RSS

Sick of playing nice!

12 Feb

Ok, I’m sick of playing nice here. Sick of wearing a painted smile and offering a nod of acceptance no matter what’s going on around me.

I noticed a sign outside the local elementary school this morning. It isn’t the one my children attend, but it is close by. Each week they have a ‘character trait’ they discuss with this kids.

Maybe I’m getting old and moody but here lately, some of these things are starting to get to me. This week’s word is “Tolerance”.  For some reason that really rubs me the wrong way. Do I teach my kids tolerance? Absolutely NOT! Now, before I get a bunch of hate mail, read on. Then you can email me if you’d like.

As a Christian family, I believe tolerance is unacceptable. We have become tolerant of way too many things already. We’ve become tolerant of everyone’s feelings, opinions and beliefs that we now have no prayer in school and will soon have “In God we trust” removed from our money. We don’t want to ruffle any feathers or hurt anyone’s feelings so we allow anything to take place right in front of our eyes and we don’t dare stand up or speak out.

Because of our tolerance, babies die everyday, cartoons and kid shows freely display h0mosexual relationships to my children and some schools are handing out birth control without parent’s permission.

We’re suppose to smile and offer a silent prayer when the role models our children look up to are busted for illegal drugs. We are suppose to be ‘nice’ and tolerable. I’m sick of playing nice.

What happens when a Christian stands up to voice their thoughts and opinions. Tolerance is quickly tossed out the window. We are to be tolerant of everything but we are being persecuted for not g0ing with the status-quo.

My oldest son wears nothing but shirts with bible verses on them EVERY day to school. One day he wore one that said, ” I broke a rule, I prayed in school.” Now, let me remind you, we live in the bible belt. His teacher demanded he turn the shirt inside out. “That’s intolerable'” she said. Certainly you all know me well enough by now to predict what MY CHILD did next.

Being the strong Christian Wampler child he is, he stood toe to toe and said, “It’s called freedom of religion and freedom of speech. I dare you to mess with my constitutional rights.  Dealing with my mom won’t be any better.” She got quiet and he quickly pointed to the child next t0 him wearing a shirt with a Swastika and said, “if that’s acceptable, don’t bother with me.”

The principal was a bit disturbed that my son didn’t do as he was told.  I know, I’m a bad mom. I don’t teach my children to do as any adult tells them to. They have their own brains and are very clear about right and wrong. One rule in our house is… there comes a time when you have to stand up and fight. Adults aren’t always right. And whatever it costs you, go with your convictions and beliefs first and foremost.

When the school wants to cram evolution down their throats and demand they write a paper on why evolution is the reason for 0ur existance, my kids never fail to voice their thoughts and write a paper about creation. No doubt they take a failing grade, but we frame it and put it right next to the rest of the many awards they receive.

Don’t get me wrong. Another rule in our house is…you never have a right to be mean to any0ne regardless of their beliefs.  But we aren’t to accept just anything because we are told to. We also aren’t meant to sit by quietly and pretend we don’t have a voice.

As I drove past the sign this morning, I wondered what they could possibly be trying to convince us is acceptable now?

 
14 Comments

Posted by on February 12, 2009 in encouragement

 

14 responses to “Sick of playing nice!

  1. Willox Perez

    February 12, 2009 at 5:15 pm

    Good blog I do agree with you said! =) It makes perfect sense to me!

    Some days are rough and tough but once those past by the rest is a joy ride =)

    Take care thanks for sharing.

     
  2. lfamous

    February 12, 2009 at 5:18 pm

    First, as a Christian, I completely agree with most of what you said. But I think the key may be the word “tolerance” itself. I found this definition online: “the power or capacity of an organism to tolerate unfavorable environmental conditions.”

    I don’t know how they teach tolerance at that school, but I’m fine with teaching my kids the tolerance described above.

     
  3. Paul McDermott

    February 12, 2009 at 5:37 pm

    Oh, WOW!!

    And here’s me, sitting on the banks of the Mersey and looking at British politicians with the morals of a feral tomcat trying to tell ME [practicing RC who fully intends to “keep practicing until I get it RIGHT”!!] how I have to watch my step and be very careful not to offend “ethnic minorities” by celebrating Christmas, Easter, insisting on my RIGHT to attend church rather than drive a minibus for a Youth Club (NOT associated with any church) on a day out ……….

    PS Latest “folly” — I am no longer allowed to ask for a “black coffee” in the staffroom…. 😦

     
  4. Katrina Wampler

    February 12, 2009 at 5:40 pm

    are you serious about the black coffee?

