enough, you’ll find you are and you’re a better person because of it.

 
22 Comments

Posted by on January 21, 2009 in encouragement

 

Tags: , , ,

22 responses to “I’m a loser!

  1. Ron Berry

    January 21, 2009 at 5:20 am

    yes I am a loser. I’ve lost the depression that hounded me for years. I’ve lost friends who weren’t really friends in the first place. I’ve lost more than I’ve gained and I’ve gained a lot from all that I’ve lost. I’ve lost the abililty to say I can’t write. I’ve lost the lack of self esteem. But most of all, I’ve lost the me that was because there were too many problems and thanks to a most wonderful friend, I’ve found the new me that should be. The writer that is me. Of course I’ve lost all degree of sanity, but there wan’t much there to lose in the first place.

    I want to help others lose their sadness and find the humor I can offer.

     
  2. Joyce A. Anthony

    January 21, 2009 at 5:29 am

    What a wonderful post, Katrina! I, too, am a big loser-and all the better for most of what I have lost-anger, hatred, pain, addiction. I have come to cherish each and every day and each and every person I allow into my life.

     
  3. Vivian

    January 21, 2009 at 5:39 am

    I’ve lost much over my lifetime, so far. Some were good, some had good lessons, some hurt deeply, but I survived.

    Maybe surviving and keeping faith no matter what the trouble and heartache is the best possible result of being a loser.

    I’m still not sure about the good results of some losses, though. I may never know in this life, either.

     
  4. Shannon Smith

    January 21, 2009 at 6:15 am

    Thank you for this post. I love how you put this. I’m a loser too. And if I’m lucky, I’ll continue to be so. šŸ™‚

     
  5. Lynn McMonigal

    January 21, 2009 at 10:40 am

    Wonderful post!! Love it! Thanks so much for sharing it.

     
  6. Marvin D Wilson

    January 21, 2009 at 11:16 am

    I LOVE THIS POST!! You wonderful LOSER you! Yes – indeed, just like “peeling the onion” to get to the bottom, the core of what we truly are, stripping away all the selfish coatings of pride, false desire fulfillment, ego, attachments to phony dazzling earthly fabrications composed of cosmic dust, all the useless temporary crap that dangles in front of and confuses the vision of spiritual awakening – we must LOSE, Lose, and lose some more, in order to get free.

    I’m with you, Kat – hey you’re reading my book, my memoirs, I Romanced the Stone – so you KNOW what a great LOSER I am. Proud of it. Let’s start up the “Lose-aholics” club – whaddaya say?

     
  7. Deb Hockenberry

    January 21, 2009 at 11:39 am

    Kat,
    Thanks for sharing this post. You said a mouthful. I’m one of the biggest losers too.

     
  8. femaleprodigy

    January 21, 2009 at 2:39 pm

    beautiful post, it truly is great to be a loser and to gain so much in return for it. I’ve never though of it that way but sure will every time I hear my children say it from now on!

     
  9. michellejbuss

    January 21, 2009 at 2:40 pm

    Fabulously well written post.

     
  10. Jen

    January 21, 2009 at 3:06 pm

    Great post Kat, such a good, new way to look at things. Yes, I’m a loser! I lost a lot of friends (some good, some needed to be lost) and lost myself several years ago. I learned from the experience, am finding myself again, and have found one of those friends in the world again, who has now become the love of my life (well, he always was, but now we get to act upon it!) If I had not lost him (and myself) years ago, we would not be where we are now, so yes, being a loser is a great thing!

     
  11. Lea Schizas

    January 21, 2009 at 3:28 pm

    You can’t have ‘winner’ if there isn’t a bit of a ‘loser’ in all of us. What defines us is how we react when we believe we are in ‘loser’ mode. And what is ‘loser’ anyway? It’s a state of mind because of what others have said about your progress so the solution to that is stay away from negative forces. They will drag you down.

