RSS

Hearing God Speak

31 May

I’ve been reading lately about how to really hear God speaking in your life.  I don’t know about you, but with the noise of work, kids, marriage, etc…hearing God can become difficult. Sometimes it seems impossible.

I spent most of my life believing God only speaks to a few people. A very select few and I would not be one of them. I am learning different.

I’ve been going through some pretty tough battles lately and I’ve been asking God to not only reveal Himself to me but to speak so loudly I could not mistake his voice. I only heard silence. Well… not silence. I have heard the constant screaming, cursing, and bickering from a ‘friend’ I’ve attempted to help this summer. (No good deed goes unpunished..just a little tip there).

The other day it had gotten particularly bad. It takes a lot to anger me, but let me say.. I was there. Blood boiling, jaws clenched, kids ducking behind the car worried of what I might be doing. No, I was not mad at them. Quite the opposite. They’ve made me right proud lately.

Anyway, so I’m cryin out to God asking Him to please speak to me. To please show me what to do in this situation. I heard Him so clearly, “You can’t hear me when I speak for all the noise and chaos you are in now. Get out and get peace.”  With all the mess going on lately, I simply could not hear Him.

As parents, we know how that goes. We could talk until we are blue in the face but with all the racket in the kids’ rooms, they tune us out. They don’t hear what we need to say because they are surrounded by noise.  We have to go in their rooms, point to the radio and give them the signal to turn it down.

God does the same with us. So, I’m getting out of the situation that has me so nuts lately. Watch for updates as I move on and listen closer to God.

What noise do you have in your life that is preventing you from hearing God? Turn down the music, hush the chaos and listen close. He’s speaking.

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on May 31, 2009 in encouragement

 

Leave a Reply

 
