RSS

Down right depressing…or is it?

31 Jan

With the economy crashing as fast as I can make a pot of coffee, I can’t help but wondering what steps I should be taking to prepare myself. I mean, how well can you prepare for a great depression? And is there more to it than a depression on the way?

I can only speak for myself as a Christian when I say, I believe there is a LOT more to it than the fall of our financial status as a country. I believe it means we are actually living in the end days and we’ll see Christ’s return sooner than later. With that being said, the thought of the depression simply depresses me.  Our days are numbered (in a stronger sense than living to die)

I found this article this morning. http://www.worldnetdaily.com Take a look at it if you have a minute. So much of it rings true and it doesn’t look good. I asked my husband to read it. His comment, “interesting”. For me, it’s frightening.

It’s odd. As a Christian, I should not fear Jesus’ return. It should be something I long for. Something I’m ready for. Truth is, it scares me. I know what’s coming. I know I’m ready in the sense that I’ve completely given my heart to Christ and am ready to meet Him. But I have a fear (as irrational as it may seem) that I will get there and not be able to locate my kids. We joke about my daughter hanging out at the feast, my youngest son hanging from a tree, and my oldest stalking DC talk to a live concert. Either way, what if I get there and I can’t find them. As odd as they may sound, I’m just not ready for the rapture for that reason.

As far as the depression. As a family, we are attempting to live on as little as possible. Looking into staying in a small house as apposed to buying a larger one with a larger payment. We’re storing food up and spending a lot of time in prayer.

What about you? What is your view on this? How are you preparing for the depression this country/world is headed for?  Does the thought of the rapture bring you comfort or fear? Am I alone in my worries? Your comments and thoughts are no only welcomed but greatly needed today.

 
7 Comments

Posted by on January 31, 2009 in encouragement

 

7 responses to “Down right depressing…or is it?

  1. Lynnae

    January 31, 2009 at 5:33 pm

    I saw your post on Twitter.

    I’m looking forward to the rapture, but then I have an almost teenage daughter, and I think that scares me more than anything. I always said I wanted the rapture to happen before she gets her driver’s license. LOL

    My husband lost his job two different times in 2007, and we went through a great deal of financial difficulty then. But, God was faithful, and he provided us with everything we needed. I think after that experience, I’m not really afraid of the coming depression. Yes, things might get hard, but God will be walking with us the whole way, and He won’t let us down. And I truly believe He gives you what you need in the moment, whether it is food, housing, or just the mental strength to get through hard times.

    Take heart, he has overcome the world.

     
  2. Dr Rus Jeffrey

    January 31, 2009 at 5:38 pm

    Hey there Kat!

    While I hear what you’re saying here, as a Christian I think we’re living in a glorious time. Now more than ever people are looking for a message of hope. As a matter of fact, President Obama was swept to the White House on that very thought. His message of “hope” while hallow at best, struck a note with people.

    How am I preparing for the depression?

    By realizing we live a life of cycles. I refuse to buy into the fear tactics of the media and others in places of power screaming “the sky is falling and all is lost.” I believe we’re poised and ready to enter the most “hopeful” time of our lives. Peter encourages us to “always be prepared to give an answer for the hope that you have, and do so with gentleness and kindness.”

    Kat, keep encouraged and know there is a plan to prosper us and not harm us, providing us with Hope for the Future.

    Dr. Rus

     
  3. marksandlin

    January 31, 2009 at 5:46 pm

    As a minister I have to say, I think we should live every minute as if the ender is near and that is not a fearful thing, but I also do not believe that we will ever know if the end is near – “No man shall no the hour.” Ultimately, we are called to be our best selves at every minute and trust in God for the rest. Just my 2 cents.

     
  4. joylene

    January 31, 2009 at 5:50 pm

    I feel optimistic. Hard times bring out the best in people. My parents witnessed that during WW2. People are decent by nature. I believe we’re going to see powerful examples of people helping people. Oh, sure there will be horrible stories too, but we need to stay strong. Enjoy those things in life that cost nothing: a sunset, a baby’s laughter, a smile.

     
  5. Paul McDermott

    January 31, 2009 at 10:17 pm

    I’ve been through as much as I would ever want anyone to have to cope with over the last 12 – 18 months, beginning with rapidly deteriorating health (after 50+ years of never needing to VISIT a doctor!) and continuing with being forced into early retirement, and the breakdown of a marriage I thought would last forever……….

    So I try to prepare myself for a different set of circumstances and living conditions….
    and maybe, just maybe the Second Coming IS closer than we think. ….

    I’ve knocked around the world over the years, travelled, lived … well, maybe not a RICH life but not a poor one, either – certainly a satisfying one, and until recently
    [see above] with few/NO regrets …

    I get the definite impression that Someone Up There is trying to tell me it’s time to ask myself: what are the IMPORTANT things in life? Can you ‘do without’ something? If so, maybe this is the time to cut yourself loose from all the things we “depend on” for our creature comforts, and

    ♪ “Sell the house, sell the car buy a ticket for the West Coast” ♪ [remember that song?]

    Maybe I won’t “give them a standup routine in LA”, but I could live on ‘VERY little somewhere on the West Coast of Ireland, and get ALL my creative writing organised in the time I have left to me.

    Food for thought: specifically, from Matthew 11:vii ff:

    “What did you go out into the wilderness to see? A reed shaken by the
    wind? But what did you go out to see? A man dressed in soft clothing?
    Those who wear soft clothing are in kings’ palaces! But what did you go
    out to see? A prophet? Yes, I tell you, and one who is more than a prophet.

    Maybe there’s a lesson for us all … what do I know? I’m just a plain,
    ordinary RC, never been a Bible-thumper or deep thinker, just me …

     
  6. Michelle

    February 1, 2009 at 9:58 pm

    Hi Kat,
    You know, I had the same fears about not knowing where my family was when we are brought “HOME”, but have recently had a new thought about this. I really have given my children and husband to the Lord…and this has caused me to relax in the here and now. I know that He loves them more than I ever could, and He has a wonderful plan for them. In the same way…those thoughts have also been coming to mind when I think about going “HOME”. I know that my kids and husband will be there, and somehow I just know that I will not have worry like I do here. All of that will be washed away.

    As far as the economy/depression, we are saving as much as we can in every area (which is good advice at anytime), but we are not anxious about what lies ahead. We have a history of knowing the goodness of God, and that is what we are focusing on these days. I am spending most of my time preparing spiritually…. just drawing closer to Him, and to be comforted in His wings is what will get me through these difficult times.

    I hope this eases your worries some.
    Michelle P

     
  7. Joyce A. Anthony

    February 3, 2009 at 11:44 pm

    I can honestly say neither the recession nor the Second Coming scare me. I believe whole-heartedly that everything happens as it should. With that being the case, worry serves no purpose.

     

Leave a Reply

 