     
  12. Katie Hines

    January 21, 2009 at 3:29 pm

    Cool interview. I’m a loser, too!

    http://katiehines.blogspot.com

     
  13. Ginger Simpson

    January 21, 2009 at 3:41 pm

    Great post, Kat. I suppose we’ve all lost something in our lives that has made us respect and cherish what we have left. As for losing…my life has been a great big ‘diet.’ I’ve lost far more than pounds, but gained self-respect, esteem, and friends I’ve never seen. Yep…I’m a big loser and proud of it. We learn and grow by the hurdles we leap in life and boy are my shins bruised. *smile*

     
  14. Margaret Fieland

    January 21, 2009 at 4:02 pm

    Great post. I, too, am a loser. One of the biggest and best things I’ve lost is the illusion that I can control anyone but me.

     
  15. Kristy

    January 21, 2009 at 4:23 pm

    Great post! Really puts things in perspective. I can’t stand it when kids are mean and say things like “loser” either- but this puts a new spin on the term.

     
  16. Gloria Oren

    January 21, 2009 at 4:35 pm

    Marvin mentioned the Lose-aholics club, I’d like to join it too, but fear that there are so many of us losers that there might not be any more room.

    In any case, your post was fantastic. Heck, I was a loser way before I was born. You see, I was adopted at birth, but my adoptive parents had previously adopted a little boy who was stricken with leukemia and died before reaching the age of four. He could have been my brother, so I lost a sibling five years before I was born.

    At birth, I lost my birthmother. Fortunately 41 years later (less eight days) I was found and we have been in each others lives since 1996, making up for lost time (another loss) and sharing in the events of both of our lives. She will, G-d willing, attend my daughter’s wedding in March.

    I’ve lost friends, acquaintances, my adoptive parent’s, and much more. Each loss leaving something to hold onto and learn from.

    I’ve lost my gall bladder and am healthier for it. I’ve lost my reproductive organs in a complete hysterectomy and am healthier and happier for it. I’ve lost all my teeth on the lower jaw and have learned that I can chew again, though it is an adjustment. I’ve lost a good amount of hearing and had to revert to hearing aids, but I’ve learned to adjust and feel more confident about wearing them, mainly thanks to my boss who responded to my confession to him as to why I seemed so down at the time — ” think of it as wearing eyeglasses. You’ll be fine.” And I was.

    The greatest loss to date was losing 24 pounds of unneeded weight and having three-quarters of a closet filled with clothing that no longer fits. I gained health, more energy, and the joy of wearing smaller sized clothes.

    Yes we are all losers, but we are also, for the most part, better individuals because of our losses. Long live the LOSER!

     
  17. Joyce Scarbrough

    January 21, 2009 at 4:53 pm

    I hereby nominate you as the Poster Child for Optimism! šŸ˜‰

    Great post!

     
  18. Ella Susan

    January 21, 2009 at 6:12 pm

    You’re right! It’s not a terrible thing to be a loser. I’m raising my hand as a loser!

     
  19. Connie Arnold

    January 21, 2009 at 10:53 pm

    What a wonderful post, Kat, and a great lesson to learn! I have lost many bad things, for which I’m very thankful, and from the good things I’ve lost I’ve learned valuable lessons. This is a great example of looking for the best in all things, even when it comes to being a loser!

     
  20. PJ

    January 22, 2009 at 2:34 am

    This was such a great piece, Katrina! I can so relate to a lot of it, yet I’ve nver looked at it in this way. Thanks for opening my eyes and heart to accept the things I “lose” out on.

    Loveya, Toots!

     
  21. PJ

    January 22, 2009 at 2:38 am

    Oh, I forgot to say that this piece is consistent with everything you write. You open people’s eyes to see things in a different light; that the undesirable is not so bad after all, and that good always comes of something bad. What an inspiring teacher you are, my friend.

    Hugs!

     
  22. Pam B

    January 22, 2009 at 6:01 am

    Yep. Losing it all the time. Thanks for a great post!

     

Leave a Reply

 
