RSS

Book Reviews

If you’d like to have your book reviewed here on Kat Logic, include the name of your book, your email address, and a small excerpt of the book here in the comment section.

If your book is chosen, I will contact you to let you know where to send your book. Once I’ve read it, I will post a review here and on Amazon as well as offer you the opportunity to be interviewed here on Kat Logic. Your book will then be offered in a give away asking the winner to also do a review.

 

16 responses to “Book Reviews

  1. stesha

    January 3, 2009 at 11:40 pm

    General Question. What about ebooks?

     
  2. Katrina Wampler

    January 3, 2009 at 11:40 pm

    That works, too. Just include a bit about the book and your contact info.

     
  3. Katie Hines

    January 4, 2009 at 1:47 am

    How about a book that will be published in May, 2009? Don’t have the final copy back yet.

    Here is a brief synopsis: Imagine you have made a secret promise that can lead you to the discovery of an incredible treasure and an ancient power. But in order to fulfill that promise, you must defeat an age-old sect that is determined to claim the treasure and power themselves.

    BTW, I love your site. Always something interesting going on.

     
  4. Katrina Wampler

    January 4, 2009 at 1:49 am

    Wow, Katie sounds awesome. I’d love to review it. Let us know when it’s ready and we’ll get a review going for you. Thanks for stopping by.

    Thanks for the compliment also. You’re right. There is always something interesting going on…and it’s only going to get better.

     
  5. Lynda Johnson

    January 4, 2009 at 3:21 am

    Most of my book can be found at the link I’ve included below (Google Books). It can also be found by searching for “Sharlie” on the Google Books website. Thank you very much for the offer. Let me know if you decide to review and I’ll mail you a copy on Monday.

    Best Wishes,

    Lynda

    http://books.google.com/books?id=f_obxj2AbAIC&printsec=frontcover&dq=Sharlie#PPP1,M1

     
  6. Nancy

    January 4, 2009 at 12:21 pm

    I’d love to have you review my book. The title is “Summer’s Story.” Its a contemporary romance from Red Rose Publishing.

    Summer Langston’s father dies leaving her a potentially great racehorse. Being a woman in the male dominated world of harness racing, she has a tough fight to get her horse to the big races. One man wants to ensure that she doesn’t succeed, two others want to help her. She’s spunky, but can she make it

    Nancy Famolari

     
  7. Brenda Craig

    January 4, 2009 at 1:17 pm

    I would love for you to review my book…it is a journal type devotional called Carvings In His Palm, What God Thinks When He Whispers Your Name…here is an excerpt from the book website

    Have you ever wondered what God thinks about when He whispers your name…have you longed to read the Carvings in His Hand…longed to hear the conversations of Heaven about your life? If so, now is your chance.

    According to Psalm 40:5 God’s thoughts toward you are too numerous to be counted and He has had a lot of time to think about you since…according to 2 Timothy 1:9…you have been called in Christ before the worlds began.

    Carvings In His Palm, What God Thinks When He Whispers Your Name is designed to present God’s point of view in many areas of life, enabling the reader to circumvent destructive pitfalls and to receive the encouragement to do it God’s way.

    The underlying theme in this book is God’s mercy, grace and His overwhelming desire to reveal the fact that He sees us in Jesus; with love.

    A a revelatory, life changing journey into the chambers of Father’s heart–a place where the Whispers of Heaven are waiting for you

    Or you can go here

    http://www.carvingsinhispalm.com/order.htm

     
  8. Melissa Stone

    January 4, 2009 at 7:20 pm

    I would like to inquire about my book The Key To Life Is Balance being reviewed on your site. Please contact me at the e-mail or at 831-335-8335.
    Peace,

     
  9. Vivian

    January 5, 2009 at 9:46 pm

    Vivian@viviangilbertzabel.com

    Midnight Hours by Vivian Gilbert Zabel ISBN: 978-0-9797513-3-2

    While struggling to recover from a debilitating gunshot wound, homicide lieutenant Martin Rogers discovers an online “interest” may be a serial killer, responsible for the death of several disabled men.

    Martin’s interest changes from that of a man for a woman to the interest of a homicide detective for a suspect when Midnight attaches a photo of herself to an email – identical to that of one folded in the pocket of a dead paraplegic. Confusion reigns when an Assistant District Attorney is discovered to be the unknowing model for the face in the photo.

    Lt. Rogers and friends set up a sting to capture Midnight, but she disappears like wisps of fog. Every lead results in dead ends and more confusion. Midnight brings death on the internet. Preying on helpless men, she offers love but gives them a grave, but who and what is Midnight?

    Martin must find this killer before she can add him to her list of victims.

    http://midnight-hours.weebly.com

     
  10. Katrina Wampler

    January 5, 2009 at 10:08 pm

    now I’m reeeeeaaaaaallllllyyyyy excited!!!

