RSS

Before you say I Do

16 Feb

Spring is just around the corner and with Valentine’s Day just moments in the past, love could quite possibly still be lingering in the air somewhere. Or at the very least in the water. June is the leading month for weddings so that gives you a good 4 months at best.

You’ve found the perfect guy and all is right with the world. BUT…before you go saying I DO, there’s someone I want you to meet…

alisa-benay-logo

Alisa Benay is one of our featured Work At Home Moms  on WAHMs week. You can not even think of walking down the aisle until you’ve seen her amazing line of wedding gowns. I don’t even like dresses (don’t own one, won’t wear one) and I’m ready to run out and buy one.  Take a look.

feature-wedding-gownAre these not gorgeous? Alisa is located in Colorado Springs and will be hosting a launch party event on March 14 & 15, just in time for your Summer wedding.

Want to know more about Alisa? Here’s a few things she listed as random things you may not know about her:

1) I tagged every 3rd person on my list at random.

2) I got married when I was 21. Which was apparently way before the rest of you.

3) I want to like coffee, but I don’t. I will occasionally drink a latte, but it’s got to have flavored syrup in it.

4) I have never travelled internationally. I’m not for sure how that happened.

5) I’m a night person. But Kevin & the kids are not, so I have to work to adjust my body clock. Left on my own, I would sleep from 1-9 am.

6) I love to read fiction. Snarky chic lit is my favorite.

7) I worked for the state of Arkansas in the international economic development division once. I know, that job doesn’t match up with the rest of my career, but there you go.

8) I gave birth w/o drugs once. Not recommended, is all I have to say about that.

9) I was pregnant with my 3rd & visiting my parents in Arkansas when 9/11 happened. The girls & I had tickets to fly back the next day & ended up stuck there another week.

10) I grew up in the Church of Christ, but have since left it.

11) I am a kick ass pattern maker.

12) I was Jr. Miss Faulkner County in 1989. Which is totally embarrassing.

13) I am learning social networking & frustrated that it takes up so much of my day.

14) I rarely wear make-up.

She is one amazing lady and an incredible deisnger. Be sure to stop in today to take a look at her designs and get a ticket to the Launch Party. You won’t to miss it.

We’re giving away goody bags each day this week. They are full of samples and info from some of our moms this week. Want to win one? Be sure to leave a comment here and/or ask our moms a question. Each morning, two winners will be announced from the day before. Want to win a door prize? Leave a comment for each mom passing through, (two a day) to have y0ur name in the hat for some great prizes.

 
8 Comments

Posted by on February 16, 2009 in encouragement

 

Tags: , , , ,

8 responses to “Before you say I Do

  1. Gloria Oren

    February 16, 2009 at 3:32 pm

    As a mother of a bride-to-be I have one question–why do gowns have to cost so much? When I got married in 1979 (abroad) I rented my gown. Now not only are they costly, but what does a gal do with it after the day she uses it? It’s not like she’ll wear it to the next evening out. Looking for a gown for me I searched for something not too plain, yet not too extravagant so I could perhaps find a use for it in the future. I surely didn’t expect to pay as much as I did. In two words, sticker shock.

     
  2. Katrina Wampler

    February 16, 2009 at 4:41 pm

    I’m trying to think of what I did with my dress so many years ago..and Lord knows it was expensive. Worth it, I suppose for the designer but high. I think my dd ended up using to play dress up once I got divorced. lol

    Good think I’m not sentimental at all.

    Good question Gloria and congrats on your daughter’s upcoming wedding.

     
  3. Katie Hines

    February 16, 2009 at 4:57 pm

    I used to wear make-up all the time. I lived and worked in a city where you not just wore make-up, but you wore dresses or skirts almost all the time and always, always heels & make-up. So glad to be out of that regimen.

     
  4. Katrina Wampler

    February 16, 2009 at 4:59 pm

    wow Katie, I dont even an own a dress. Didn’t wear one when I remarried this past summer. My kids joke and say I’m really the dad.

     
  5. Marvin D Wilson

    February 16, 2009 at 8:59 pm

    Fabulous gown designs. And any woman who can give birth without drugs is a strong woman.

     
  6. Lea Schizas

    February 17, 2009 at 1:06 am

    Almost makes me want to get married again and wear one of these designs.

     
  7. Kristy R

    February 17, 2009 at 4:38 am

    Wow gorgeous designs! And I love your logo design as well!

     
  8. Shannon Smith

    February 17, 2009 at 6:28 am

    My mom used to joke that I’d wear a pants suit when I got married. Although the jury is still out on whether or not I’ll ever get married, I promised her it would be in a dress. LOL

    These are beautiful and would certainly make it easier to give in and wear one.

     

Leave a Reply

 
