RSS

Raising Royalty in the Pits of Hell

02 Jul

I just returned from a walk with my daughter. She’s going on twelve now and really growing up fast. There are still so many things I need to teach her. So many things I need her to know before life gets in the way and she’s gone.

I look back at my own childhood. Life was so different then. Perhaps money was so tight that there weren’t time for walks or life lessons. My parents left a lot to be desired in the way of parenting, even for the standards of the 80’s when abuse wasn’t really considered abuse.   My mother never talked to me about finances, boys, or a relationship with God. She never told me that God had a plan for my life. Perhaps she didn’t believe it herself.

My oldest son just turned 13. My youngest is 10. There are moments when it feels like I’m running out of time. In September, my oldest son will start a program I’m writing concerning finances. He will be responsible for 1/4th of the bills and will be taught to manage his money in a way to avoid debt and bankruptcy. Things my mother never taught me.

We will also be homeschooling this year. That’s a decision that took a lot of prayer. Why am I homeschooling? Well, that’s a whole other blog post. (Watch for it). But while we are homeschooling, I will be incorporating things they still need to get like living with the Fruit of the Spirit, carrying the full Armor of God, and living a life that shows the love of Christ.  Not an easy task in today’s age and the area we live in but a necessary one.

I am writing several books now:

  • “Raising Royalty in the Pits of Hell” (about raising Godly kids in the midst of an unGodly world).
  • (Untitled).. raising financially secure children in a bankrupt world.

Watch for these and updates along with way with our homeschooling. In the meantime, take a walk with your kids. Tell them how much God loves them and that He has created them with a purpose. More importantly…pray with them and for them. Don’t leave your parenting to chance. You are not alone in this battle. Don’t do it alone.

 
2 Comments

Posted by on July 2, 2009 in encouragement

 

Tags: , , ,

2 responses to “Raising Royalty in the Pits of Hell

  1. theoldsilly

    July 2, 2009 at 5:31 pm

    And so just when am I going to be seeing these manuscripts, dearest one? As your (supposedly) editor I think I’m entitled to be kept abreast of such things, don’t you think? (wink)

    The Old Silly

     
  2. Katrina Wampler

    July 2, 2009 at 5:59 pm

    but of course… you will be seeing them soon…very soon my dear. SOOO good to see you back up and running.

     

Leave a Reply

 
