RSS

To die or not to die? That is the question!

15 Jun

Have you ever seen Tuck Everlasting? If not, watch this video below.

This family faces the unfortunate realization that the life they live will never end. Jesse falls in love and wants Winnie to join him. Though she loves him and wants to be with him, being on this earth forever is not worth it. I can’t say I blame her.

I’ve often said there are worse things than dieing. There are worse things than saying good-bye to those you love, leaving this life of war and famine and going on to face eternity.

You may not agree.

I’ve faced many trials in my life. I’ve been through sexual abuse, physical abuse (all as a child). I’ve survived many suicidal thoughts and attempts. I’ve overcome alcoholism and destructive behavior. I’ve buried too many friends and had too many broken hearts. Through all this, I still believe dieing is not the worse thing.

As I was explaining to my children tonight, there is hope in knowing there is at least an end too the things this hard life brings. It brings much joy but to think of all the horrible things…war, hunger, crime. I would not want to go on in this life forever.

What do you think? Would you choose to live forever or accept the life you’re given as long as you’re given it?

 
3 Comments

Posted by on June 15, 2009 in encouragement

 

3 responses to “To die or not to die? That is the question!

  1. Brenda Wood

    July 9, 2009 at 11:26 am

    I am constantly astonished that so many women have the same background. Kat, your story could be mine. Let our goal be that this new generation of girls may be spared the abuse that the last one has suffered. Brenda Wood

     
  2. anotherpilgrim

    July 13, 2009 at 5:49 pm

    The following quote always comes to mind…

    “Our life is a short time in expectation, a time in which sadness and joy kiss each other at every moment. There is a quality of sadness that pervades all the moments of our life. It seems that there is no such a thing as a clear-cut pure joy, but that even in the most happy moments of our existence we sense a tinge of sadness. In every satisfaction, there is an awareness of limitations. In every success, there is the fear of jealousy. Behind every smile, there is a tear. In every embrace, there is loneliness. In every friendship, distance. And in all forms of light, there is the knowledge of surrounding darkness.”

    “But this intimate experience in which every bit of life is touched by a bit of death can point us beyond the limits of our existence. It can do so by making us look forward in expectation to the day when our hearts will be filled with perfect joy, a joy no one shall take away from us.”

    -Henri Nouwen

     
  3. Terri

    August 12, 2009 at 6:36 pm

    I would not want to live forever. GOD had a plan for us long before we were here physically, on Earth. I believe the trials we go thru are there for a reason. It is not our place to question HIS judgement. Yes, we have paths we can take but HE puts them there for a reason. We know coming into this world that we are here for as long as the LORD wants us here. When our job is done, we will return home. Am I ready to go home, no but when my time comes, I will be ready!

     

Leave a Reply

 
