RSS

For Emma’s Sake

17 Jan

As a single mom, I’ve known the struggles of making ends meet, finding happy moments in times where there seemed to be none, and looking for a brighter day around the corner.

Just the other day, I found my daughter putting miniature marshmallows on uncooked spaghetti noodles and roasting them over a candle. Inventive, creative … I would say so. When I asked what made her do that, she said “the poor are creative”. All I could do was laugh.

But it stirred up a few characters in my already crowded mind. After watching my daughter, little Emma was born in my thoughts and soon found her way to paper.

Though being a single mom is by far the toughest of all things I’ve done, I find moments of hope in each day … reminding me that no matter how things may seem to me, my children are happy and well … and that is all that counts.

Below are the first few (unedited) paragraphs to “For Emma’s Sake.” I welcome your comments and your own experiences of raising children in tough economic times.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

~ For Emma’s Sake ~

Shelby’s stomach churned with an easiness painful enough to rob her of last night’s microwaved television dinner. She dazed out the small kitchen window over-looking the apartment’s green dumpsters. Countless sleepless nights had brought her to this moment.

She sucked in a long deep breath, forcing her lungs against her ribs. After a moment, she exhaled. With as much pretense of excitement as she could manage, she said “Hurry, Hun. Breakfast is ready.”

Shelby twirled the spoonful of soft brown sugar around in perfect circles through Emma’s piping hot oatmeal. “You don’t want to be late,” she assured Emma. With a pat of butter and a tablespoon of milk to smother the steam, their breakfast of champions was ready. Still no Emma.

“Emma.” Shelby buried the curled knuckles of her fingers in the palm of her hands and rested a fist on each hip. In her best maternal fire-burning glare, she stared down the tip of her nose.

The resentful six year-old refused to meet her mother’s glare. Emma pressed her pointed chin against her chest and tucked her top lip deep into her quivering bottom lip. Her tearful eyes scrunched together until several lines hovered above her nose.

“No. I don’t want to,” she insisted. She shook her head left, then right, tossing her pig tails from front to back. “No.”

“Now young lady.” Shelby spoke with a quiet but firm voice. Their one room apartment left little need for anything beyond that.

Water stained circles covered most of the ceiling in their living room turned bedroom. The soiled shag carpet carried obvious stains from many generations removed. The close quarters encouraged snuggling, movie nights, and pajama parties for no more than the two of them. It also meant a tone just beyond a whisper was sufficient for any conversation between the mother-daughter team. Even this one.

 
4 Comments

Posted by on January 17, 2011 in encouragement

 

4 responses to “For Emma’s Sake

  1. Terri Dryden

    January 17, 2011 at 7:43 am

    Oh my…don’t stop now!!! I love it so far, now where is the rest of it???

     
  2. kayspringsteen

    January 17, 2011 at 4:31 pm

    Very nice! I think one of the hardest things to address in writing romance is children. I didn’t realize just how incredibly hard this would be until I wrote a story that included a mentally challenged 6/year-old. In order for their dialogue to have any meaning, you have to be able to think like they do, you have to have a good grasp of the vernacular of childhood at any particular age. And to write from a parent’s perspective as you did here, it’s tough…but you pulled it off nicely.

     
  3. Ginger

    January 17, 2011 at 5:00 pm

    I love it. Only one thing stopped me for a second and that’s a tag that preceded the dialogue. I’m a stickler for the stupidest of things, and any description prior to someone speaking is predicting.

    “Hurry Hun,” she said with as much pretense of excitement as she could manage. “Breakfast is ready.”

    If you are showing the story to the reader, then you can’t predict the tone of the character until he/she has spoken.

    It’s probably not a writing faux pas, but just something that makes sense to me and sticks in my head. That darn internal editor…can’t turn it off.

     
  4. PXStevey

    January 26, 2011 at 12:39 pm

    Hi, I’m new I would like to welcome all… 🙂

     

Leave a Reply

 
