RSS

My Sister’s Keeper.. a review

26 Jul

My daughter has been driving me nuts to see this movie. Now, I’m just as much a sucker for a chick flick as the next gal, but I really had no My sisterinterest in seeing this movie. No reason. Just no interest.

Last night, family night rolled through. My daughter was determined to see it while my boys were as determined not to. I folded like any good mom would do (lol) and sent the boys off to watch G-Force while the girl child and I ran off to see “My Sister’s Keeper”.  I figured I’d get a good two hour nap in and all would be right with the world.

Boy was I wrong. I didn’t close my eyes at all…and the movie didn’t even start until 10:30pm.

It’s an amazing story of one girl’s battle against cancer and her sister’s battle for the rights to her own body. Now, the younger daughter was born out of necessity in order to save the older daughter’s life. Imagine growing up with that knowledge. Sure beats the old saying, “you were an accident”.

I found myself very angry with the mom in the story. She was fighting with every ounce of mom power in her to save her daughter, all at the expense of the other. I thought to myself, “how used the younger one must feel”. I cheered the younger daughter on as she took her mother to court and sued for medical emancipation. She was refusing to give her kidney to save her sister.

I won’t spoil the ending but it is an amazing story of strength from all characters involved. It’s a passionate story of a family unit and the love that ties them together. If you haven’t seen it, do! Now!

There were several curse words so I would not recommend it for younger children, plus they probably wouldn’t get it or appreciate it anyway. My daughter is eleven…the same age of the younger daughter fighting for her medical freedom. In the end, it allowed us to discuss the bond of siblings and how a parent will do anything to protect their child. I am no exception. I doubt many of you are.

I definitely give this a two thumbs up.

I hope you enjoy it as much as I did and I look forward to your reviews.  (If you’ve seen it already, I’d love to hear your thoughts.)

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on July 26, 2009 in encouragement

 

Leave a Reply

 
