RSS

The 100 Year Rule

18 May

Are you a worrier? Maybe not so much a worrier but someone that stresses over absolutely everything. Every detail of every detail.

I have a dear friend…love her to pieces but dear God she stresses over every minute detail of her life. Everything bothers her. Seeing a candy wrapper in her yard sends her soaring into some wild out of control rage. My kids and I just stand back and watch in amazement.

I certainly use to live that way. Everything had to be perfect. Everything had to go according to plan. Having a heart attack and given a 1% chance to live with a pulmonary embolism kind of changes that. I now live by what a dear friend of mine and I call “The 100 Year Rule”

Simply put, if it won’t matter 100 years from now, it doesn’t matter in this moment. Things like laundry out of place or my kids report card not being what I’d hoped for really won’t exist in the bigger picture.

My daughter struggles with Math…she has dyscalculia (the math form of dyslexia). She spent many nights this year crying over it until I said one day… “Whether or not you ever learn to multiple is not the goal in life. Do your best at everything but remember, in 100 years no one is going to say…she sure could spit out those multiplication tables. How you live for Christ and what you’ve done with your life for Him is what will be passed down 100 years from now. Love the Lord with all your heart and focus on the bigger picture.”

I try real hard to live my life that way now. How are you living? What matters to you today? Will it matter 100 years from now? If not, leave it alone.

That’s just my logic….Kat Logic

 
4 Comments

Posted by on May 18, 2009 in encouragement

 

4 responses to “The 100 Year Rule

  1. Ron Berry

    May 18, 2009 at 10:45 pm

    It is good to see you back in action! Missed ya. As for hte 100 year rule, that is my lifestyle. I don’t stress over anything, it’s not worth it. I have kids and a new granddaughter and I refuse to let stress rule my life. I am ruled by laughter.

     
  2. Joyce A. Anthony

    May 18, 2009 at 11:09 pm

    Kat: Shane has discalculia-I know the frustration your daughter feels 😦 I’m one of those people who doesn’t find a whole lot to hang onto. I do worry endlesly about people and my furkids, but things like perfection, housework, plans changing…not a problem.

     
  3. paizefiddler

    May 21, 2009 at 11:32 pm

    testing

     
  4. Rebecca

    May 22, 2009 at 2:57 am

    I love this and it is so true we have to look at the bigger picture and I will need to keep this in mind with my 4 year old son. Thanks for this I loved it..

     

Leave a Reply

 
