RSS

The pros and cons of Homeschooling.

23 Jun

When my children were younger, I homeschooled them.  We loved it. Unfortunately, I divorced and had to go to a day job and put my children in public school. Thankfully, they’ve had some great schools.

That is not the case now.

So, I’m weighing the options of going back to homeschooling. Their ages are 10,12,13. The oldest is going into 8th grade. Of course we would get very involved in extra curricular activities with other homeschoolers. We’d be very involved in our church.

The community we are in leaves a lot to be desired in the way of morals, ethics and positive influences. The thought of putting my children in a public school in this community for eight full hours a day just sends chills up my spine.  Finding other friends and acquaintances that share our belief system is becoming increasingly difficult as time goes on.  So, I’m back on the road to find the right thing for my children.

Any advice would be greatly appreciated. What are your pros and cons for HSing? Do you HS? Why or Why not?

If we do choose to HS, I will definitely share that experience with you all. I look forward to hearing your thoughts.

 
7 Comments

Posted by on June 23, 2009 in encouragement

 

7 responses to “The pros and cons of Homeschooling.

  1. Katie

    June 23, 2009 at 4:40 pm

    I think you probably already know the pros and cons, Katrina.

    But there is now a third option which is in the middle and which might, in your case, be a good route to take. It’s the option we’re currently taking with our older two, who are going into 6th and 7th grade.

    The option is e-schools. There are now hundreds of thousands of children in e-schools across the country, in a wide range of schools with a wide range of focuses and methods of schooling. I chose OHVA, an Internet-run charter school publicly funded for students in the state of OH, because they use the K12 curriculum. To be quite honest, I couldn’t say enough good things about the K12 curriculum. It is not a Christian curriculum, but it was created by people who believe that learning should be interactive and fun, and that parents should be intimately involved in their children’s education. And it is excellent. Now that my older two are moving toward the higher grades, I no longer feel that I have the time available to re-learn everything in ever subject, teach it, grade it, and do everything necessary to give them a quality education. Yet, like you, I am not comfortable with putting my children in public school. This option gives me the best of both…I am given a curriculum that I love, with lesson plans, and for which most subjects (in these grades) is automatically graded for me. I am told the many different ways I can modify the curriculum to suit my schedule. And this expensive curriculum and the computers to run it are provided for out of my tax dollars.

    The result is that, in return for the slight inconveniences necessitated by the school so that they conform to state standards (counting hours of school and standardized tests), my kids are getting an absolutely wonderful education, and they’re still home with me. And they’re making friends with many of the other k12 and OHVA students in our area.

    I don’t remember what state you’re in, but visit k12.com and see if there’s a publicly-funded school in your state that uses it. Take a look at the sample lessons and subjects, and ask me any questions you want.

    As for my 3rd grader, I’m still homeschooling her traditionally for several reasons. 1) I like the Christian values in the Abeka readers and I think they’re important for younger grades. 2) I already have almost all the books from my other two. 3) I don’t feel like I need the help that I do for the other two, and 3) I value the flexibility more at these younger grades, while I’m still working on instilling a love of learning.

     
  2. Katie

    June 23, 2009 at 4:45 pm

    PS. Here’s the link for 27 states that currently have public-funded schools using K12. http://k12.com/schools-programs/online-public-schools/

     
  3. Korah

    June 23, 2009 at 5:02 pm

    Hi,
    I homeschool and love it.. I pulled my oldest out when he was in 7th grade because he was just suffering in school and the school wasn’t doing anything about it.. he hated everything about school, well, except for his buddies… lol

    He has really blossomed at home, and doesn’t totally detest it any longer.. he will be in 10th grade next fall and will use a web academy… its very flexible and still allows him to be involved in the sports program at the locat ps… which is good for him as he loves football.. my only regret is that I didn’t start sooner… my youngest is 4yrs and I plan on homeschooling him from the beginning.. its great to be able to focus on your children’s needs and teach then they way it works best for them instead of a “cookie cutter” education…

     
  4. Katrina Wampler

    June 23, 2009 at 7:00 pm

    Thank you every one for your input.

    I have checked into an eschool. I feel much better about it and am looking into HSing groups and such to get the kids involved with other kids.

     
  5. Marie Dusing

    June 24, 2009 at 12:31 pm

    Hi! I have always homeschooled my three youngest all the way from kindergarten through 12th grade. My youngest will be a senior this year.

    Being involved in an active homeschool group is important. For the past ten years we’ve been involved in a group which not only has frequent field trips, but also has classes once a week during the school year. The classes are on subjects such as drama, choir, art, etc. which would be difficult to do at home. In addition there might be classes on economics (taught by a former college professor who is a Christian), and biology (taught by a former H.S. science teacher who now homeschools). My kids have made many friends through participation in this group.

    Many homeschool groups now offer group sports activities such as basketball, volleyball, swimming, etc. Some also have choir & drama groups which teach skills and give regular performances.

    Also, look for other sources of positive activities for your kids. In addition to church & the homeschool group, my kids have been quite active in 4-H. Even if you live in the city, there are numerous projects the kids can complete (photography, weather, foods, woodcraft, sewing, etc.). All three of mine completed electricity projects and learned some basic electrical skills as a result (the workshops were all taught by a certified electrician). Also, 4-H offers many scholarships to kids. My 22 year old daughter won almost $2000 in 4-H scholarships as a result of her efforts in her projects. Since the activities are usually well chaperoned, there is rarely the negative behavior which is often observed in other activities. Also, I like the emphasis on community service and on helping others – even other competitors – to do their best in projects.

    By the way, I’m a single mom also so I have an idea of what you are going through.

     
  6. chris

    June 25, 2009 at 8:52 pm

    I wouldn’t do ti. You will not have any free time at all!

     
  7. Robert blakely

    June 26, 2009 at 10:00 pm

    I was never HS I believe had I not gone to a public school I would not have had the experiences I had in school. Not always the best but I definitely learned a lot from my experiences.

    The Blakester
    Robert Blakely
    Skype: The-Blakester
    http://Xoomaworldwide.com/TheBlakester

     

Leave a Reply

 
