RSS

Bring the Rain

13 Aug


Have you ever prayed for rain?  No…not the wet stuff coming down to water the grass. I mean prayed for the trials that you know are just on the horizon?  As Christians, we are either coming out of a storm, in the midst of one, or heading towards one.  There’s just no escaping it.

But I’ve got a challenge for you. For me as well. How about praying for the storm? The only way to truly draw close to the Lord is to invite the trials. To face them head on and cling to the Lord like a life line through out the process.

I recently began asking the Lord to ‘Bring the Rain”…call me crazy, I know. But I want so much to do more than just know ‘of ‘ Him.  I want a powerful relationship with Him. So powerful that I hear Him speaking..that I see His hand moving. And if it means going through one storm after the next to get there, then my prayer is, “Jesus Bring the Rain.”

I’ve been through some major storms in my life but never was I in a place to recognize His molding. It’s been a powerful week for me. One I may never begin to explain but I end this day so full of joy for the trials I’ve faced and the relationships that have been repaired.

As the weekend approaches and summer comes to an end, I’d like to challenge your relationship with Christ. Ask Him to show His hand..His glory, and His ever renewing mercy….even it if means going through the rain.

“Bring me joy..bring me peace…bring the chance to be free.
Bring me anything that brings you glory.
I know there’ll be days when this life brings me pain,
but if that’s what it takes to praise you,
Jesus bring the rain.”

 
3 Comments

Posted by on August 13, 2009 in encouragement

 

Tags: , , , ,

3 responses to “Bring the Rain

  1. unwriter1

    August 13, 2009 at 5:42 pm

    Ah, I went one better. I have the umbrella. I am babysitting for the next three days!

     
  2. Barbara J. Leonard

    August 13, 2009 at 6:13 pm

    The “storm” my husband and I are going through right now is the worst we have ever encountered, but I know that things could be worse (at least everyone is healthy and alive). Even so, last week I told God that if things have to get worse before they get better, we will continue to trust Him because we know He is with us throughout the whole thing. Like Peter, when I concentrate on the storm, I start to sink, but I am working on keeping my eyes on Jesus.

     
  3. theoldsilly

    August 14, 2009 at 1:40 pm

    God has brought on the storm plenty of times for me. But you’re right – we get stagnant when not faced with torrential downpours. I good friend of mine says whenever he doesn’t have any major challenges in life to deal with he prays, “What’s wrong with me, Lord – am I not worthy of the next lesson?” That’s advanced spiritual understanding.

    Good post. 🙂

    Marvin D Wilson

     

Leave a Reply

 
