RSS

It won’t be like this for long

15 Feb

Their rooms are a wreck. So much so that I could pull my hair out. How do they live in that mess? Could be a health hazard. To be sure it is.

I climb the steps. Aahhh, my own space. My own quiet solitude. I have the entire upper floor to myself. Or so I thought. No sooner am I standing naked over a tub full of warm fluffy bubbles do I hear, “don’t touch me…stop…Mom” Will it ever end? Does the stress of parenting and the pressure of refereeing ever come to an end or is this the 18 + year sentence that must be paid due to a love affair gone terribly wrong thirteen years ago?

Have you ever wanted to just get in the car and drive away? Thelma and Louise if you will ( I certainly would LOVE to). If I have to break up one more fight or pick up one more dirty pair of socks, I’m going to blow my top.

Just as I’m ready to check out, I think of my dear friend Christi Phillips that buried her baby girl Kaylen just three weeks ago. Four months old. I bet she’d change places with me in a heart beat. I bet many moms would.

Join us Feb 22-23 as we host a fundraiser for Kaylen’s Write to Heal to raise $5000 for moms that are suffering with the death of a child. Just $1 at a time, we’ll be offering hope and encouragment during a painful time.  Join us and hear from Kaylen’s mom and how YOUR letters have touched her life.

kaylen_button

TweetIt from HubSpot

 
5 Comments

Posted by on February 15, 2009 in encouragement

 

Tags: , , , , , ,

5 responses to “It won’t be like this for long

  1. Ron Berry

    February 15, 2009 at 6:26 pm

    The last of our children, Kyle just moved out. But then not two days later, I was babysitting my new granddaughter. The empty nest syndrome hurts, but the sheer pleasure of holding Twidget helps to make up for it. When I get sad that our children no longer are children, I call my daughter and ask to babysit. This precious bundle of love makes my life complete.

     
  2. Katrina Wampler

    February 15, 2009 at 6:27 pm

    I’ve got a few you can babysit. I’ll pack them up right now

     
  3. Ron Berry

    February 15, 2009 at 8:29 pm

    send them on!

     
  4. Marvin D Wilson

    February 16, 2009 at 12:17 am

    This is a WONDERFUL post and I see you got your “tweet this” button up, so I just tweeted it out from the twittertops! (hope you twittered mine – you twittly tweety twitter tush you! LOL)

     
  5. Joyce A. Anthony

    February 16, 2009 at 3:20 am

    They grow up so quickly, Katrina 😦 I keep adding other kids to my household though–I can’t imagine it ever being empty. No problem-I always wanted a houseful!

     

Leave a Reply

 