    This is what makes my blood boil! I refuse to walk on egg shells. I refuse to be quiet about my faith. I don’t cram it down anyone’s throat but I won’t hide it either. I am so proud of my kids for always standing up!

     
  5. Marvin D Wilson

    February 12, 2009 at 6:24 pm

    Excellent rant. You GO, GF!!

     
  6. Katrina Wampler

    February 12, 2009 at 6:36 pm

    Ifamous,

    unfavorable environmental conditions is one things. Things we can’t control or have no say so over. Social conditions in another thing entirely and I don’t believe we should have to tolerate them.

    Thanks for your comment

     
  7. onecoffeejunkie

    February 12, 2009 at 7:47 pm

    Hi – I’m new to blogging and this is my first time to visit your blog. I have to say, though, that I completely agree with you. As a Christian, I don’t think I should have to be tolerant of the way everybody else wants to live their lives, especially if it affects mine. At the same time, I don’t expect everyone around me to be tolerant of my lifestyle. If someone doesn’t believe in God, or opposes my views, maybe they would be happier spending time with someone other than me!

     
  8. Katie Hines

    February 12, 2009 at 8:56 pm

    I hear you, Kat. I’ve been appalled at how, already, the Obama administration has signed a bunch of bills quietly, stepping the clock back on things Christians had put into effect. It is like when a christian is in office, we work hard on not losing any ground, but maintaining the status quo. Then, when a non-Christian gets in office, all of the sudden, changes–ungodly changes–occur in the blink of an eye.

    Christian discrimmination runs rampant, and we should not sit down, we should not tolerate ungodly people in government in our country.

     
  9. Gloria Oren

    February 13, 2009 at 2:46 pm

    Kat, what a fabulous post. Growing up Jewish, and discovering my paternal Christian heritage (my birth father wasn’t Jewish), post-reunion it hurts to see the workings of our government today corrupting the efforts of our forefathers who formed the foundations of our country. The U.S.A. was formed on Judeo-Christian ethics. Why should “In G-d We Trust” be removed from our money? Why should the Pledge of Allegiance be taken out of schools? As a Jewish child going to a public school I had said that pledge many times over. Nothing happened to me as a result. If you ask me back in those days people were more tolerant of each other than today without stressing the fact, I think it was called common sense, back then. I’m glad your kids are sticking up for what they believe. What got me the most, and should worry parents more than tolerance is that schools allow kids to wear shirts with swastikas on them, yet are against anything with Biblical reference, whether the New Testament or the original Old Testament. May G-d bless us all and keep us far away from harms way. Have a great day.

     
  10. Katrina Wampler

    February 13, 2009 at 2:53 pm

    Just curious, why when you write the name God, do you omit the ‘o’? I,ve seen that several times online and I just don’t get it.

    Thanks so much for your comment. My husband and his family are Jewish so combining our family has taken a lot of patience. He is a lot more tolerant that I am. I simply refuse to walk on egg shells so everyone else can breathe easy. There are a lot of things I don’t agree with but like I tell my kids, “what someone else does behind their doors is between them and GOD, not me”. But my freedoms and beliefs shouldn’t be hushed to make someone else feel better.

     
  11. Lois

    February 13, 2009 at 6:23 pm

    It’s easy to go through life tolerating wrong but we are only hurting ourselves.

     
  12. madcapmaggie

    February 13, 2009 at 7:29 pm

    Kat, I agree with parts of what you said — the stuff about standing up for what you believe in. I can see from what you say that my beliefs aren’t the same as yours — still —

    I would find the shirt with the swastika intolerable — not your son’s shirt —

    As to prayers in school — that’s a mixed bag for me — my personal preference would be to allow anyone who has a problem to opt out of praying — but that’s just me …

     
  13. Katrina Wampler

    February 13, 2009 at 7:31 pm

    I agree with you on praying. No one should have to pray.. but to attempt to prevent someone from praying is equally wrong.

     
  14. Gloria Oren

    February 16, 2009 at 5:16 pm

    Kat you said:
    Just curious, why when you write the name God, do you omit the ‘o’? I,ve seen that several times online and I just don’t get it.

    Orthodox Jews omit the ‘o’ replacing it with a dash so as not to write the name of the Holy one in vain. I learned this from third grade when I transfered to an Orthodox girls’ school, even though my family was conservative, and have been writing it that way since.

     

Leave a Reply

 
