RSS

I am the CHAMPION… I quit!!

04 Sep

That’s right… I quit!! After 13 years of being addicted to this horrible behavior, I’m finally giving it up. I hope you’ll join me.

Today I decided I would no longer be the go-between-girl for my kids. They fight all the time and they always manage to drag me in the middle. There’s no way for me to win. I can’t appease them both. I can’t see it from both of their views…so I give up. From now on, they have to fight it out themselves, if they kill each other.

Well, that’s all good on paper. No sooner has the words passed my lips did they test me on it. My oldest son sits on the couch, my daughter decides to sit on top of him. He won’t move…neither will she. The rage begins. Before it’s over…long before it’s over, she is screaming like someone is sawing her arms off and shoving them down her throat. She’s begging me to come save her from the clutches of death. My youngest son pleads for them to stop so I don’t have another heart attack. They don’t care. They continue the war.

What was I doing? Singing along while I worked on my manuscript for “On Butterfly Faith”. I was determined not to go end the battle. I didn’t. I did however, go shut the windows so the neighbors didn’t think I was mutilating them and eating them for dinner. Then I went back to my writing.

No one died. The battle ended. My daughter conceded…with a few bruises since she decided to sit ON my son’s feet (in which he was wearing tennis shoes). Normally, I give him a what-for if he even dreams of touching her. I figured this time, someone’s going to give up if it means a good old fashioned “going to Jesus meeting”. The house is quiet and I AM THE CHAMPION!

 
3 Comments

Posted by on September 4, 2009 in encouragement

 

3 responses to “I am the CHAMPION… I quit!!

  1. Terri

    September 4, 2009 at 2:33 am

    Sometimes they need to fight their own battles… They will learn boundaries from each other. Next time she will think before she messes.
    As the saying goes, “You play, you pay”.
    Good for you!!!!
    You are the one who won!!!

     
  2. Denise Friedl

    September 4, 2009 at 2:46 am

    Great job, good idea. I must concede and do the same.

     
  3. Keri Wyatt Kent

    September 4, 2009 at 2:53 am

    Good for you. Your kids fight for many reasons, but one of them is they are trying to get attention from you. So good job not rewarding that behavior with attention.
    Now, find a way to catch them being good–reward good behavior with attention. Use phrases like, “I really like the way you …” and name the specific behavior that you like. They’ll learn it’s much less painful to get attention by being good. (You’ll want to do this individually at first).
    Good luck. The book Positive Discipline will be very helpful to you if you’re interested.
    way to go!

     

Leave a Reply

 
