RSS

What are you looking at?

22 Jan

Have you ever looked in the mirror and not recognized the image staring back at you? Perhaps it’s an extra few pounds, a few gray hair, or a wrinkle here and there. Those things tend to alter the view.fun-house3

But what if when what you see looking back at you is nothing of what you remember? The person you see is not at all the person that roams around in your memories. Maybe you look like you’ve got it all together but inside you see a different person.

I met a wonderful man about five years ago. The most incredible man I’d ever met. The answer to every prayer I’d sent up since the age of four. He smiled at me with the most amazing sense of peace and I knew he was the one. For the first time in my life, I knew someone really loved me. However, when I looked in the mirror, I couldn’t understand what he saw. Nothing made sense to me. I wasn’t the wonderful person he believed me to be. I wasn’t this passionate, caring, great person he made me out to be. My fear was, sooner or later, he’d see the real me and I’d be done for.

After all, I’d made so many mistakes in my life. I’d been divorced. I’d hurt people. I’d lied, not been to church, had an anger issue. There was a million reason he shouldn’t love me. He saw none of it. I was overweight, out of shape and headed to an early grave. He never saw it.

funhouse2It’s the same way with God. We see all the things we’ve done wrong. We see all the reasons He shouldn’t love us and forgive us.  He sees none of it. When we ask for forgiveness, He casts our sins to the depths of the sea and as far as the east is from the west to be remembered no more. So what we see when we look at ourselves is a distorted image. It isn’t the image He sees at all. He doesn’t see all the mistakes we’ve made. All the wrongs we’ve committed don’t hang on us like a big red “A”.  He sees His child coming home. He sees the heart He resides in. He sees a new beginning.

Becoming “distortion free” takes an act of courage and one big giant step of faith. Changing the image we see takes understanding that we are new creations in Christ..the old is gone and the new has come.funhouse3

What do you see when you look at yourself? Do you see what He sees? If not, quit looking in the fun-house mirrors and take a look up.

 
6 Comments

Posted by on January 22, 2009 in encouragement

 

6 responses to “What are you looking at?

  1. unwriter1

    January 22, 2009 at 6:22 pm

    I now see me. I see who I am. That’s saying a lot because I spent 61 years looking at ugly. I saw rejection, my lack of ability to do anything. I was always wrong. God connected me with an Angel that put me on the proper path. She erased my low self esteem and showed me that my talent was as a writer. I thank her constantly. I’m still not distortion free, but I am now much better than I was.

    A very good post my friend.

     
  2. Lynn McMonigal

    January 22, 2009 at 9:10 pm

    I look in the mirror and see my Grandmother. Not all bad, as I know she was a good, Christian woman.

     
  3. Joyce A. Anthony

    January 22, 2009 at 9:39 pm

    This post is one to think about, Katrina. I was born with “different” eyes-and my son says it is because God knew I wanted to see the world differently. In any case, my issue isn’t how differently God and I see me–it is how differently the world see me. I’m comfortable in the knowledge that God sees all I am–and loves me anyway 🙂

     
  4. Marvin D Wilson

    January 22, 2009 at 11:09 pm

    Love the distorted images. Perfect. Because that’s what most of us see in the mirror. Distorted images. God sees us in our perfection. And He longs to see Himself THRU us as a reflection of Him.

    Sometimes I see that, sometimes I don’t. Just being honest.

     
  5. Connie Arnold

    January 24, 2009 at 12:58 am

    Wow, what a great post, Katrina! I had a distorted image of myself for many years but finally have come to the point where I can (usually) look upwards and inside myself to see God’s light shining and overshadowing my imperfections. Thanks so much for sharing this!

     
  6. Lindsey@A Kindred Spirit's Thoughts

    January 24, 2009 at 3:20 pm

    Wow – what a great post. So thought-provoking and … well, something we all need to hear. I really need to put something on the bathroom mirror to remind myself that it’s God I need to be looking at. I find myself wanting to be perfect and am definitely my harshest critic. Thanks for the reminder that despite all my imperfections, God loves me and that’s what really matters.

     

Leave a Reply

 