     
  11. Ginger Simpson

    January 6, 2009 at 12:06 am

    I would appreciate a review of Sparta Rose. It’s due to be released by Eternal Press on February 7th. It’s a Western Historical Romance, and here is a blurb:

    Ellie Fountain has a dilemma–Tyler Bishop, the handsome ranch foreman who’s won favor with her Pa. Ellie’s determined to prove to them she can do anything a man can do, even if it means buying a gun and learning to shoot.
    Her father’s ranch, Fountainhead, is her legacy and she aims to protect it from the Bryants, the trio next door who are using bullying tactics to purchase all the land in the area. When she accepts Ty’s ‘forced’ invitation to a local dance, she never expects to find herself kidnapped and held hostage in an old drafty shack hidden somewhere in the snowy Tennessee Mountains. She shouldn’t have left the dance in such a huff without telling someone.

    NOTE: I don’t have the PDF yet, but I would be happy to send you the copy from the last edits.

     
  12. Lea Schizas

    January 6, 2009 at 12:56 am

    I’ll request for an easy read and a quick read but something parents and tweens will be interested in. Bubba and Giganto: Odds Against Us is a touching tale about two teens from the opposite side of the track. One is the macho type – a defender – Bubba. The other is quiet, reserved, hates to get involved in fights – David aka Giganto.

    Bubba helps Giganto practice before the big high school soccer tryouts but bullies have other plans. A challenge, soccer scrimmage, and a secret will end up putting one of their lives in danger.

    The book is all about alternatives to bullying and how secrets can be very dangerous.

    Quick read – 60 pages – and available in ebook.

    Thanks

     
  13. Betty Jo Tucker

    January 9, 2009 at 2:35 pm

    Hi, Kat!

    Thanks for this opportunity and congrats on your excellent site. I would be honored to have you review “It Had To Be Us,” the little romantic memoir my husband and I co-wrote under the pseudonyms of Harry & Elizabeth Lawrence. With Valentine’s Day not too far away, a review of this award-winning E-book would be quite timely! It’s about how we got back together almost two decades after a painful estrangement and divorce. This novella is only about 58 pages, and I would be happy to e-mail it to you as a pdf attachment.

     
  14. Phil

    May 19, 2009 at 1:25 am

    Hi Kat,

    It’s not a book but I do have a review request.

    I have a brain training program which is very helpful for dyscalculia. It is a very easy to follow online course. It has not been released to the public yet.

    Contact me if your interested in giving it a try for your daughter

    Phil
    http://www.learning-aids.com
    http://www.breakpal.com

     
  15. Viviane Brentanos

    January 16, 2011 at 3:08 pm

    Hi Kat,
    Thanks for the FB friends request. I would love to have you review ny novel, Fragile Dreams – available from Red Rose Publishing – Mainstream Contemporary Romance.
    Set on the imaginary Greek island of Kuros {inspired by my own beloved Corfu}, the story centres arounf Ellie Rouva, a young women recovering from Breast Cancer, I subject upon which I have first hand experience. {more on this in my blog post – http://networkedblogs.com/cX8dg. Look forward to hearing from you.

    Blurb:

    Elysiana Rouva and the young Michael are drawn together by an inexplicable bond. They share so much more than mere physical attraction. Ellie is at the point where she is questioning her life. Recently overcoming a long, hard battle with breast cancer, she is vulnerable and depressed. Her husband, Pavlos, although outwardly supportive, provides her with no real comfort.

    Their marriage is a farce. She no longer loves him and is not threatened by his numerous affairs or his obsession with his work. Her friends say all the right words but she cannot make them understand.

    Enter Michael. Michael becomes Ellie’s salvation. The young man Pavlos sends to tend their garden turns Ellie’s world on its head. As for Michael, Ellie provides escape from a past clouded with bad memories.

    Can she rid his heart of so much betrayal?

    Excerpt:
    Hard rain lashed her face, like shards of glass stinging her skin. Numbness seeped into every brain cell, drenching all coherent thought. She shivered but her chill had nothing to do with the relentless summer storm. Michael was gone; it was as simple as that. He was out of her life as quickly as he’d entered it, taking her heart and soul with him. Over dramatic? She didn’t think so. Ellie had experienced enough drama and personal tragedy to recognize the real McCoy. His departed devastated her.
    A solid lump, tangled barbed wire, scratched at her throat. She couldn’t cry. Not with Pavlos watching her every move, each mood nuance. He didn’t fool her. She turned to watch him through the half-open French window. He sat, book in hand, but Ellie knew he wasn’t reading. He waited, a praying mantis, for her to break and howl her anguish to the wind, like some crowd extra from a Greek tragedy. She wouldn’t give him the satisfaction. Pavlos was responsible for her unhappiness. He had sent Michael away. How he’d done it, she didn’t know but he was to blame. She was as sure as she was that the sun rose and set. Michael had been an upset to her husband’s well-ordered, controlled life; an irritant that he’d stamped out as he would a persistent mosquito and probably with less sensitivity.
    Ellie laughed bitterly into the rain. Michael had committed the unforgivable. He’d infringed on Pavlos’s property. No one did that. How he has found out, she didn’t know nor care. In the scheme of things, it didn’t matter. Michael had left her.
    Still, curiosity overcame her loathing. Arms wrapped under her chest, as if holding in her heart, she walked into the room. “How? How did you know?”
    “It wasn’t difficult.” Expression neutral, he laid his book face-down on the table. “You wear your emotions so flagrantly. You were too happy. I sensed someone was rocking your world and it wasn’t me.” Fingers laced together, he smiled, slow and lazy, like a somnolent lizard. “I started to think it through. When had this miraculous transformation begun? It didn’t take long to work it out. I must admit, you were very adept at covering your tracks. And using the little blonde American as a stooge was a stroke of genius. His idea, I suppose, although why she went along with it is beyond me….unless he was fucking her as well.”
    Ellie remained frozen. She had no words to offer up in her defense. Truth was there was nothing to defend, certainly not her love for Michael.
    “Oh dear.” Uncrossing his legs, Pavlos reached for the wine bottle on the intricately carved walnut coffee table. “You are wearing your petulant child expression again. It really is becoming tiresome. So, you’re not even going to try and lie your way out of it?” Eyes riveted to hers, he raised the bottle to his lips. “So be it.”
    He wiped his mouth with the back of his hand. When Pavlos was agitated he reverted to pure peasant.
    “Not that it matters.” He continued with his verbal slaying. “I know he was fucking you and I am sure you enjoyed it. A nice handsome young man, showing you attention. Nice big cock too, that is, of course, if the camera doesn’t lie.”
    Ellie flinched, first at his crudeness and vile sarcasm and then at the realization that he’d had her followed. No prizes for guessing by whom.
    “I am a little surprised at you, Ellie. I wouldn’t have thought the open-air was quite your thing. Still I suppose you found it romantic. Thing is, agape, I cannot believe you were so gullible. I always thought you were a sharp ‘cookie’, as your young American friend would say. But…well…you were so very naïve.”
    His derisive baiting roused her from apathy. “Why?” She raised her chin and met his cold gleam full on. “What’s naïve about loving someone?”
    “Well, only…he didn’t love you back. Oh don’t tell me.” Ugly laughter bounced off the wooden rafters. “You thought he did? He told you that? Well, well, well, he’s a much smoother operator than I gave him credit for. Oh Ellie, don’t you realize the lure of an older woman? These young studs, they love it. It’s something about which they can brag over a few beers — especially when the woman in question is the boss’s wife, not to mention that you’re still attract — ”
    “Shut up!” Ellie stepped forward, trembling with a dangerous combination of abhorrence and rage, coated with a hint of apprehension. “You don’t know what you are talking about. He loves me. I know —”
    “So where is he then?” Dark eyebrows raised, corners of his mouth twisting cruelly. “Why did he leave you?”
    “I…I don’t know. You tell me.” Ellie faltered, tears burning. “You must have done something.”
    “Me?” All out of wine, Pavlos dropped the empty bottle onto the rug and folded his arms behind his head. ‘Ok, I’ll come clean. So I offered him money. Ten thousand euros, to be precise. Is it my fault if he took it? Look, Ellie, we really don’t have to turn this into one of those ridiculous American soap operas you watch. Money was obviously more important than you. He left you. It’s simple.”
    “You’re lying.” Ellie swallowed the bitter bile in her mouth. “Michael wouldn’t do that. He lov—”
    “Yes, yes.” Pavlos waved away her faint protest. “He loved you. Not enough, so it would seem, but then, money is man’s Achilles heel.”
    “I hate you.” Choking on her sobs, Ellie turned her back to him.
    “That may well be but it doesn’t change anything. Ellie, my love…”
    Ellie flinched. His hands gripped her shoulders, his cigarette breath making her nauseous. When had he stood? She hadn’t heard him approach but then her mind was gone, adrift with incoherent thought.
    “You are my wife. I will not allow you to destroy this marriage on a whim. I forgive you. I —”
    “This marriage is a farce!” Wrenching free from his grasp, Ellie slapped away his hand. She felt sick inside, rage and betrayal swirling together to make an acid concoction. She didn’t want to believe Pavlos but….what do you really know about him? Steff’s words spun in her head like an old 45 stuck on the turntable. She wanted to scream but she couldn’t. The pain and rejection festering in her soul was buried too deep to escape. “I’m tired.” Head held high, she left Pavlos alone.”

    Viv

     
  16. Katrina Wampler

    January 16, 2011 at 3:12 pm

    Be sure to head over to join our online book club http://groups.yahoo.com/group/katlogicbookclubs/.

    Send me an email to wamplerkatrina@yahoo.com to include the following:

    Name
    Title(s)
    Publisher
    Genre
    Release Date
    Blurb

     

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s

 
%d bloggers like this: